1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Headunit won't power on, help!

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by GoDeacsWFU23, Dec 29, 2011.

  1. Dec 29, 2011 at 4:55 PM
    #1
    GoDeacsWFU23

    GoDeacsWFU23 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Member:
    #57986
    Messages:
    1,162
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jonathan
    Clemmons, NC
    Vehicle:
    2013 Tacoma PreRunner TRD Sport
    I am attempting to install an Alpine INA-900BT. I have a Metra 70-1761 wiring harness. I have connected all the wires that are available to connect and am getting nothing from the unit. It will not power on or anything. Any ideas?
     
  2. Dec 29, 2011 at 4:59 PM
    #2
    saitcho

    saitcho Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    Member:
    #65596
    Messages:
    80
    Gender:
    Male
    New Orleans
    Vehicle:
    '11 DC 4x4 trd off road
    Check your fuses. Any blown? Check your connections. Are they good connections and can you measure with a MM to confirm?

    That's what I would do first, in that order.
     
  3. Dec 29, 2011 at 5:00 PM
    #3
    TacoDawgfan

    TacoDawgfan Hunker Down You Hairy Dawg!

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Member:
    #50214
    Messages:
    13,123
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Georgia
    Vehicle:
    2011 Silver 4x4 TRD Sport w/JBL
    5100's at 1.75, Rear leaf TSB, Moto Metal 951 16x8, BFG TKO2 265/75/16, AFe Stage 2 CAI w/pro dry filter, Access Loredo tonneau cover, N-Fab steps, Tinted windows, EGR in channel vent visors, Ultragauge, UGA drink coasters in the front cup holders, and a Graco car seat in the back seat
    Are there any in-line fuses missing or blown? Might recheck the fuse to the hu in the truck fuse box just to be sure it didn't get blown somehow also. Plus you have a power lead and a remote wire to allow the unit to turn on/off with the ignition, both are connected to the proper wires?
     
  4. Dec 29, 2011 at 5:00 PM
    #4
    GoDeacsWFU23

    GoDeacsWFU23 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Member:
    #57986
    Messages:
    1,162
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jonathan
    Clemmons, NC
    Vehicle:
    2013 Tacoma PreRunner TRD Sport
    Fuses are good. Does anyone know if this is even the right wiring harness?
     
  5. Dec 29, 2011 at 5:01 PM
    #5
    GoDeacsWFU23

    GoDeacsWFU23 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Member:
    #57986
    Messages:
    1,162
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jonathan
    Clemmons, NC
    Vehicle:
    2013 Tacoma PreRunner TRD Sport
    Uhhh...the remote wire is not connected....there is no where to connect it
     
  6. Dec 29, 2011 at 5:02 PM
    #6
    RV7Garage

    RV7Garage R.O.U.S.

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Member:
    #22358
    Messages:
    629
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Paul
    Ill Annoy
    Vehicle:
    2012 DCSB Offroad, Nautical Blue
    Disable DRL, Jailbreak Fog Lights, ARE topper
    Sorry to ask, but the IGN is on, right? Gotta ask the simple one...! And you'd have to confirm with the manufacturer to know if the wiring harness is correct, I think.
     
  7. Dec 29, 2011 at 5:02 PM
    #7
    GoDeacsWFU23

    GoDeacsWFU23 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Member:
    #57986
    Messages:
    1,162
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jonathan
    Clemmons, NC
    Vehicle:
    2013 Tacoma PreRunner TRD Sport
    yes, the ignition is on
     
  8. Dec 29, 2011 at 5:04 PM
    #8
    TacoDawgfan

    TacoDawgfan Hunker Down You Hairy Dawg!

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Member:
    #50214
    Messages:
    13,123
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Georgia
    Vehicle:
    2011 Silver 4x4 TRD Sport w/JBL
    5100's at 1.75, Rear leaf TSB, Moto Metal 951 16x8, BFG TKO2 265/75/16, AFe Stage 2 CAI w/pro dry filter, Access Loredo tonneau cover, N-Fab steps, Tinted windows, EGR in channel vent visors, Ultragauge, UGA drink coasters in the front cup holders, and a Graco car seat in the back seat
    I usually just use the power antenna lead off from the harness, provided you don't have a power antenna.
     
