1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Help installing a power inverter?

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by SPCL, Apr 12, 2008.

  1. Apr 12, 2008 at 9:00 AM
    #1
    SPCL

    SPCL [OP] Chupathingy

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2008
    Member:
    #5921
    Messages:
    37
    Gender:
    Male
    Louisville, KY
    Vehicle:
    05 Regular Cab
    Bench swapped for buckets, ARE shell
    Hey y'all. First real post, other than the introductory. Anyways, I've had my '05 since Feb. '05, and I'm starting to get kinda bored with it.

    I've managed to wedge a portable DVD player inbetween the cupholder/shift and the bench, have it plugged into the cigarette lighter, but I've always felt that looks really tacky and want it to have more of a professional look. Also, I want to hook up my old PS2 and my old laptop to it (Run it as a carpc), which requires a power inverter. I figure that I'll install it as close to the battery as I can, and do what I can to shield the inverter from the elements, but I really need help in running a power strip/extension cord from the inverter and into the cab. How does one go about doing that???

    Any help is greatly appreciated!
     
  2. Apr 12, 2008 at 9:04 AM
    #2
    tacomaman06

    tacomaman06 Carolina Alliance: Enforcer

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Member:
    #1475
    Messages:
    26,258
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Will
    York,South Carolina
    Vehicle:
    '16 Tundra TRD Pro
    getting there....
    welcome to tw!! im not real good on electrical......but i know the basics(running wires for lights,horns,etc)........and as for geting a power wire/cord through the firewall..........open the hood and look on the driver side firewall, you will see a good sized grommet. you can take a piece of coat hanger and pull some of the grommet back far enough to get wire and all thru there, so you can have it come out under your dash. its the way i ran the wires for my hella 500's and my air horns.
     
  3. Apr 12, 2008 at 9:13 AM
    #3
    SPCL

    SPCL [OP] Chupathingy

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2008
    Member:
    #5921
    Messages:
    37
    Gender:
    Male
    Louisville, KY
    Vehicle:
    05 Regular Cab
    Bench swapped for buckets, ARE shell
    Awesome, thanks man, that was all I needed. :D
     
  4. Apr 12, 2008 at 9:14 AM
    #4
    tacomaman06

    tacomaman06 Carolina Alliance: Enforcer

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Member:
    #1475
    Messages:
    26,258
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Will
    York,South Carolina
    Vehicle:
    '16 Tundra TRD Pro
    getting there....
    good deal man!!!:)
     
  5. Apr 12, 2008 at 3:31 PM
    #5
    SPCL

    SPCL [OP] Chupathingy

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2008
    Member:
    #5921
    Messages:
    37
    Gender:
    Male
    Louisville, KY
    Vehicle:
    05 Regular Cab
    Bench swapped for buckets, ARE shell
    Hey Tacomaman, just wanted to let you know that I got the inverter hooked up, and it's working swimmingly. I even went so far as to re-wire the power switch and run it up to my dash. Things are looking pretty good for getting everything else set up. Great help man, thanks. :D
     
  6. Apr 12, 2008 at 3:38 PM
    #6
    tacomaman06

    tacomaman06 Carolina Alliance: Enforcer

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Member:
    #1475
    Messages:
    26,258
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Will
    York,South Carolina
    Vehicle:
    '16 Tundra TRD Pro
    getting there....
    hey brother.....thats what we are here for!!! good to here it went well for you.
     
To Top