1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Help with stereo install

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by Fiend13, May 26, 2015.

  1. May 26, 2015 at 4:15 PM
    #1
    Fiend13

    Fiend13 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Member:
    #81853
    Messages:
    4,717
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chad
    Waddell/Phoenix area
    Vehicle:
    08 TRD O/R DC Prerunner
    I ordered a pioneer avh-1700s alongwith the axxess jbl amp interface and a metra steering wheel control harness. Now that I see it all in person I feel I may be in over my head. I've installed a single din unit years ago in an old vehicle but that's it. Everyone said this was no different. So, my question is, do I wire the factory wires into the amp interface and then the amp interface into the harness that comes with the stereo? Also, the instructions for the steering wheel harness said I need an adapter for it to work when I was told by other members that I wouldn't need it. It's the metra turbowire harness part # 70-8114. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!
     
  2. May 26, 2015 at 4:20 PM
    #2
    medic2230

    medic2230 @Koditten Pirate Radio member #002

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Member:
    #9942
    Messages:
    61,811
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Murph
    Bama! Roll Tide
    Vehicle:
    2011 Taco 4x4 DCLB 2019 TRD PRO 4runner
    20% Tint, OME 3"complete lift with Dakar's, Light Racing UCA's, 285/75/16 Nitto Terra Grapplers, 10 HP TW sticker, Ultraguage, B.A.M.F. Rock Sliders, MedicFab Bed Rack, Relentless front bumper, Air Flow Snorkel, Ham comms, Tech Deck
    Amp interface should go between the truck wiring and the new HU. The one I used in the runner used the preouts from the HU instead of the line outs.

    I never got the steering wheel controls so I can't help you there.
     
  3. May 26, 2015 at 4:25 PM
    #3
    Fiend13

    Fiend13 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Member:
    #81853
    Messages:
    4,717
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chad
    Waddell/Phoenix area
    Vehicle:
    08 TRD O/R DC Prerunner
    Ok, thanks. Just wanted to make sure I had the interface right. So like I though, stereo harness>interface>factory wiring.
     
  4. May 26, 2015 at 4:28 PM
    #4
    medic2230

    medic2230 @Koditten Pirate Radio member #002

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Member:
    #9942
    Messages:
    61,811
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Murph
    Bama! Roll Tide
    Vehicle:
    2011 Taco 4x4 DCLB 2019 TRD PRO 4runner
    20% Tint, OME 3"complete lift with Dakar's, Light Racing UCA's, 285/75/16 Nitto Terra Grapplers, 10 HP TW sticker, Ultraguage, B.A.M.F. Rock Sliders, MedicFab Bed Rack, Relentless front bumper, Air Flow Snorkel, Ham comms, Tech Deck
    Yeah. Does it have the RCA's to hook the new HU to or does it use the speaker wires?
     
  5. May 26, 2015 at 4:38 PM
    #5
    Fiend13

    Fiend13 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Member:
    #81853
    Messages:
    4,717
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chad
    Waddell/Phoenix area
    Vehicle:
    08 TRD O/R DC Prerunner
    No RCA's. All wiring. The HU has RCA inputs though.
     
  6. May 26, 2015 at 5:17 PM
    #6
    medic2230

    medic2230 @Koditten Pirate Radio member #002

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Member:
    #9942
    Messages:
    61,811
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Murph
    Bama! Roll Tide
    Vehicle:
    2011 Taco 4x4 DCLB 2019 TRD PRO 4runner
    20% Tint, OME 3"complete lift with Dakar's, Light Racing UCA's, 285/75/16 Nitto Terra Grapplers, 10 HP TW sticker, Ultraguage, B.A.M.F. Rock Sliders, MedicFab Bed Rack, Relentless front bumper, Air Flow Snorkel, Ham comms, Tech Deck
    Gotcha. The one for the runner used RCA's to interface with the JBL. Don't know if the taco's are the same with needing a digital signal to turn the factory amp on. My (4Runner) adapter switched everything to digital.
     
  7. May 26, 2015 at 5:23 PM
    #7
    Fiend13

    Fiend13 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Member:
    #81853
    Messages:
    4,717
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chad
    Waddell/Phoenix area
    Vehicle:
    08 TRD O/R DC Prerunner
    Gotcha. The interface I have isn't digital but it has a USB slot for updates if it ever needs it. There is a wire in the harness for powering on the amp.
     

Products Discussed in

To Top