1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

help..? wiring the 3rd light on cap..?

Discussion in 'Lighting' started by sapper110, Aug 4, 2012.

1. Aug 4, 2012 at 6:46 AM
    sapper110

sapper110 [OP] New Member

Member:
    Eastern Canada
    Ok...I am very new to Tacoma and to top it off not much of an electrical guy. First the set up...I am running a 2011 Tacoma with the 2.7 l, 4 cyl engine. I just bought a second hand Leer cap. Now I want to wire the 3rd brake light thats in the back of the cap (above the door). Which wires do I need to tap from the brake light assembly..? The cap also has a white cargo light in it. I would also like to tap a wire to power that as well but my my main concern is the 3rd brake light for now.

Anyone help..?

Thanks

2. Aug 4, 2012 at 8:04 AM
    sapper110

Member:
    Eastern Canada
    I would post a picture of the three wires running into the brake light on the tail light assembly, but I havent figured out how to do that yet.

Anyway the 3 wires are colored green, green with red stripe and white with black stripe. which ones do I cut and which one goes to the red and black of the 3rd brake light.?

3. Aug 4, 2012 at 8:50 AM
    joes06tacoma

joes06tacoma Well-Known Member

Member:
    First Name:
    Joe
    Central Coast, CA
    Vehicle:
    06 4x4 Off Road Access Cab v6 6spd
    LEER Shell with dome lights operated with 3 way switches, aux backup lights with relay and 3 position switch, modified wiring to compass/temp display and clock to include switch that disables dimming function (poor man's DRL solution), Scan Gauge 2