1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

HELP!! Installing Alpine IVA205 with Metra Dash kit

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by Jay-Hawks, Mar 1, 2009.

  1. Mar 1, 2009 at 12:10 PM
    #1
    Jay-Hawks

    Jay-Hawks [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Member:
    #12386
    Messages:
    96
    Gender:
    Male
    Galveston
    Vehicle:
    09 Prerunner TRD 4X2
    Tube Step, Leather interior, XM, Bed Extender, Tinted Windows, Dynolock
    I am in the middle of a total upgrade of my sound system but I have run into a couple problems with getting the Alpine headunit to fit in the dash with the metra dash kit. I mounted the factory speaker brackets to the stereo but I don't think they are mounted in the right place because the stereo is to low and sticks out to far. I'm having problems getting all of the wires to fit back behind the stereo and I believe this is adding to my problems. Can anyone who has installed this combination give me some advice as to where the factory brackets mounted on their stereo and any other advice would be GREATLT appreciated.
     
  2. Mar 1, 2009 at 8:46 PM
    #2
    bk1

    bk1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Member:
    #10614
    Messages:
    100
    Gender:
    Male
    Lower Mainland, BC
    Vehicle:
    08 Tacoma TRD Sport
    ProComp Stage 2 6" lift, AAL, Heated Mirrors, DVD/NAV, Amp & Subs, Fog Light Mod, Rear Diff breather. WeatherTech Mats, Soft Tonneau Cover, 33" TrXus M/T, M8000 Winch & Bumper, CB, Rock/suspension Lighting and a whole lot more Soon to come rear Locker and more....
    it'll fit, cuz i've done it with the pioneer AVIC 2din HU. i had to tuck some of the wires up and around the vent tubes and stuff, but i have 3x RCA(4ch + Mono Amp) USB for Ipod, Hard wired steering wheel remote controller, cables for GPS antenna, BT Mic. It was a mess of wires, and i used the OEM mounting bracket. If i recall from my old alpine HU theres markings on the side of the Chassis w the letters T,H,N you want to use the holes with the T next to them and then everything else should line up. and i'm using the metra kit too

    [​IMG]
     
  3. Mar 2, 2009 at 7:57 AM
    #3
    Jay-Hawks

    Jay-Hawks [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Member:
    #12386
    Messages:
    96
    Gender:
    Male
    Galveston
    Vehicle:
    09 Prerunner TRD 4X2
    Tube Step, Leather interior, XM, Bed Extender, Tinted Windows, Dynolock
    Thanks!!!!

    I will try it again tonight using the "T" holes. You aren't kidding that thing is a MESS of wires. How many screws were you able to screw into unit?
     
  4. Mar 2, 2009 at 9:25 PM
    #4
    bk1

    bk1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Member:
    #10614
    Messages:
    100
    Gender:
    Male
    Lower Mainland, BC
    Vehicle:
    08 Tacoma TRD Sport
    ProComp Stage 2 6" lift, AAL, Heated Mirrors, DVD/NAV, Amp & Subs, Fog Light Mod, Rear Diff breather. WeatherTech Mats, Soft Tonneau Cover, 33" TrXus M/T, M8000 Winch & Bumper, CB, Rock/suspension Lighting and a whole lot more Soon to come rear Locker and more....
    4 into the HU and all 4 bolts into the vehicle... just like stock :) and then i adsded security strap too.. steel cable with eyelets, and bolted back of deck to a screw down below in the drivers foot area... 1 extra trick just incase someones tries :)
     
  5. Mar 3, 2009 at 7:01 AM
    #5
    Jay-Hawks

    Jay-Hawks [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Member:
    #12386
    Messages:
    96
    Gender:
    Male
    Galveston
    Vehicle:
    09 Prerunner TRD 4X2
    Tube Step, Leather interior, XM, Bed Extender, Tinted Windows, Dynolock
    I tried again last night and once again no luck. Here are a couple of pictures. This is a picture of the Alpine deck with the factory bracket. The bracket is in the location where the holes line up and where I have it currently mounted. With the brackets in that location the unit sticks out to far and is to low but this really is the only option with the factory bracket. If you look at the Alpine you can see there is but possibly one hole that you could use to get the deck back further into the dash but this won't help the fact that the deck is to low.
    [​IMG]



    This picture is where the alpine sits in the dash when using these mounting holes.

    [​IMG]


    Just for comparision purposes here is the factory radio.

