1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Help with ScanGauge II. Blue screen of death!!!

Discussion in '4 Cylinder' started by wolfgang123, Dec 26, 2009.

  1. Dec 26, 2009 at 12:06 AM
    #1
    wolfgang123

    wolfgang123 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Member:
    #19369
    Messages:
    1,426
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Skyler
    Statesboro, GA
    Vehicle:
    1997 TACOMA - 4x4
    Ok so the blue screen of death might be happening (I just made that up by the way), but none the less Saint Nick brought me a ScanGauge II. I hooked it up to my 1997 Tacoma (took 3 seconds) and I turn the truck on and can’t get anything but a blank blue screen. No words of any kind ever pop up. I tried unplugging, pushing buttons, driving, nothing got it to turn on but the backlight is on. So I have no idea what to do? Send it back?
     
  2. Dec 26, 2009 at 12:54 AM
    #2
    RelentlessFab

    RelentlessFab Tacoma offroad armor fabricating beast Vendor

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Member:
    #4772
    Messages:
    14,194
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Eric
    Eastern side of the Sierras: Sparks, NV
    Vehicle:
    07 SR5 4x4> 03 SR5 4x4 total> 14 Crewmax TRD
    Had tons on the old Taco's.... new Tundra is pretty stock
    strange... maybe try hooking it up to another car/truck to diagnose whether its an issue with the scan gauge, or your trucks OBD2 port or something??? Oh, and you know the key has to be in the ON position on the truck, right?
     
  3. Dec 26, 2009 at 1:47 AM
    #3
    SkyHighTacoma

    SkyHighTacoma Josh

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2009
    Member:
    #21054
    Messages:
    1,292
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Josh
    Brazoria County Texas
    Vehicle:
    15 DCSB SR5 MGM
    When installing the scangauge? :confused:
     
  4. Dec 26, 2009 at 1:57 AM
    #4
    RelentlessFab

    RelentlessFab Tacoma offroad armor fabricating beast Vendor

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Member:
    #4772
    Messages:
    14,194
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Eric
    Eastern side of the Sierras: Sparks, NV
    Vehicle:
    07 SR5 4x4> 03 SR5 4x4 total> 14 Crewmax TRD
    Had tons on the old Taco's.... new Tundra is pretty stock
    yeah, the SG has to pick up a signal from the port in order for it to "connect" with the truck. :cool:
     
  5. Dec 26, 2009 at 2:09 AM
    #5
    SkyHighTacoma

    SkyHighTacoma Josh

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2009
    Member:
    #21054
    Messages:
    1,292
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Josh
    Brazoria County Texas
    Vehicle:
    15 DCSB SR5 MGM
    Got it! Thanks cause after I buy my new tires I will be buy a scangauge 2 and did not know that. :D
     
  6. Dec 26, 2009 at 6:48 AM
    #6
    wolfgang123

    wolfgang123 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Member:
    #19369
    Messages:
    1,426
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Skyler
    Statesboro, GA
    Vehicle:
    1997 TACOMA - 4x4
    ohh i didnt know it had to be turned on to connect it. I thought i could just plug in and THEN turn on.. i will go try that.

    thanks
     
  7. Dec 26, 2009 at 7:10 AM
    #7
    dmac11

    dmac11 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2009
    Member:
    #16245
    Messages:
    123
    Gender:
    Male
    CT
    Vehicle:
    '06 2x4 AC
    Upgraded Head Unit w/Aux jack : De-Badged : Black Emblem : x-runner Rims : Seat Covers : Optima Battery : AC Inverter (aftermarket) : Full time 12v : Weather Tech Front Mats : Scanguage
    I believe you can just turn it on, you would push the button in the red circle.
     
  8. Dec 26, 2009 at 9:10 AM
    #8
    BG04Taco

    BG04Taco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Member:
    #25292
    Messages:
    200
    Gender:
    Male
    Edmond, OKLA
    Vehicle:
    04 2.7 SR5 4X4
    ARE Camper, JL Audio, Line-X, Yakima roof rack, odyssey 1500, red line hood struts
    Where do you get the scanguage? online only?
     
  9. Dec 26, 2009 at 11:40 AM
    #9
    wolfgang123

    wolfgang123 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Member:
    #19369
    Messages:
    1,426
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Skyler
    Statesboro, GA
    Vehicle:
    1997 TACOMA - 4x4
    ok i tried unplugging it from the port turning on the truck (motor running) plugging it in and nothing. i bought it from the scangauge website, i just send them an email as they are closed on weekends.
     
  10. Dec 26, 2009 at 11:46 AM
    #10
    RelentlessFab

    RelentlessFab Tacoma offroad armor fabricating beast Vendor

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Member:
    #4772
    Messages:
    14,194
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Eric
    Eastern side of the Sierras: Sparks, NV
    Vehicle:
    07 SR5 4x4> 03 SR5 4x4 total> 14 Crewmax TRD
    Had tons on the old Taco's.... new Tundra is pretty stock
    hmm, strange. Maybe try plugging it into another car with an OBD2 as I mentioned before, then if it doesnt work you know its the unit that is malfunctioning.
     
  11. Dec 26, 2009 at 11:52 AM
    #11
    Taco.Tim

    Taco.Tim Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Member:
    #28109
    Messages:
    210
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tim
    Georgia
    Vehicle:
    2010 Buhlue Access Cab 2WD
    Looking!

    Also, I was looking at the AutoZone website, and it said you can get one from AutoZone, part number SG2. I am assuming that means you can go to one of their stores to get it. Was $149 a couple of weeks ago, but I usually see it for $159. Want one too, but have to wait to pay my insurance bill first.

    Tim Glover
     
  12. Dec 28, 2009 at 3:11 PM
    #12
    wolfgang123

    wolfgang123 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Member:
    #19369
    Messages:
    1,426
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Skyler
    Statesboro, GA
    Vehicle:
    1997 TACOMA - 4x4
    just got off the phone with scangauge peps. they are sending me a new one free of charge and their also paying for the return shipping on the unit i have now. :)
     
  13. Dec 28, 2009 at 5:29 PM
    #13
    neslerrah

    neslerrah Taco lovin'

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    Member:
    #4803
    Messages:
    6,743
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Harrelsen
    Tucson
    Vehicle:
    5 lug BEAST!
    Secondary air filter removed, elbow mod, BFG T/A KO (31x10.5R15), 15" American Racing Mojaves, BHLM, Dome Light MOD (Blue), Pioneer headunit, Sockmonkey 'TACOMA' Decals, Readylift 5-lug SST, Rear Shocks - Bilstein TRD, Dynomax Super Turbo #17748, DDM Slim Ballast HID Kit H4 Hi/Lo -35W 6000K in headlights, Apexcone Raptor HID Kit H3 - 35W 6000K in Hella 500s, aFe CAI #51-10762, WeatherTech Floorliner, 200W Smart AC Inverter
    Glad SG is able to take care of you and send you a new one.
     
To Top