1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

help! tacoma wont start!

Discussion in 'Technical Chat' started by speed, Oct 24, 2009.

  1. Oct 24, 2009 at 4:10 PM
    #1
    speed

    speed [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Member:
    #24842
    Messages:
    11
    Gender:
    Male
    I was hooking up some exterior lights today and was using a test light to test power in the dash fuse box. I was testing the 7.5amp fuse that is listed as IGN and initially the test light lit up....then it sparked. Now i dont have any power across the 7.5 amp fuse at all.

    And because of this...my truck turns over but will not start. I have checked all the fuses in the dash box as well as in the engine fuse box....all are good.


    PLEASE HELP!!
     
  2. Oct 24, 2009 at 4:17 PM
    #2
    chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6497
    Messages:
    106,151
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    FlimFlubberJAM
    Tenoe, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rubicon Unlimited,
    4.10 gears, sliders, and lots of buttons.
    Welcome to TW!.

    There has to be a fuse you missed. Check the ALT fuse, and the EFI fuse.
     
  3. Oct 24, 2009 at 4:20 PM
    #3
    speed

    speed [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Member:
    #24842
    Messages:
    11
    Gender:
    Male
    ill go check them again...i am asumming it will be something in the engine fuse box .....?

    btw it is a 1999 tacoma 4 x 4 v-6
     
  4. Oct 24, 2009 at 4:21 PM
    #4
    chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6497
    Messages:
    106,151
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    FlimFlubberJAM
    Tenoe, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rubicon Unlimited,
    4.10 gears, sliders, and lots of buttons.
    Yes.
     
  5. Oct 24, 2009 at 4:22 PM
    #5
    chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6497
    Messages:
    106,151
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    FlimFlubberJAM
    Tenoe, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rubicon Unlimited,
    4.10 gears, sliders, and lots of buttons.
    Also...Being as there was a spark of some sort, check for burnt thru wires.
     
  6. Oct 24, 2009 at 4:22 PM
    #6
    speed

    speed [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Member:
    #24842
    Messages:
    11
    Gender:
    Male
    i checked the back of the fuse block and no burnt wires.....
     
  7. Oct 24, 2009 at 4:29 PM
    #7
    speed

    speed [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Member:
    #24842
    Messages:
    11
    Gender:
    Male
    ok rechecked the fuses and the 80A ALT fuse is blown.....how do i get it out?
     
  8. Oct 24, 2009 at 4:32 PM
    #8
    chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6497
    Messages:
    106,151
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    FlimFlubberJAM
    Tenoe, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rubicon Unlimited,
    4.10 gears, sliders, and lots of buttons.
    What year, engine, and drive configuration is your truck?
     
  9. Oct 24, 2009 at 4:51 PM
    #9
    speed

    speed [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Member:
    #24842
    Messages:
    11
    Gender:
    Male
    ok....got it out...what a joke...had to take whole fuse block apart to get to the two screws holding it in!!!
     
  10. Oct 24, 2009 at 4:51 PM
    #10
    chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6497
    Messages:
    106,151
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    FlimFlubberJAM
    Tenoe, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rubicon Unlimited,
    4.10 gears, sliders, and lots of buttons.
    Yeppo! Good to hear you got it. :)
     
  11. Oct 24, 2009 at 4:52 PM
    #11
    speed

    speed [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Member:
    #24842
    Messages:
    11
    Gender:
    Male
    what is the 80A ALT fuse for?
     
  12. Oct 24, 2009 at 4:53 PM
    #12
    chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6497
    Messages:
    106,151
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    FlimFlubberJAM
    Tenoe, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rubicon Unlimited,
    4.10 gears, sliders, and lots of buttons.
    Pretty much for the whole truck. It prevents damage from happening to the Alternator, and the ECU, etc...
     
  13. Oct 24, 2009 at 4:55 PM
    #13
    gupster88

    gupster88 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Member:
    #16692
    Messages:
    3,791
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brett
    Almost Heaven
    Vehicle:
    '17 Inferno DCSB O/R
    STOCK 4 NOW
    glad you got it fixed...is there anything you dont know about these trucks chris?
     
  14. Oct 24, 2009 at 4:55 PM
    #14
    speed

    speed [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Member:
    #24842
    Messages:
    11
    Gender:
    Male
    hmm are they expensive? 80a?? and what would have caused it (something that big) to blow?
     
  15. Oct 24, 2009 at 5:02 PM
    #15
    chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6497
    Messages:
    106,151
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    FlimFlubberJAM
    Tenoe, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rubicon Unlimited,
    4.10 gears, sliders, and lots of buttons.
    Lots of things can blow it. Be glad you blew it and not the ECU.
     
  16. Oct 24, 2009 at 5:02 PM
    #16
    chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6497
    Messages:
    106,151
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    FlimFlubberJAM
    Tenoe, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rubicon Unlimited,
    4.10 gears, sliders, and lots of buttons.
    LOL...I dont know stereo stuff, and AC's. :eek:
     
  17. Oct 24, 2009 at 5:04 PM
    #17
    ColtsTRD

    ColtsTRD .....

    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    Member:
    #17177
    Messages:
    17,826
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Scott
    AZ
    Vehicle:
    2005 TRD DCSB
    Dude, I honestly don't think so :laugh:
     
  18. Oct 25, 2009 at 12:55 PM
    #18
    speed

    speed [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Member:
    #24842
    Messages:
    11
    Gender:
    Male
    i bought the new 80A fuse for $8 installed it and still wont start! i was like WTF????

    then i noticed very vaguely that the AM2 30A fuse is blown too! GOD!

    now i have to run out and get one of those too.

    apparently the 30A am2 fuse runs injectors and such
     
  19. Oct 25, 2009 at 1:30 PM
    #19
    speed

    speed [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Member:
    #24842
    Messages:
    11
    Gender:
    Male
    OMG! it's ALIVE!!

    thanks for everyones help!!
     
  20. Oct 25, 2009 at 1:57 PM
    #20
    chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6497
    Messages:
    106,151
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    FlimFlubberJAM
    Tenoe, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rubicon Unlimited,
    4.10 gears, sliders, and lots of buttons.
    Yeah, I forgot to mention if the ALT fuse blowes, the AM2 fuse is usually a gonner too. :eek: Glad you got it fixed. :)
     
To Top