  9. Dec 29, 2011 at 5:06 PM
    #9
    GoDeacsWFU23

    GoDeacsWFU23 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Member:
    #57986
    Messages:
    1,162
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jonathan
    Clemmons, NC
    Vehicle:
    2013 Tacoma PreRunner TRD Sport

    I hooked the power antenna to the power antenna even though i dont have a power antenna, should i just redo that wiring?
     
  10. Dec 29, 2011 at 5:09 PM
    #10
    TacoDawgfan

    TacoDawgfan Hunker Down You Hairy Dawg!

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Member:
    #50214
    Messages:
    13,123
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Georgia
    Vehicle:
    2011 Silver 4x4 TRD Sport w/JBL
    5100's at 1.75, Rear leaf TSB, Moto Metal 951 16x8, BFG TKO2 265/75/16, AFe Stage 2 CAI w/pro dry filter, Access Loredo tonneau cover, N-Fab steps, Tinted windows, EGR in channel vent visors, Ultragauge, UGA drink coasters in the front cup holders, and a Graco car seat in the back seat
    W/O being there to see what's going on it's hard to say. I don't want to be responsible for anything going wrong. With that said, yes unhook the power antenna from the hu and leave it undone and hook the remote wire to the power antenna lead from the harness.
     
  11. Dec 29, 2011 at 5:09 PM
    #11
    GoDeacsWFU23

    GoDeacsWFU23 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Member:
    #57986
    Messages:
    1,162
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jonathan
    Clemmons, NC
    Vehicle:
    2013 Tacoma PreRunner TRD Sport
    also, should i have a harness from the truck not plugged into anything that was originally plugged into the factory radio?
     
  12. Dec 29, 2011 at 5:12 PM
    #12
    TacoDawgfan

    TacoDawgfan Hunker Down You Hairy Dawg!

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Member:
    #50214
    Messages:
    13,123
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Georgia
    Vehicle:
    2011 Silver 4x4 TRD Sport w/JBL
    5100's at 1.75, Rear leaf TSB, Moto Metal 951 16x8, BFG TKO2 265/75/16, AFe Stage 2 CAI w/pro dry filter, Access Loredo tonneau cover, N-Fab steps, Tinted windows, EGR in channel vent visors, Ultragauge, UGA drink coasters in the front cup holders, and a Graco car seat in the back seat
    It should plug into the harness you bought and that should be wired to your hu. If I'm understanding your statement. :confused:
     
  13. Dec 29, 2011 at 5:13 PM
    #13
    TacoDawgfan

    TacoDawgfan Hunker Down You Hairy Dawg!

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Member:
    #50214
    Messages:
    13,123
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Georgia
    Vehicle:
    2011 Silver 4x4 TRD Sport w/JBL
    5100's at 1.75, Rear leaf TSB, Moto Metal 951 16x8, BFG TKO2 265/75/16, AFe Stage 2 CAI w/pro dry filter, Access Loredo tonneau cover, N-Fab steps, Tinted windows, EGR in channel vent visors, Ultragauge, UGA drink coasters in the front cup holders, and a Graco car seat in the back seat
    If the purchased harness plug doesn't match the plug from the back of the factory hu then it must be the wrong one.
     
  14. Dec 29, 2011 at 5:16 PM
    #14
    GoDeacsWFU23

    GoDeacsWFU23 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Member:
    #57986
    Messages:
    1,162
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jonathan
    Clemmons, NC
    Vehicle:
    2013 Tacoma PreRunner TRD Sport
    its got to be the wrong one because the harness the power wire is in goes to a different plug than what looks like is the power wire from the truck, but when i go to metra's website they are telling me this is the correct plug
     
  15. Dec 29, 2011 at 5:19 PM
    #15
    TacoDawgfan

    TacoDawgfan Hunker Down You Hairy Dawg!

