1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Great, how much is this going to cost me?

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by BRUIN8124, Oct 24, 2013.

  1. Oct 24, 2013 at 7:14 PM
    #1
    BRUIN8124

    BRUIN8124 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Member:
    #71811
    Messages:
    554
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mark
    Vehicle:
    2020 TRD 4X4 OFF ROAD DCSB
    Driving on the highway tonight... My check engine light and slip indicator light came on simultaneously. They are just lit, not flashing. What the hell could have happened? The engine is running smooth as ever and there was no slip to trigger it. How much is this going to cost me? Any guesses? Thanks all I appreciate your help. I hate those lights...
     
  2. Oct 24, 2013 at 7:30 PM
    #2
    koditten

    koditten Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2013
    Member:
    #112077
    Messages:
    14,641
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kirk
    Central Michigan
    Vehicle:
    04 trd x-cab 4 x 4 3.4l
    Reserected from the dead.
    Done any off roading recently? Lots of times this is caused by a bad wheel speed sensor or wire.

    But yeah, get it scanned and record the code numbers and search them on the "net.

    Another good excuse to get the "torque" ap for your smart phone. With the $5 ap and the $20 obdII, bluetooth adapter, you can get this info yourself.
     
  3. Oct 24, 2013 at 8:24 PM
    #3
    jw1983

    jw1983 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Member:
    #63738
    Messages:
    3,003
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jason
    Alberta
    Vehicle:
    13' Tacoma Access 4x4 OR
    It's going to cost you all the beans Jack.
     
  4. Oct 24, 2013 at 8:32 PM
    #4
    koditten

    koditten Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2013
    Member:
    #112077
    Messages:
    14,641
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kirk
    Central Michigan
    Vehicle:
    04 trd x-cab 4 x 4 3.4l
    Reserected from the dead.
  5. Oct 24, 2013 at 9:21 PM
    #5
    CBoy808

    CBoy808 The Original Sticker Dude

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2013
    Member:
    #100265
    Messages:
    1,031
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    Tacoma Mall Crawler
  6. Oct 24, 2013 at 9:28 PM
    #6
    koditten

    koditten Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2013
    Member:
    #112077
    Messages:
    14,641
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kirk
    Central Michigan
    Vehicle:
    04 trd x-cab 4 x 4 3.4l
    Reserected from the dead.
    Good scanner, but it can't change you trucks perameters. With the techstream software you can change things like seatbelt chimes, door open chime, make all doors open with one click of the remote, adjust the timing on how long the dome light stays on, adjust weather or not you want the headlights to turn on with the remote, program the key to roll all windows down from the outside.

    You can do diagnostic test, like check compression, check individual lights, callibrate fuel gauge, log data, turn off or on your factory alarm. yes most of our trucks have a factory alarm, but it really is a crappy alarm, etc, etc.

    If anyone has any computer knowledge, they are going to want this program. You will learn so much about what is going on with our trucks.
     
  7. Oct 24, 2013 at 10:24 PM
    #7
    Dragons Taco

    Dragons Taco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Member:
    #70993
    Messages:
    2,965
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Derek
    Cary/Raleigh NC
    Vehicle:
    06 Black TRD-S 4WD 4D 6SPD and MINE!
    Can ya spell Tonneau
    Cool. I have the UltraGauge, but I may just have to do this.... I'm the curious type.
     
  8. Oct 24, 2013 at 10:27 PM
    #8
    Juggernaut

    Juggernaut Captain

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    Member:
    #23111
    Messages:
    1,884
    Gender:
    Male
    Sacramento
    Vehicle:
    18 PreRunner TRD OffRoad DCSB
    work with Win 8 64 bit?
     
  9. Oct 24, 2013 at 10:27 PM
    #9
    Texoma

    Texoma IG: Triple C Chop Shop

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Member:
    #50374
    Messages:
    16,649
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris(Topher)
    Lago Vista, TX
    Vehicle:
    10 Taco 4x4
    A bunch a cool stickers, a bada ass MetalMiller Tx Longhorns grill emblem painted Hemi Orange, JBA long tube headers with o2 sims, Diff breather mod, Red LED interior lights, Fancy head unit that plays ipod n movies, Also DIY install factory stuff like, factory cruise control, factory intermittent wipers, OME nitro struts with 886x springs and toy tec top plate, JBA high caster UCA's for better alignmnet and dey beefier too, Old Man Emu Dakar leaf springs in da rear with the gear, U bolt flipper, Ivan Stewart TRD rims with 33" K Bro 2's, some bad ass weather tech floor liners so I don't muck up my interior, an ATO shackle flipper for mo travel in da rear wit the gear, also super shiny Fox 2.0 shocks back there too, all sorts of steal armor for bouncing off of the rocks like demello sliders, AP front skid, trans skid, n transfer skid, demello gas tank skid, and a tough as nails ARB bumper with warn 8k winch, I'm sure there's more
    The slip light will come on with the CEL, just does that. If it's running fine, try taking your gas cap off, then re installing it. This is usually the culprit. But, head to the local parts store and they will check it free of charge. If it is the gas cap, it will clear in about 100 miles of driving once it's corrected.
     
  10. Oct 24, 2013 at 10:44 PM
    #10
    koditten

    koditten Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2013
    Member:
    #112077
    Messages:
    14,641
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kirk
    Central Michigan
    Vehicle:
    04 trd x-cab 4 x 4 3.4l
    Reserected from the dead.

