1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

HELP!new head unit and tail lights and dash lights won't work

Discussion in '1st Gen. Tacomas' started by RocktheRed, Mar 10, 2013.

  1. Mar 10, 2013 at 11:32 AM
    #1
    RocktheRed

    RocktheRed [OP] Guest

    Ok so I installed a new Kenwood KDC head unit yesterday and found that all of my dash lights and tail lights are out! I checked all fuses and they are fine...has anyone else has this problem?! Thanks guys! :)
     
  2. Mar 10, 2013 at 1:51 PM
    #2
    andrewprime1

    andrewprime1 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    Member:
    #98964
    Messages:
    17
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Andrew
    Salt Lake City, UT
    Vehicle:
    2001 Toyota Tacoma SR5 TRD
    That definitely sounds like a fuse issue. Did you check both fuse boxes? I am new to Tacomas, but I am pretty ure most cars have two different fuse boxes.
     
  3. Mar 10, 2013 at 1:52 PM
    #3
    WailuaTaco808

    WailuaTaco808 808 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2012
    Member:
    #82916
    Messages:
    1,334
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Phil
    Kauai///Oahu-sometimes
    Vehicle:
    2010 Tacoma TRD SPORT Kauai Built
    i put some money into this Toy
    definitely a fuse problem
     
  4. Mar 10, 2013 at 3:55 PM
    #4
    Nunavut

    Nunavut Senior Member. HA. I'm not a senior. I'm young...

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2011
    Member:
    #67710
    Messages:
    1,134
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Shayne
    Canada
    Vehicle:
    V6
    http://www.tacomaworld.com/forum/1st-gen-tacomas/205044-nunavut-my-build.html
    It's probably a fuse in the engine compartment. I believe it's a 10a fuse.
     
  5. Mar 10, 2013 at 4:01 PM
    #5
    Toy4me

    Toy4me Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012
    Member:
    #85061
    Messages:
    558
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tom
    NNJ
    Vehicle:
    '10 DCLB TRD Sport MGM
    Would've been better to post this in audio but, did you by chance connect the orange lead from the H/U (dimmer wire) to the stock harness? This seems to regularly cause what you've described. Search there and you'll get your answer for sure.
     
  6. Mar 10, 2013 at 7:55 PM
    #6
    Moco

    Moco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    Member:
    #87518
    Messages:
    398
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Eric
    NoVA
    Vehicle:
    96 Regular Cab 4x4 5spd
    I just went through an experience of recreating the stock harness wiring for my 96 in order to fit an OEM CD player in. The previous owner had done a hack job to install some POS JVC unit way back when.

    Check your fuses and double check your wiring - if you need help, my experience is still fresh enough that I may be able to help.

    Good luck.

    Also, what part of NoVa are you in?
     
  7. Mar 11, 2013 at 7:37 AM
    #7
    RocktheRed

    RocktheRed [OP] Guest

    Dang you all are right and I'm terrible with any bit of wiring..it was definitly a fuse and an orange wire that was poorly connected. Other than that, the head unit looks fantastic and I'll need to upgrade my speakers and possibly to a bazooka sub!
    Moco- I'm in Burke, VA
     
  8. Mar 11, 2013 at 7:45 AM
    #8
    Moco

    Moco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    Member:
    #87518
    Messages:
    398
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Eric
    NoVA
    Vehicle:
    96 Regular Cab 4x4 5spd
    Good to hear you got it all figured out.

    Im in Arlington by the way. Honk if you ever drive by my truck.
     
  9. Mar 11, 2013 at 9:32 AM
    #9
    RocktheRed

    RocktheRed [OP] Guest

    That's awesome, definitely will!
     
To Top