1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Hamachi anyone?

Discussion in 'Technology' started by MyToyTaco, Nov 10, 2009.

  1. Nov 10, 2009 at 12:16 PM
    #1
    MyToyTaco

    MyToyTaco [OP] ╒╪╕

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Member:
    #9417
    Messages:
    4,320
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Nick
    Port Hueneme
    Vehicle:
    08 Taco
    I'm slowly starting to work from home and have been looking at ways to access my work PC. Up until now i've just been using the regular LogMeIn remote, but I need to be able to access our database manager and transfer files. I read up on setting up a VPN and saw somewhere that hamachi is much easier, and is just as good as manually setting up a VPN. Problem is, I'm not to savvy on the topic and can't figure out what to do, how to set it up, what kind of network I need to select, etc etc.

    If anyone has any experience with hamachi, I'd love to pick your brain for a minute :cool:
     
  2. Nov 10, 2009 at 12:38 PM
    #2
    epa4wd

    epa4wd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Member:
    #14828
    Messages:
    2,139
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Eduardo
    Vehicle:
    2015 TRD Sport
    Clazzio Seat Covers Extang Tri-Fold Soft Tonneau Cover TRD Skid Plate AMP Research Electric Steps 43% Llumar Security tint TRD Exhaust Fox 2.0 coilovers and rear shocks 16" TRD Fake Beadlocks Custom LED Cube mounts in foglight location TRD Pro Grill Wheelers progressive aal
    Well as I understand you would have to do the following

    1st PC

    - Install Hamachi
    - Choose a Username
    - Create a Network with password
    - leave PC on with Hamachi logged on
    - select folders on Windows Explorer and set them as Shared

    2nd PC

    - Install Hamachi
    - Choose username
    - Go to Join network
    - type network name and password
    - right click username of your 1st PC (it should appear in a list sort of like MSN) and select Browse

    you would then be able to transfer files to the folder(s) selected as shared on the 1st PC
     
  3. Nov 10, 2009 at 12:45 PM
    #3
    jammdogg

    jammdogg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Member:
    #18600
    Messages:
    859
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    James
    Hillsboro, OR
    Vehicle:
    13 Spruce Mica DCLB
    6" ProComp lift on 35 MT's. ARB Bumper.
    Just make sure your IT Staff knows about it!

    James
     
  4. Nov 10, 2009 at 12:45 PM
    #4
    MyToyTaco

    MyToyTaco [OP] ╒╪╕

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Member:
    #9417
    Messages:
    4,320
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Nick
    Port Hueneme
    Vehicle:
    08 Taco
    Seems to be almost the same process as their remote desktop. But which network do I choose to set up? Mesh, hub and spoke, or gateway?
     
  5. Nov 10, 2009 at 12:45 PM
    #5
    MyToyTaco

    MyToyTaco [OP] ╒╪╕

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Member:
    #9417
    Messages:
    4,320
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Nick
    Port Hueneme
    Vehicle:
    08 Taco

    I am the IT staff...lol. It's a small family owned insurance office
     
  6. Nov 10, 2009 at 12:50 PM
    #6
    epa4wd

    epa4wd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Member:
    #14828
    Messages:
    2,139
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Eduardo
    Vehicle:
    2015 TRD Sport
    Clazzio Seat Covers Extang Tri-Fold Soft Tonneau Cover TRD Skid Plate AMP Research Electric Steps 43% Llumar Security tint TRD Exhaust Fox 2.0 coilovers and rear shocks 16" TRD Fake Beadlocks Custom LED Cube mounts in foglight location TRD Pro Grill Wheelers progressive aal
    Hmm honestly I don't know.. I use it with a friend of mine but he created the network, I would have to ask him when I see him.
     
  7. Nov 10, 2009 at 12:57 PM
    #7
    MyToyTaco

    MyToyTaco [OP] ╒╪╕

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Member:
    #9417
    Messages:
    4,320
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Nick
    Port Hueneme
    Vehicle:
    08 Taco
    Here's the setup:

    Office has 4 PC's

    One of them is the "Server" if you will. This PC hosts all of the database info.

    We've created network drives on the other 3 "client" PC's in the office to access database info/files on the "server".

    If I get Hamachi set up correctly, will the network drive essentially extend from my work PC, to my PC at home?

    Basically, I want to make sure that if I install our database program on my PC at home, it will be able to communicate with the server @ work....
     
  8. Nov 10, 2009 at 8:29 PM
    #8
    jammdogg

    jammdogg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Member:
    #18600
    Messages:
    859
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    James
    Hillsboro, OR
    Vehicle:
    13 Spruce Mica DCLB
    6" ProComp lift on 35 MT's. ARB Bumper.
    HA! Kick A$$! Same here. If one of the sales knobs do this, I wanna know!

    If you are running Windows Server at all, it it easy to setup Routing and Remote Access for VPN Connectivity.

    Good Luck!

    James
     
  9. Nov 10, 2009 at 8:55 PM
    #9
    MyToyTaco

    MyToyTaco [OP] ╒╪╕

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Member:
    #9417
    Messages:
    4,320
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Nick
    Port Hueneme
    Vehicle:
    08 Taco
    Not running windows server..plain ol XP on all pc's - and DHCP. I was thinking I could install hamachi and just run with it, rather than having to change all kinds of settings doing it through windows
     
To Top