1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Hard Wire Dash Cam Help!!!

Discussion in '3rd Gen. Tacomas (2016+)' started by Dirty_Taco_714, Feb 23, 2017.

  1. Feb 23, 2017 at 4:36 PM
    #1
    Dirty_Taco_714

    Dirty_Taco_714 [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2017
    Member:
    #207508
    Messages:
    19
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2016 MGM Taco TRD Offroad
    Hey,

    I am attempting to install a Falcon Zero Touch Pro Dash Cam on my taco. I decided I would like the dash cam to run 24/7 but I am having trouble finding a constant power source in the fuse box. The dash cam came with some add-a-circuit wires. One wire is labeled Batt++, the other is ACC, and a GND wire. I have already tried to hook up the Batt++ wire to the empty slot in the fuse box with a 5 amp fuse and hook up the ACC wire to the Power Outlet no 2 fuse and GND to chassis but the dash cam doesn't get power. I tested with the 12v charger port and it works but only when I turn my taco on. I am trying to get it to be on 24/7
    Please I am open to suggestions!!
     
  2. Feb 23, 2017 at 5:41 PM
    #2
    Sagebrush

    Sagebrush Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Member:
    #183141
    Messages:
    419
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2016 Silver Double Cab Tacoma OR
    Stock plus a topper
  3. Feb 23, 2017 at 6:18 PM
    #3
    Dirty_Taco_714

    Dirty_Taco_714 [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2017
    Member:
    #207508
    Messages:
    19
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2016 MGM Taco TRD Offroad
  4. Feb 23, 2017 at 6:22 PM
    #4
    Sagebrush

    Sagebrush Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Member:
    #183141
    Messages:
    419
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2016 Silver Double Cab Tacoma OR
    Stock plus a topper
    There may be, but I'm not aware or one. I assume that his harness is fuse protected. Can't imagine it not... but you could easily put an inline in while you tap into it.

    SB
     
    shakerhood likes this.
  5. Feb 23, 2017 at 6:24 PM
    #5
    gorram

    gorram Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2017
    Member:
    #211352
    Messages:
    243
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2016 Limited
    If you want it on 24/7 then you would want to tie the Batt and ACC from the camera together then connect that to a constant source.
     
  6. Feb 23, 2017 at 6:50 PM
    #6
    Dirty_Taco_714

    Dirty_Taco_714 [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2017
    Member:
    #207508
    Messages:
    19
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2016 MGM Taco TRD Offroad
    Ok thanks I haven't tried that yet. Do you know where exactly can I find that constant power source?
     
  7. Feb 23, 2017 at 6:50 PM
    #7
    Dirty_Taco_714

    Dirty_Taco_714 [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2017
    Member:
    #207508
    Messages:
    19
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2016 MGM Taco TRD Offroad
    Thanks
     
  8. Feb 23, 2017 at 7:03 PM
    #8
    gorram

    gorram Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2017
    Member:
    #211352
    Messages:
    243
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2016 Limited
    I've only had the truck a month and haven't gone looking yet. Then again I have a volt meter so it could be pretty easy to find with one. It would just be a matter of how much current draw the camera needed and if that circuit would sustain it. Of course I've got soldering experience so i'm not too shy on cutting into existing wiring and heatshrinking it back.

    When in doubt add your own constant wire from a battery lead and appropriate fuse inline.
     
  9. Feb 23, 2017 at 7:56 PM
    #9
    Istan

    Istan Leave it stock they said

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2017
    Member:
    #206502
    Messages:
    2,227
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Stan
    Northern NV
    Vehicle:
    2016 Tacoma DCSB TRDOR
  10. Feb 24, 2017 at 6:02 PM
    #10
    Sagebrush

    Sagebrush Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Member:
    #183141
    Messages:
    419
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2016 Silver Double Cab Tacoma OR
    Stock plus a topper
    One wire is hot, one is a ground, and the other one has a brake function that I wouldn't touch.

    SB
     
  11. Feb 28, 2017 at 11:29 PM
    #11
    Istan

    Istan Leave it stock they said

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2017
    Member:
    #206502
    Messages:
    2,227
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Stan
    Northern NV
    Vehicle:
    2016 Tacoma DCSB TRDOR
    The cable looks like it's cheap. Could I use that for power for other items? Off the top of my head 12v to 5v USB
     
  12. Mar 1, 2017 at 8:55 AM
    #12
    Sagebrush

    Sagebrush Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Member:
    #183141
    Messages:
    419
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2016 Silver Double Cab Tacoma OR
    Stock plus a topper
    Cheap? Are you referring to the wire gauge? I think it's 16 gauge so you could use that for 10 amps from it if it were a stand alone circuit, however it's coming off the factory wires that may be 18 AWG. Figure out what the fuse is that protects that circuit and just don't load it beyond that level of amperage. Your 5v USB shouldn't pull more than 2 amps.

    SB
     
  13. Mar 1, 2017 at 3:58 PM
    #13
    Istan

    Istan Leave it stock they said

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2017
    Member:
    #206502
    Messages:
    2,227
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Stan
    Northern NV
    Vehicle:
    2016 Tacoma DCSB TRDOR
    Affordable is a better word. $14 to not have to cut into factory wires is great.
     

Products Discussed in

To Top