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Member:
    #50214
    Messages:
    13,123
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Georgia
    Vehicle:
    2011 Silver 4x4 TRD Sport w/JBL
    5100's at 1.75, Rear leaf TSB, Moto Metal 951 16x8, BFG TKO2 265/75/16, AFe Stage 2 CAI w/pro dry filter, Access Loredo tonneau cover, N-Fab steps, Tinted windows, EGR in channel vent visors, Ultragauge, UGA drink coasters in the front cup holders, and a Graco car seat in the back seat
    It's hard to say what wire is what from the truck.
     
  16. Dec 29, 2011 at 5:21 PM
    #16
    TacoDawgfan

    TacoDawgfan Hunker Down You Hairy Dawg!

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Member:
    #50214
    Messages:
    13,123
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Georgia
    Vehicle:
    2011 Silver 4x4 TRD Sport w/JBL
    5100's at 1.75, Rear leaf TSB, Moto Metal 951 16x8, BFG TKO2 265/75/16, AFe Stage 2 CAI w/pro dry filter, Access Loredo tonneau cover, N-Fab steps, Tinted windows, EGR in channel vent visors, Ultragauge, UGA drink coasters in the front cup holders, and a Graco car seat in the back seat
    Where did you buy the harness or the stereo?
     
  17. Dec 29, 2011 at 5:22 PM
    #17
    rdm197aps

    rdm197aps Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Member:
    #68839
    Messages:
    69
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rick
    DFW
    Vehicle:
    10 TRD Sport 4x4
    ARB bulbar WARN M8000, OME/Dakar, enough recovery gear to yank a GEO Tracker outta ditch!
    it just needs to be tied into the positive lead if i remember correctly... its been a long time since i hooked one up.
     
  18. Dec 29, 2011 at 5:24 PM
    #18
    TacoDawgfan

    TacoDawgfan Hunker Down You Hairy Dawg!

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Member:
    #50214
    Messages:
    13,123
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Georgia
    Vehicle:
    2011 Silver 4x4 TRD Sport w/JBL
    5100's at 1.75, Rear leaf TSB, Moto Metal 951 16x8, BFG TKO2 265/75/16, AFe Stage 2 CAI w/pro dry filter, Access Loredo tonneau cover, N-Fab steps, Tinted windows, EGR in channel vent visors, Ultragauge, UGA drink coasters in the front cup holders, and a Graco car seat in the back seat
    You can do that but then it will on w/o the key and have to be turned off manually when you get out of the truck, if I remember correctly.

    Can try this just to see if it works anyway.
     
  19. Dec 29, 2011 at 5:24 PM
    #19
    GoDeacsWFU23

    GoDeacsWFU23 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Member:
    #57986
    Messages:
    1,162
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jonathan
    Clemmons, NC
    Vehicle:
    2013 Tacoma PreRunner TRD Sport
    I got the stereo from best buy and the harness from a local stereo shop, but i just found another post on here and they also used the same harness, im just lost right now....
     
  20. Dec 29, 2011 at 5:33 PM
    #20
    TacoDawgfan

    TacoDawgfan Hunker Down You Hairy Dawg!

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Member:
    #50214
    Messages:
    13,123
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Georgia
    Vehicle:
    2011 Silver 4x4 TRD Sport w/JBL
    5100's at 1.75, Rear leaf TSB, Moto Metal 951 16x8, BFG TKO2 265/75/16, AFe Stage 2 CAI w/pro dry filter, Access Loredo tonneau cover, N-Fab steps, Tinted windows, EGR in channel vent visors, Ultragauge, UGA drink coasters in the front cup holders, and a Graco car seat in the back seat
    Ok, so lets back up a bit. You hooked up the wires to the harness as the wiring diagram shows? They typically are color coded. Power to the power lead, ground to the ground lead, speaker wires to the proper speaker wire leads. That should leave you with 2 other wires from the hu, the remote and an illumination wire. The illumination doesn't have to be hooked up. The remote is a wire to control the on/off with the ignition. From what I can remember the harness usually doesn't give you a connection for it, which is why I use the power antenna for it. Once connected then plug it into the plug from the back of the factory hu. Should work once the ignition is on.
     
To Top