1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Help with cell phone

Discussion in 'Off-Topic Discussion' started by dommo, Jun 10, 2012.

  1. dommo

    dommo [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    Member:
    #69915
    Messages:
    92
    Gender:
    Male
    Georgia
    Vehicle:
    11 PreRunner TRD
    Ok, I am DUMB when it comes to cell phones, so I thought someone on here might be able to help me out...

    I have an HTC Evo 4G through Sprint, and I've been having some issues. The internet functions perfectly, and it shows 5 bars of signal, while I'm sitting at home, but it wont let me make or recieve calls or text messages. When I try to call, it gives me the "network busy" message and a busy tone, and for texts...not really sure, sometimes it says they went through, but they take hours to get to whoever I texted, if at all, or it says something about "Radio Signal Interference"(or something like that, can't remember, and now it's making me look like a liar and not doing it, lol. I will write it down next time).

    I looked up the error message online, it said I had to "update the phone profile", so I did. That didnt change anything. I tried shutting it off and restarting it. Nothing. But while I was on my way to the Sprint store, which I found out was closed, it worked just fine. Literally, 5 minutes down the road from my house I can send and recieve calls and messages. As of yesterday, I got full signal at home...I called Sprint, they said they had no reported outtages or towers down in my area.

    Anyone have any ideas? Or do I have to go firebomb the Sprint store?!? Lol.

    Seriously, someone smart please help me out

    EDIT: ok, the message when I try to text says "Radio Interface Resource Shortage". Dunno if that helps anything or not.

    Thanks
     
  2. chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. Thor

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6497
    Messages:
    103,633
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    FlimFlubberJAM
    Tenoe, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rubicon Unlimited,
    4.10 gears, sliders, lots of buttons, and yellow flashing lights on the dash.
    Does it do this when you are connected to WIFi?
     
  3. dommo

    dommo [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    Member:
    #69915
    Messages:
    92
    Gender:
    Male
    Georgia
    Vehicle:
    11 PreRunner TRD
    Not sure, let me try...

    EDIT: yes, does it while connected to wifi also. Kind of an update, well, really just more confusing...I keep trying to make a call and it will go through maybe 1 out of every 10-15 times. Like I said, I had no issues when I left the house, but that has never happened before?? Usually I get perfectly fine service at my house.
     
  4. tuckdaddy

    tuckdaddy Get a bite hippies

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    Member:
    #59211
    Messages:
    805
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tucker
    Boerne, McQueeney, Texas
    Vehicle:
    2010 Black Sand Pearl TRD Off-Road 4x4 DCSB
    -265/75/16 BFG KM2 tires -Hard Wired Radar Detector -Diff Breather Mod -Mag Lite Holder -CBI Moab 2.0 Front Bumper -Warn M8000 winch
    ive had the same issue with my evo 3d on sprint and everytime i go into the store and tell them whats wrong, the techs say everything is perfect and functioning. i do know when you have the data set to push instead of refresh in intervals that does play a role on the messages and phone calls. if you go into settings>phone>and turn of the ddtm it will help how much i cant really say but recieving or sending messages is more consistent now that ive turned that off. if anyone knows anything more im sure the op and i would apperciate is as im not pleased with my evo or sprint whatsoever.

    Hope that helps! sprint also told me applications can botch the way texts and calls are sent/recieved...
     
  5. chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. Thor

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6497
    Messages:
    103,633
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    FlimFlubberJAM
    Tenoe, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rubicon Unlimited,
    4.10 gears, sliders, lots of buttons, and yellow flashing lights on the dash.
    Pull the battery for a few mins., then re insert it, and let it re boot. See if that helps.
     
  6. MUDFISH

    MUDFISH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Member:
    #15465
    Messages:
    535
    Gender:
    Male
    Syracuse
    Vehicle:
    12 Double Cab SR5
  7. dommo

    dommo [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    Member:
    #69915
    Messages:
    92
    Gender:
    Male
    Georgia
    Vehicle:
    11 PreRunner TRD
    Chris...I tried that, several times in fact. But, for lack of better choices, I will try again.

    Truckdaddy...ok, let me give whatever you just said a shot, lol. Like I said: me+cell phones=wtf?!? Hang on a sec here...
     
  8. dommo

    dommo [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    Member:
    #69915
    Messages:
    92
    Gender:
    Male
    Georgia
    Vehicle:
    11 PreRunner TRD
    Ok, I'm dumb...can't find anything about ddtm in settings??? where should I find this?

    And mudfish, thanks, I will check that link out.
     
  9. dommo

    dommo [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    Member:
    #69915
    Messages:
    92
    Gender:
    Male
    Georgia
    Vehicle:
    11 PreRunner TRD
    Ok, just did a hard reset, or whatever it's called. Nothing, still getting "network busy" message. WTF? I mean, it's been raining, maybe that has some influence, I guess. But like I said, I was able to make and recieve calls just down the street, in similar weather. AArgh...ok, back to plan b...firebomb Sprint, and commence an epic ass-kicking spree when they open tomorrow!!

    What confuses me is that the internet connection is working just fine??

    The kicker? Not that it's an emergancy, but my wife drove up to visit her family in Indiana yesterday...I would like to make sure she got there ok, ya know? And better yet, the account is in her name, it was a pain just getting the customer service lady at Sprint when I called to even talk to me since I dont know off hand what street she lived on, her mom's shoe size, or whatever other ridiculous security questions they asked. Lol. FML.
     
  10. dommo

    dommo [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    Member:
    #69915
    Messages:
    92
    Gender:
    Male
    Georgia
    Vehicle:
    11 PreRunner TRD
    New subject: I'm ditching cell phones, and going back to carrier pidgeon for all communications. Anybody want to buy a used HTC Evo 4g?!? Lol
     
  11. wrxRome

    wrxRome Houston's Swamp Rat

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    Member:
    #62338
    Messages:
    5,915
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brandon
    Covington, LA/Friendswood,TX
    Vehicle:
    06 SWB 4x4 trd off road
    you have sprint,

    /thread :laugh: just kidding man..

    but if factory reset won't work then take it back to sprint (good luck with that, i left them because of HORRIBLE customer service)
     
  12. dommo

    dommo [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    Member:
    #69915
    Messages:
    92
    Gender:
    Male
    Georgia
    Vehicle:
    11 PreRunner TRD
    Yeah, that fact isnt lost on me, lol.

    I actually am reasonably happy with sprint in general, I dunno whats up with this phone, but I won't be able to get anything fixed till at least tomorrow. Now, if you'll all excuse me...I need to go drive 10mins down the road so I can call somebody, lol.

    Thanks anyways for everybodies help.
     
To Top