1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

GPS / Sirius Antenna...?

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by MyToyTaco, Dec 5, 2008.

  1. Dec 5, 2008 at 8:33 AM
    #1
    MyToyTaco

    MyToyTaco [OP] ╒╪╕

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Member:
    #9417
    Messages:
    4,320
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Nick
    Port Hueneme
    Vehicle:
    08 Taco
    Where did you stick yours and how did yopu run the wire? I put my 2 antenna's on either side of the front of the roof, but i cant get the wires to stay in the window channel..it has created a really f*ing annoying flapping sound while on the freeway :( should i stick a small bead of silicone in there or something?
     
  2. Dec 5, 2008 at 8:38 AM
    #2
    camsbored

    camsbored Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2008
    Member:
    #5932
    Messages:
    185
    Raleigh, NC
    Vehicle:
    08 PreRunner DC/Sport/LB
    Kenwood DNX8120, Homelink mirror, Valentine One hardwire
    I put mine behind the head unit, directly under the plastic dashboard. There are some vent ducts back there so I wedged the GPS antenna between that and the dash cover with some foam tape. Works great. The signals have no problem penetrating plastic or glass, I didn't have to run an antenna wire all over the place, and it looks clean!
     
  3. Dec 5, 2008 at 8:40 AM
    #3
    MyToyTaco

    MyToyTaco [OP] ╒╪╕

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Member:
    #9417
    Messages:
    4,320
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Nick
    Port Hueneme
    Vehicle:
    08 Taco
    So the instructions that say it has to be in plain sight of the sky is b/s? damn i should have consulted the almighty TW before install. lol.
     
  4. Dec 5, 2008 at 8:43 AM
    #4
    camsbored

    camsbored Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2008
    Member:
    #5932
    Messages:
    185
    Raleigh, NC
    Vehicle:
    08 PreRunner DC/Sport/LB
    Kenwood DNX8120, Homelink mirror, Valentine One hardwire
    The Sirius antenna may be more sensitive than GPS to obstructions... I don't have XM/Siruis, just a navi. If a portable Garmin goes on the windshield (under glass) and has a plastic case it seemed reasonable. Maybe someone else can speak to the effectiveness of the Siruis antenna inside the cab.
     
  5. Dec 5, 2008 at 8:45 AM
    #5
    MyToyTaco

    MyToyTaco [OP] ╒╪╕

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Member:
    #9417
    Messages:
    4,320
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Nick
    Port Hueneme
    Vehicle:
    08 Taco
    Cool. i think ill be moving it today =) thanks
     
  6. Dec 5, 2008 at 8:49 AM
    #6
    MyToyTaco

    MyToyTaco [OP] ╒╪╕

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Member:
    #9417
    Messages:
    4,320
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Nick
    Port Hueneme
    Vehicle:
    08 Taco
    Has anybody put their XM / Sirius antenna inside the cab?
     
  7. Dec 5, 2008 at 8:51 AM
    #7
    ROMbler

    ROMbler Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Member:
    #8777
    Messages:
    73
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    John
    SW FL
    Vehicle:
    06 Prerunner SR5
    DTRL
    I did the exact same thing w/ my GPS and it works perfectly.:D
     
  8. Dec 5, 2008 at 8:55 AM
    #8
    ROMbler

    ROMbler Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Member:
    #8777
    Messages:
    73
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    John
    SW FL
    Vehicle:
    06 Prerunner SR5
    DTRL
    My Sirius is on my dash up at the glass and I have almost no issues. Once in a while it cuts out for a second. I'm happy with it there.

    I also cut a round piece of non-slip material and tapped it under the Sirius antenna to keep if from slidding around my dash.
     
  9. Dec 5, 2008 at 9:14 AM
    #9
    LonghornTaco

    LonghornTaco Can you pass the bailout please?

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Member:
    #9763
    Messages:
    3,355
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jason
    Minnesota
    Vehicle:
    Black 09 4x4 TRD Off Road Doublecab
    3" ToyTec coilover lift on Bilstein 5100s, Total Chaos UCAs, ToyTec diff drop, Scangauge II, 4D MagLite mounted on the drivers seat, Painted engine cover, Painted calipers (red), Painted skid plate (red) Valentine 1 radar detector hard wired, Damplifier Pro on the floor, back wall and doors, Luxury Liner Pro on the floor and doors, Kenwood DNX8120, 2 Pioneer TS-SW1041D 10" shallow mount subs, 2 Pioneer PRS-D4200F 1200W amps, Mr Marv sub enclosure, Hybrid Audio Clarus 6.5" components in the front doors, Alpine 5.25" coaxials in the rear doors, A.R.E. LSII fiberglass tonneau cover, All Pro bumper, All Pro sliders, Wet Okole seat covers, Sockmonkey Mountain badges, PIAA 510 SMR Driving Lights, Warn M8000 Winch, Bud Built skids
    My GPS antenna is sitting on the dash, right in the corner at the base of the driver's side A pillar.
     
