1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Hollister Hills OHV

Discussion in 'Northern California' started by ian408, Feb 15, 2011.

  1. ian408

    ian408 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Member:
    #25619
    Messages:
    10,616
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ian
    Santa Clara, CA
    Vehicle:
    09 Tacoma
    3" lift, custom rims, snug top shell, shrockworks bumper, warn winch.
    Not sure where this should go but if you're a Californian, you should be concerned about what state legislators are considering with OHV funds.

    There are a couple of threads on South Bay Riders with an overview and some contact info. You can find one of them here.

    The short version is that the legislature is planning to "borrow" funds from the OHV fund to pay for a variety of state parks, rangers to patrol closed parks and other general fund items.

    Why should you care? You should care because there is a possibility this will affect our access to Hollister Hills. Either because there is no funding for trail maintenance or because the lack of funds forces closure of the park.

    Please take a moment to visit that thread and to write a letter--if you're not sure what to say, use one of the examples.

    TIA
     
  2. MJonAgs32

    MJonAgs32 asphinctersayswhat?

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Member:
    #15949
    Messages:
    9,146
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    MJ
    Union City, CA (SF Bay Area)
    Vehicle:
    07 Mid-Travel 4x4 DCSB 6spd
    check out my build
    whoa that blows. i'll do my part :)
     
  3. ian408

    ian408 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Member:
    #25619
    Messages:
    10,616
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ian
    Santa Clara, CA
    Vehicle:
    09 Tacoma
    3" lift, custom rims, snug top shell, shrockworks bumper, warn winch.
    Thanks MJ!
     
  4. ktmrider

    ktmrider Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Member:
    #19933
    Messages:
    5,104
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    07 DCLB 4x4 Sport S/C
    Junk
    Yeah they did that a while back too, the OHV parks have so much money from the green sticker funds everybody wants a piece of it. The way I heard it, Im not sure if this is the complete story, but it was the fish and game department last time and they only finished paying back a few years ago without interest
     
  5. ian408

    ian408 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Member:
    #25619
    Messages:
    10,616
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ian
    Santa Clara, CA
    Vehicle:
    09 Tacoma
    3" lift, custom rims, snug top shell, shrockworks bumper, warn winch.
    There's a clause that allows them to borrow and take two years to pay back.

    The thing that pisses me off is Brown is a huge fan of robbing Peter to pay Paul. He's done it before and he'll do it again.

    The reality is that the state cannot afford to keep spending and financing their spending they way they do. They need to start making sure these programs pay for themselves (or very nearly so).

     
  6. w3tw0rks

    w3tw0rks Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Member:
    #28531
    Messages:
    411
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Alvin
    San Jose, CA
    Vehicle:
    04 Xtracab 4x4
    I sent a personally written email to the members below this morning. I hope it wasn't too late since I believe they are meeting again today. Out of these 27 members I received 8 auto replies to submit via their website. Of those 8 I was only able to submit to 2 members since the other 6 were not in my district. I sure hope others have emailed or submitted comments on their websites. If you haven't I encourage that you do.

    Thank you ian408 for bringing this to our attention. More info can be found here: http://www.southbayriders.com/forums/showthread.php?t=105976

    Assemblymember.Blumenfield@assembly.ca.gov;
    Assemblymember.Nielsen@assembly.ca.gov;
    Assemblymember.Alejo@assembly.ca.gov;
    Assemblymember.Allen@assembly.ca.gov;
    Assemblymember.Bill.Berryhill@assembly.ca.gov;
    Assemblymember.Bonilla@assembly.ca.gov;
    Assemblymember.Brownley@assembly.ca.gov;
    Assemblymember.Buchanan@assembly.ca.gov;
    Assemblymember.Butler@assembly.ca.gov;
    Assemblymember.Cedillo@assembly.ca.gov;
    Assemblymember.Chesbro@assembly.ca.gov;
    Assemblymember.Dickinson@assembly.ca.gov;
    Assemblymember.Feuer@assembly.ca.gov;
    Assemblymember.Gordon@assembly.ca.gov;
    Assemblymember.Harkey@assembly.ca.gov;
    Assemblymember.Huffman@assembly.ca.gov;
    Assemblymember.Jeffries@assembly.ca.gov;
    Assemblymember.Jones@assembly.ca.gov;
    Assemblymember.Logue@assembly.ca.gov;
    Assemblymember.Mansoor@assembly.ca.gov;
    Assemblymember.Mitchell@assembly.ca.gov;
    Assemblymember.Monning@assembly.ca.gov;
    Assemblymember.Morrell@assembly.ca.gov;
    Assemblymember.Nestande@assembly.ca.gov;
    Assemblymember.Swanson@assembly.ca.gov;
    Assemblymember.Valadao@assembly.ca.gov;
    Assemblymember.Wagner@assembly.ca.gov
     
  7. ian408

    ian408 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Member:
    #25619
    Messages:
    10,616
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ian
    Santa Clara, CA
    Vehicle:
    09 Tacoma
    3" lift, custom rims, snug top shell, shrockworks bumper, warn winch.
    What I find repulsive is that these members are involved with budgeting and they will not accept email outside of their own districts. I'd be willing to bet there are two or three that really care and the rest don't give rats ass.
     
To Top