    [​IMG]


    At this point I'm about ready to say screw it and just take it somewhere...LOL
     
  6. Mar 3, 2009 at 7:17 AM
    #6
    Banchi94

    Banchi94 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Member:
    #6599
    Messages:
    471
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ron
    Parker, CO
    Vehicle:
    2008 Indigo Blue TRD Sport DCSB 4x4
    ToyTec 3" basic lift
    Hey bk1, where did you place your GPS antenna? I have the Kenwood system and have a little "mouse" looking thing that I have to find a place for...on the dash, maybe?

    Thanks!
     
  7. Mar 3, 2009 at 10:49 AM
    #7
    bk1

    bk1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Member:
    #10614
    Messages:
    100
    Gender:
    Male
    Lower Mainland, BC
    Vehicle:
    08 Tacoma TRD Sport
    ProComp Stage 2 6" lift, AAL, Heated Mirrors, DVD/NAV, Amp & Subs, Fog Light Mod, Rear Diff breather. WeatherTech Mats, Soft Tonneau Cover, 33" TrXus M/T, M8000 Winch & Bumper, CB, Rock/suspension Lighting and a whole lot more Soon to come rear Locker and more....
    Jay, you might have to drill some holes in the factory bracket to make it line up. My Poineer lined up good (a lil bit fwd less that 1/16) but yeah... theres no after market brackets that i know of off hand that will work any better. Lookin at your picture there's a set of holes 1" fwd. you might have to drill some holes in the bracket so that lines up.. you can make the holes a bit oval and then slide the deck fwd and back to line it up Might be your best bet.

    Banchi, i just passed the cable up to the pass side a-pillar, theres wire above the glove box so i just followed those, removed the Apillar and put the GPS antenna in the corner,and replaced the Pillar. its out of sight and works great. Never had a problem with signal strenght, and while the A pillar was out, i routed the the BT mic into the headliner near the maplight/compass
     
  8. Mar 10, 2009 at 5:41 AM
    #8
    06dak

    06dak Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Member:
    #5122
    Messages:
    259
    Gender:
    Male
    Central Ohio
    Vehicle:
    05 PreRunner SR5 4cyl
    Undercover hard tonneau, Husky front liners
    Jay-Hawks,

    So I just posted the same question last night (such a noob)...

    Mine ends up looking exactly like yours. You get anywhere on finishing up your install????
     
  9. Mar 10, 2009 at 12:59 PM
    #9
    Banchi94

    Banchi94 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Member:
    #6599
    Messages:
    471
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ron
    Parker, CO
    Vehicle:
    2008 Indigo Blue TRD Sport DCSB 4x4
    ToyTec 3" basic lift
    Thanks, bk1. I ended up doing exactly what you said this past weekend, except I routed both the mic and GPS antenna through to the driver's side pillar. What I should haev done, though, was placed the mic near the maplight/compass. I have it at the top of the A-pillar. Folks on the other line complain about not hearing me well and that they hear their voice coming through the speakers. Do you have that problem?
     
  10. Mar 10, 2009 at 7:36 PM
    #10
    bass mechanic

    bass mechanic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Member:
    #6732
    Messages:
    257
    Gender:
    Male
    colorado springs, colorado
    Vehicle:
    2009 tacoma Access cab TRD offroad in black
    none
    to the OP the bracket in that pic looks like its lined up wioth the right holes, you will only get 3 screws in each side, however with 20 years of installs behind me i have never seen an ISO (as your doing) mount not line up exactly. it shouldnt matter its an alpine and you should never have to drill holes in the bracket. what i am wondering is why there are other holes marked "T" to the front of the ones your using. for what its worth my kenwood sticks out a little, the hole at the top of the plastic trim ring doesnt lay flat against the dash and i did not install a screw as i felt with the face tilting it worked better if the trim ring was allowed to float behind the trim peice to provide the best alignment.
    try the forward holes, more importantly lone the stock radio next to the alpine or measure the distance from what would be the front of the stock radio and compare to the alpine, see whic set of holes line up best to the location of the stock ones.

    and to the other posted about the GPS antenna, i stuck mine on top of the vent tube sandwiched between the tube and the back side of the dash. i get full sat reception and 11 feet accuracy all through the dash itself. you wont find any gps antenna on my truck anyplace and the xm radio uses the XM antenna that came with the truck.

    you know looking at that pic again, i think you may need to drill some new holes, there is no way thoes holes in the radio are in the right position. you might be able to use the nissan holes for 1 or 2 , you only need 2 on each side.
     
  11. Mar 12, 2009 at 8:52 AM
    #11
    Jay-Hawks

    Jay-Hawks [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Member:
    #12386
    Messages:
    96
    Gender:
    Male
    Galveston
    Vehicle:
    09 Prerunner TRD 4X2
    Tube Step, Leather interior, XM, Bed Extender, Tinted Windows, Dynolock
    I got so frustrated with this stupid thing that I just took it to Car Toys and they charged me $60 to put it in, best money I ever spent. After it was finished I talked to the installer and he said it was a pain in the ass. He had to drill new holes in the brackets and amost decided to build his own custom brackets. In all it took him 1.5 hours to do it but it looks good now!
     