    Sorry, has to be a 32 bit machine or run XP in virtual machine. I use windows pro running a VM. I've had reports that the Mac guys can do this as well. Not a mac person so haven't tried it.
     
  11. Oct 24, 2013 at 10:45 PM
    #11
    koditten

    koditten Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2013
    Member:
    #112077
    Messages:
    14,641
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kirk
    Central Michigan
    Vehicle:
    04 trd x-cab 4 x 4 3.4l
    Reserected from the dead.
    Believe it or not, the best program that I ever used to run this program was Vista. I shit you not.
     
  12. Oct 24, 2013 at 11:00 PM
    #12
    CBoy808

    CBoy808 The Original Sticker Dude

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2013
    Member:
    #100265
    Messages:
    1,031
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    Tacoma Mall Crawler
    Yea did you fill up gas recently? one of the most common things that causes it




    Hmmm I had a program like this for my BMW. Yes it was dope to be able to program stuff, but for simple code reading an OBDII Scanner is easier to use.

    The solution is to buy both OP.:D
     
  13. Oct 25, 2013 at 4:10 AM
    #13
    BRUIN8124

    BRUIN8124 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Member:
    #71811
    Messages:
    554
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mark
    Vehicle:
    2020 TRD 4X4 OFF ROAD DCSB
    Thank you all for your input! I really appreciate it!

    I was on a bunch of logging roads last week. I wouldn't call it off roading, more like dirt roading. But who knows, the truck got pretty muddy and dusty. I washed it the best I could 2 days ago. Maybe something got muddy and/or wet from washing the undercarriage? I also refueled that morning. I checked the gas cap and it seemed OK to me.

    I guess my plan is to give it 100 miles and see if it clears. If it doesn't, I will get it scanned. Depending g on what the codes say, I may just disconnect the battery to see if it comes back. If it does, I suppose I will have to shell out some money...

    Thanks again all! I will keep you posted.
     
  14. Oct 25, 2013 at 1:08 PM
    #14
    BRUIN8124

    BRUIN8124 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Member:
    #71811
    Messages:
    554
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mark
    Vehicle:
    2020 TRD 4X4 OFF ROAD DCSB
    Well after 20 miles, they both cleared. I'm glad! It may have been the gas cap or some other little glitch. Who knows? I'm not sure how the gas cap would create a slip indicator malfunction. This is a quirky little truck but I still love her haha

    Thanks again for the input!
     
  15. Oct 25, 2013 at 1:16 PM
    #15
    JustinL

    JustinL Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Member:
    #50299
    Messages:
    3,723
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Justin
    Berlin, CT
    Vehicle:
    2009 TRD OffRoad DCSB Pyrite Mica
    2012 Conversion
    I think with most OBD-II vehicles even though you're resetting the light by disconnecting the battery, the code is still stored in the ECU even though the light doesn't come back on. Most $100 scan tools can clear stored codes.

    So OP, good news is that your light isn't on anymore but you may still want to get the ECU scanned to check if the codes are stored.
     
  16. Oct 25, 2013 at 1:16 PM
    #16
    nammer

    nammer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    Member:
    #60945
    Messages:
    9,480
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Nam
    Bradenton, Florida
    Vehicle:
    Wishing I had a Taco
    have you tried all those features on a 2nd gen tacoma? if you have, i'm buying it today! sounds awesome
     
  17. Oct 25, 2013 at 3:07 PM
    #17
    koditten

    koditten Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2013
    Member:
    #112077
    Messages:
    14,641
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kirk
    Central Michigan
    Vehicle:
    04 trd x-cab 4 x 4 3.4l
    Reserected from the dead.
    I have tried the program on my '98 taco and my '08 tundra. This program is for all toyota's that have OBDII.
     
  18. Oct 25, 2013 at 3:43 PM
    #18
    koditten

    koditten Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2013
    Member:
    #112077
    Messages:
    14,641
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kirk
    Central Michigan
    Vehicle:
    04 trd x-cab 4 x 4 3.4l
    Reserected from the dead.
    Yep, you are correct. It was a bitch to get this thing going when I first got it. When I started I was very cumputer retarded. This thing forced me to learn a lot about computers in general.

    Just don't make the mistake I did. It needs to run of a 32 bit machine, which are getting rare.
     
  19. Oct 25, 2013 at 3:46 PM
    #19
    nammer

    nammer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    Member:
    #60945
    Messages:
    9,480
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Nam
    Bradenton, Florida
    Vehicle:
    Wishing I had a Taco
    i still have a netbook on xp, so that'll be the comp!
     
  20. Nov 4, 2013 at 11:47 AM
    #20
    BRUIN8124

    BRUIN8124 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Member:
    #71811
    Messages:
    554
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mark
    Vehicle:
    2020 TRD 4X4 OFF ROAD DCSB
    :annoyed:
    The lights came back again. Both the Check Engine Light and the Slip Indicator/malfunction Light....

    I took it to a buddy's shop for an OBD II scan.

    It threw a P0012
    Camshaft Position Code "Camshaft Position timing over retarded bank 1"

    I am not sure why this would cause that slip indicator/malfunction light but who knows?

    Anyone else exer had this one? What did you have done? How much did it cost?

    He cleared it and advised to not worry about it. It could be a fluke? This was at a tire/suspension place so they would not attempt this anyways. If it comes back or starts running poorly or my gas milage gets noticibly worse to take it to the stealership. Good advice? Bad advice?

    Thanks guys! :bowdown:
     

Products Discussed in

To Top