1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Headliner removal for cable keeping? (for GoPro power)

Discussion in '3rd Gen. Tacomas (2016+)' started by flesheatingvirus, May 25, 2016.

  1. May 25, 2016 at 8:16 PM
    #1
    flesheatingvirus

    flesheatingvirus [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Member:
    #7570
    Messages:
    340
    Gender:
    Male
    ABQ, NM
    Vehicle:
    2016 TRD-OR 4x4AT Access Cab - Magnetic Gray
    Tech Package
    I want to get a USB cable up to the GoPro mount without it dangling in front of the windshield. I'm flexible on where it goes (hardwired somewhere or plugged into the cigarette lighter w/adapter or USB port).

    What is the best way? Remove the headliner? Tuck it under the edge? Some kind of clip/keeper I'm not aware of?

    I couldn't find a guide about removing the headliner.
     
  2. May 25, 2016 at 8:20 PM
    #2
    GHOST SHIP

    GHOST SHIP hates you.

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Member:
    #150537
    Messages:
    12,131
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    GHOST
    If it's anything like the 2nd gen, your best bet would be to tuck the cable at the front (top of the windshield) and down the a-pillar. No need to drop the headliner, just the a-pillar cover which should be a couple 10mm bolts. If you're dead set on dropping the headliner I documented the removal for a 2nd gen in another thread and I'm sure it's not too different. Just go slow and look for anything in your way (clips, bolts, plastic trim panels, etc). The headliner itself doesn't have any fasteners holding it up.
     
    llibrm likes this.
  3. May 25, 2016 at 8:49 PM
    #3
    Mike330R

    Mike330R Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Member:
    #58757
    Messages:
    3,512
    Far West Phoenix
    Vehicle:
    '16 DC Offroad w/ stuff
    Tuck it.
    I did this for a radar detector.
     
  4. May 25, 2016 at 9:20 PM
    #4
    pruchai

    pruchai KAMA3

    Joined:
    May 8, 2014
    Member:
    #129398
    Messages:
    1,769
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Igor
    San Diego, CA
    Vehicle:
    '14 TRD TX Baja
    Not enough...
  5. May 25, 2016 at 10:07 PM
    #5
    flesheatingvirus

    flesheatingvirus [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Member:
    #7570
    Messages:
    340
    Gender:
    Male
    ABQ, NM
    Vehicle:
    2016 TRD-OR 4x4AT Access Cab - Magnetic Gray
    Tech Package
    This looks interesting. Where did you end up connecting this into the electrical system? Through a grommet in the firewall? I'll have to check to see if the output is compatible with a GoPro. I also see there are similar kits with 90 degree USB connectors that would be a bit nicer for the camera being so close to the headliner edge where the wire will protrude.

    It seems the consensus so far is to tuck the cable under the front of the headliner, then run it down one of the pillars (passenger side, I'm guessing). I briefly played with the front edge of the liner; it seemed fragile to me. I'm guessing it has more play than I think. I haven't looked at taking off an A-pillar cover. Could the air bag be a problem?
     
    Last edited: May 25, 2016
  6. May 25, 2016 at 10:17 PM
    #6
    pruchai

    pruchai KAMA3

    Joined:
    May 8, 2014
    Member:
    #129398
    Messages:
    1,769
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Igor
    San Diego, CA
    Vehicle:
    '14 TRD TX Baja
    Not enough...
    Yeah, these should be compatible with a GoPro. I have a set of plastic panel removers, so I just used those to push the wire in. You can put some masking tape on a screwdriver and use that instead. Once you get some of the wire under the liner on the A-pillar side, the rest will go in really easy. There is plenty of room under that. I got a dashcam wire, dash cam GPS receiver wire and ScanGauge wire (which is basically an ethernet cable) under the liner that way. On top of that, whatever slack I had on those wires, I shoved in there too.

    Hooked it up in the kick panel to the first wire I found that gets hot with ignition on.
     
  7. May 25, 2016 at 10:23 PM
    #7
    flesheatingvirus

    flesheatingvirus [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Member:
    #7570
    Messages:
    340
    Gender:
    Male
    ABQ, NM
    Vehicle:
    2016 TRD-OR 4x4AT Access Cab - Magnetic Gray
    Tech Package
    Sounds like a job for Posi-taps, just like the Pop&Lock.
     
  8. May 25, 2016 at 10:24 PM
    #8
    pruchai

    pruchai KAMA3

    Joined:
    May 8, 2014
    Member:
    #129398
    Messages:
    1,769
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Igor
    San Diego, CA
    Vehicle:
    '14 TRD TX Baja
    Not enough...
  9. May 25, 2016 at 10:27 PM
    #9
    flesheatingvirus

    flesheatingvirus [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Member:
    #7570
    Messages:
    340
    Gender:
    Male
    ABQ, NM
    Vehicle:
    2016 TRD-OR 4x4AT Access Cab - Magnetic Gray
    Tech Package
    Interesting. Hadn't seen those before.

    I'll have to start looking for an ignition-hot 12V wire under the passenger dash.
     
  10. May 25, 2016 at 10:30 PM
    #10
    pruchai

    pruchai KAMA3

    Joined:
    May 8, 2014
    Member:
    #129398
    Messages:
    1,769
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Igor
    San Diego, CA
    Vehicle:
    '14 TRD TX Baja
    Not enough...
  11. May 25, 2016 at 10:36 PM
    #11
    flesheatingvirus

    flesheatingvirus [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Member:
    #7570
    Messages:
    340
    Gender:
    Male
    ABQ, NM
    Vehicle:
    2016 TRD-OR 4x4AT Access Cab - Magnetic Gray
    Tech Package
    Well, shit! Knew I'd get some wisdom/experience on this issue. :thumbsup:
     
  12. May 27, 2016 at 8:06 AM
    #12
    Mike330R

    Mike330R Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Member:
    #58757
    Messages:
    3,512
    Far West Phoenix
    Vehicle:
    '16 DC Offroad w/ stuff
    Brake brake plug is what I used to tap into. It's down by your left foot. I forget which wire it was at the moment.
    plug_zps6fc2waf0_3f4ba08e4410faa1bbecfd95501336df2ca8362e.jpg
     
  13. May 27, 2016 at 8:36 PM
    #13
    Shellshock

    Shellshock Guy who drives a lot

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2015
    Member:
    #170338
    Messages:
    2,039
    Iowa
    Vehicle:
    2017 DCSB TRD OR MT QUICKSAND
    I used fuse taps for both my radar detector and dash cam. Ran it up the A pillar than tucked it into the headliner. I removed the A pillar and console in the roof to run the cables and make sure they were set like I wanted them.
     
To Top