  12. Mar 12, 2009 at 10:19 AM
    #12
    rutherk1

    rutherk1 ElPhantasmo&TheChickenRunBlastarama

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Member:
    #4966
    Messages:
    814
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    09 Silver TRD 4door
    Thats odd. I HAD the Alpine w505 in mine with the metra kit and everything fit very easily.
     
  13. Mar 13, 2009 at 9:53 PM
    #13
    bk1

    bk1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Member:
    #10614
    Messages:
    100
    Gender:
    Male
    Lower Mainland, BC
    Vehicle:
    08 Tacoma TRD Sport
    ProComp Stage 2 6" lift, AAL, Heated Mirrors, DVD/NAV, Amp & Subs, Fog Light Mod, Rear Diff breather. WeatherTech Mats, Soft Tonneau Cover, 33" TrXus M/T, M8000 Winch & Bumper, CB, Rock/suspension Lighting and a whole lot more Soon to come rear Locker and more....
    Banchi:
    nope, my GPS mouse is pass side windsheild, and the BT mic is at the compass/map light and its works great.. i didnt use my drivers side pillar because i was going to put pods in for some gauges..

    And Jay, i told you.. drill some holes :) but that can be a pain too cuz you gotta make sure everything lines up..

    Glas to hear its done and you're happy with it!
     
  14. Jan 26, 2010 at 11:07 AM
    #14
    glandnut

    glandnut Grease Monkey

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2009
    Member:
    #19461
    Messages:
    295
    Gender:
    Male
    Florida
    Vehicle:
    09' MGM TRD DC Sport LB
    secret stuff.
    I wonder if the problem was the kit meant for an 05'-08' was getting installed in an 09'?
     
  15. Jan 26, 2010 at 1:08 PM
    #15
    Jay-Hawks

    Jay-Hawks [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Member:
    #12386
    Messages:
    96
    Gender:
    Male
    Galveston
    Vehicle:
    09 Prerunner TRD 4X2
    Tube Step, Leather interior, XM, Bed Extender, Tinted Windows, Dynolock
    Not sure that the kit was the issue. I was using the metal stock radio bracket not the plastic one that came with the kit. The holes on the bracket just wouldn't line up with the radio. The guy at car toys said there wasn't any easy way to do it and that it was a pain to get done. Took the guy 2 hours after he thought it would only take him about 15 minutes. In the end for me it was money well spent.
     
  16. Jan 26, 2010 at 1:28 PM
    #16
    glandnut

    glandnut Grease Monkey

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2009
    Member:
    #19461
    Messages:
    295
    Gender:
    Male
    Florida
    Vehicle:
    09' MGM TRD DC Sport LB
    secret stuff.
    Yeah, I have an 09' and was noticed there is no Metra kit I can find that says 09', they all say 05'-08' so I thought maybe there was a difference. Most folks seem to be preferring the Metra to the Scosche kits it seems.
     
  17. Jan 26, 2010 at 8:30 PM
    #17
    bk1

    bk1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Member:
    #10614
    Messages:
    100
    Gender:
    Male
    Lower Mainland, BC
    Vehicle:
    08 Tacoma TRD Sport
    ProComp Stage 2 6" lift, AAL, Heated Mirrors, DVD/NAV, Amp & Subs, Fog Light Mod, Rear Diff breather. WeatherTech Mats, Soft Tonneau Cover, 33" TrXus M/T, M8000 Winch & Bumper, CB, Rock/suspension Lighting and a whole lot more Soon to come rear Locker and more....
    as far as i know, its the same setup, just the kits say 05-08 but everything including the 2010 have the same wire harness and mounting kit... so the 05-08 kits should work fine for you..
     
  18. Jan 27, 2010 at 6:20 AM
    #18
    NeoMoose

    NeoMoose Possibly Batman

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Member:
    #27144
    Messages:
    189
    Gender:
    Male
    Houston, TX
    Vehicle:
    2010 PreRunner DC TRD O.R.
    Kenwood eXcelon X993, Kenwood KFC-1693PS (Front), Kenwood KFC-G1620 (Rear), Luverne Black Nerf Bars, OEM Brush Guard, AFE Pro Dry S Drop-In, Some kickass wheel locks, Removed front mud flaps, All windows tinted, Anti-theft tailgate mod
    Definitely will work, I just put that kit in my 2010.
     
To Top