1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

harbor freight help!!

Discussion in 'Lighting' started by kinkrider101, Apr 3, 2010.

  1. kinkrider101

    kinkrider101 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2009
    Member:
    #23497
    Messages:
    2,698
    Gender:
    Male
    santa barbara
    Vehicle:
    2007 cummins/2007 tacoma
    wheels and tires
    i boight the two harbor frieght fog lamps and do you need to ground them? and i bought a scion oem switch and how do i know what wires are the ground and the battery and so on, it is lighted
     
  2. rmb_crew

    rmb_crew My other ride has 18,400HP!!!!!!

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Member:
    #12837
    Messages:
    6,080
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ryan
    Jacksonville, FL 30.243103, -81.591007‎
    Vehicle:
    2010 F150 XLT SuperCrew 4X4
    Access larado tonneau, magnaflow exhaust
    any labels on the abck of the switch?
     
  3. uood8

    uood8 If You Search...You Shall Find.

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    Member:
    #18086
    Messages:
    1,291
    Gender:
    Male
    Greensboro, NC
    Vehicle:
    '14 4x4 OFFROAD DC
    AFE Intake, URD MAF Calibrator
    i'm not really sure what you are asking, but you'll need to ground the lights or the bulb for sure. either the bulb will ground to the light and you'll need to ground the light or you can just ground the bulb and not the light assembly itself. it'll just depend on how the light is wired and what bulb is used.hope that isn't 2 confusing.

    H3 bulbs only have one wire coming off the bulb, and they ground to the light. Give us some pics of what you have.

    Are you asking about grounding the lights or the switch?
     
  4. kinkrider101

    kinkrider101 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2009
    Member:
    #23497
    Messages:
    2,698
    Gender:
    Male
    santa barbara
    Vehicle:
    2007 cummins/2007 tacoma
    wheels and tires
    ok i found the info for the switch but, the lights, in the instructions it shows the black wire with a arrow poiting down, and the white one connected to the 2 lights
     
  5. tacomaman06

    tacomaman06 Carolina Alliance: Lead, follow, or get the hell o Thor

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Member:
    #1475
    Messages:
    26,352
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Will
    York,South Carolina
    Vehicle:
    '13 Silverado ext cab
    the black wires off the lights need to be grounded...........the other wires off the lights need to go to the switch, and one other side of the switch needs to go to the battery if you arent using a relay.
     
  6. kinkrider101

    kinkrider101 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2009
    Member:
    #23497
    Messages:
    2,698
    Gender:
    Male
    santa barbara
    Vehicle:
    2007 cummins/2007 tacoma
    wheels and tires
    it has a built in relay, but now i just need to ground the lights, can i ground them to the same screw??
     
  7. uood8

    uood8 If You Search...You Shall Find.

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    Member:
    #18086
    Messages:
    1,291
    Gender:
    Male
    Greensboro, NC
    Vehicle:
    '14 4x4 OFFROAD DC
    AFE Intake, URD MAF Calibrator
    Its not optimal, but if its a good ground point it'll work.
     
  8. kinkrider101

    kinkrider101 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2009
    Member:
    #23497
    Messages:
    2,698
    Gender:
    Male
    santa barbara
    Vehicle:
    2007 cummins/2007 tacoma
    wheels and tires
    ok thanks, i mounted the lights to the bed cleats.
     
To Top