  10. Dec 5, 2008 at 3:07 PM
    #10
    MyToyTaco

    MyToyTaco [OP] ╒╪╕

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Member:
    #9417
    Messages:
    4,320
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Nick
    Port Hueneme
    Vehicle:
    08 Taco
    So does anybody have any ideas on how I can secure the wires? I figure, i've already ran the wiring to the outside roof i might as well leave the antenna's up there. Would it be bad if i put a little silicone along that outer window channel?
     
  11. Jan 31, 2009 at 12:03 PM
    #11
    Dark Knight

    Dark Knight Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Member:
    #8006
    Messages:
    9,591
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jeff
    NC/SC
    Vehicle:
    4Runner Trail
    can someone elaborate on their gps antenna wire routing a little more. can you really just hid it in the dash? With it in the dash like described above is it right under the defroster vents to get signal:confused:
     
  12. Jan 31, 2009 at 12:05 PM
    #12
    Delmarva

    Delmarva Mayor of TW

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Member:
    #10148
    Messages:
    35,850
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Tucson, AZ
    Vehicle:
    12 Tundra TRDRW
    Nada, Zip, Zilch, Nothing
    The GPS and Sat antennas are patch antennas and typically require a groundplane.. might want to look into aluminum or copper tape to put the antenna on - which will increase reception... :thumbsup:
     
  13. Jan 31, 2009 at 12:12 PM
    #13
    Dark Knight

    Dark Knight Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Member:
    #8006
    Messages:
    9,591
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jeff
    NC/SC
    Vehicle:
    4Runner Trail
    i saw in longhorn's install thread he had it just sitting on the dash in the bottom left of the window??? I wanted to run it outside to the rear of the roof on the passenger side because my xm is back there on the driver side but i dont think the 16.5' gps antenna wire will reach that far routing it down the frame rail and back up to the roof hiding the wire in the rear window gasket.

    I'm just trying to plan this out for my install monday
     
  14. Jan 31, 2009 at 12:14 PM
    #14
    Delmarva

    Delmarva Mayor of TW

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Member:
    #10148
    Messages:
    35,850
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Tucson, AZ
    Vehicle:
    12 Tundra TRDRW
    Nada, Zip, Zilch, Nothing
    ^^
    That's a good spot for it. I would just stick some of the above mentioned tape to the part of the dash where the antenna is going to stick (haven't seen longhorn's writeup) and then put the antenna on top of it.

    I stopped routing antenna wires outside... it was hard to keep "clean" if ya know what I mean.
     
  15. Jan 31, 2009 at 12:22 PM
    #15
    Dark Knight

    Dark Knight Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Member:
    #8006
    Messages:
    9,591
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jeff
    NC/SC
    Vehicle:
    4Runner Trail
    definitely know what you mean I wish my xm antenna was not there but when I broke my rear window the dumb ass glass installer sealed the antenna wire in the gasket with whatever kind of epoxy that seals the window in the hole. I was pissed when he told me about it after he was done with the install, when he was telling me what he had done he seemed so proud of that idea. I quickly let him know that was a stupid idea.
     
  16. Jan 31, 2009 at 12:25 PM
    #16
    cole47

    cole47 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Member:
    #10400
    Messages:
    1,126
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Cole
    Hickory NC
    Vehicle:
    Ray of Sunshine
    lift, wheels, tires
    i put mine like dead center rite above my windsheild, and ran the wire in the crack of the window
     
  17. Feb 19, 2011 at 2:37 AM
    #17
    Balien

    Balien Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Member:
    #39783
    Messages:
    81
    Gender:
    Male
    Central Canada
    Vehicle:
    TRD Tacoma auto, long box in red
    undercoating, lighted 4x4 switch, python alarm/starter, weather tech matts, bug and rock deflector, westin platinum nerf bars in black, kuda cell phone mount in matched grey.
    The ground plane is only required on a 1/4 wave gps antenna. If they use a full wave antennae which is 4 times longer it isn't required. In most cases a full wave antenna would be to long but gps is at 4.3GHZ and it's only a few centimeters so it's not a big deal to design it either way. follow your manual it should say if you need a ground plane if it doesn't it's probably a full wave antennae which won't get stronger signal mounted or not. Yes metallic tape or a strip of metal can work as a ground plane must be twice as long as the antenna.

    Remember though that the biggest thing here is that the antennae can see the most satellites possible. There are 24 satellites around the world about 12-14 you can possible receive at one point on the earth. If you block half of the sky you can only get up to 6 now which will reduce your position accuracy assuming it's a 12 channel gps receiver. If it's a 4 or 3 channel it will probably always see 3 or 4 satellites and it won't matter at all where you mount it.
     
  18. Mar 10, 2011 at 10:01 PM
    #18
    Shanran71

    Shanran71 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Member:
    #22642
    Messages:
    122
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Shannon
    Springfield Mo
    Vehicle:
    08 4x4 Silver Off Road DC
    ARB front, All Pro rear, Hella's, Trail Gear sliders - welded on, 3" Sway-A-Way front & rear suspension, front mud flaps -gone.
    I ran mine thru a firewall grommet and stuck it on top of my ARB.
     
To Top