1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Homelink Mod to turn off with key

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by Mav44, Feb 8, 2012.

  1. Feb 8, 2012 at 5:08 PM
    #1
    Mav44

    Mav44 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Member:
    #66369
    Messages:
    50
    Gender:
    Male
    Does anyone know of an easy mod to turn the homelink system off when the key is out? I would hate to have someone break into my truck but things could go really bad if they hit the homelink and had access to everything in the garage. I cannot believe the button still works with the key out.
     
  2. Mar 30, 2012 at 3:45 PM
    #2
    Taco-NB

    Taco-NB MMMMM Taco's

    Joined:
    May 1, 2009
    Member:
    #16662
    Messages:
    1,744
    Gender:
    Male
    New Brunswick
    Vehicle:
    '09 4X4 SR5 Access Cab V6 - Black Sand Pearl
    Regular garage door openers work with the key out of the truck. No difference.
     
  3. Mar 30, 2012 at 4:17 PM
    #3
    brny67

    brny67 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Member:
    #27879
    Messages:
    1,557
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bill
    Moyock NC
    Vehicle:
    Saaaweet
    mine turns off when I turn my veh off, I will look at my instructions 2morrow and give u a heads up on how 2 do it
     
  4. Mar 30, 2012 at 4:47 PM
    #4
    Rich91710

    Rich91710 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Member:
    #73470
    Messages:
    16,404
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rich
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    08 Base
    Satoshi with FJ badge, factory cruise, factory intermittent wipers, Redline Tuning hood-lift struts, Hellwig Swaybar, Rosen DVD-Nav
    Ya, any factory system I've seen is hot 24/7.

    When I installed the homelink in my Silverado, I wired it to the overhead console lighting.
    It automatically powered down 15 minutes after shutting the engine off.
     
  5. Mar 31, 2012 at 8:28 AM
    #5
    LBS4

    LBS4 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2012
    Member:
    #71359
    Messages:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    LB
    Ocean City, MD
    Vehicle:
    Tacoma TRD Sport
    Bump - anyone have an answer on how to disable the Homelink when the ignition is off in my 2012?
    I'm going to the dealer for service late next week & I will ask but figured someone here would have a solution.
     
  6. Mar 31, 2012 at 11:30 AM
    #6
    Rich91710

    Rich91710 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Member:
    #73470
    Messages:
    16,404
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rich
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    08 Base
    Satoshi with FJ badge, factory cruise, factory intermittent wipers, Redline Tuning hood-lift struts, Hellwig Swaybar, Rosen DVD-Nav
    Dealer won't do such a modification... you'd have to find an independent shop to do it for you.
    But your answer is above.

    Find the "radio" fuse, install an "add-a-circuit" to tap power from there, run that wire to the overhead console, disconnect power from the Homelink and replace it with your new power lead.

    Nobody can be of any more help than that without being there.
     
  7. Mar 31, 2012 at 11:34 AM
    #7
    DEEVON911

    DEEVON911 Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Member:
    #35030
    Messages:
    14,934
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dave
    Bethel Park, PA. Burb of da Burgh.
    Vehicle:
    2010 MGM Mostly Stock Off-Road 4x4
    TRD Cat-back Exhaust. Semi-Debadged. Trimmed down stock Antenna. Weathertech vent visors. TRD FJ Cruiser Center Cap Wheel Mod. 265/75/16 Firestone Destination A/T,s . Inverter tapped into for outlet in cab. Tacomaworld sticker which adds 5 hp.
    I don't have Homelink, and not sure how it works, but if power was killed to it when truck was off, would it forget the signal that was programmed into it? Or is it set with the little switches such as a remote foe a garage door opener?
     
  8. Mar 31, 2012 at 11:40 AM
    #8
    Rich91710

    Rich91710 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Member:
    #73470
    Messages:
    16,404
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rich
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    08 Base
    Satoshi with FJ badge, factory cruise, factory intermittent wipers, Redline Tuning hood-lift struts, Hellwig Swaybar, Rosen DVD-Nav
    I installed Toyota units in my '03 Tundra, '04 Rav4, and '06 Silverado and the programming is apparently stored in NVRAM... I never had a problem with them losing memory when powered down or with the battery removed.
     
  9. Mar 31, 2012 at 11:44 AM
    #9
    DEEVON911

    DEEVON911 Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Member:
    #35030
    Messages:
    14,934
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dave
    Bethel Park, PA. Burb of da Burgh.
    Vehicle:
    2010 MGM Mostly Stock Off-Road 4x4
    TRD Cat-back Exhaust. Semi-Debadged. Trimmed down stock Antenna. Weathertech vent visors. TRD FJ Cruiser Center Cap Wheel Mod. 265/75/16 Firestone Destination A/T,s . Inverter tapped into for outlet in cab. Tacomaworld sticker which adds 5 hp.
    Got ya, thanks. Mmaybe some type of hidden kill switch would work out then
     
  10. Mar 31, 2012 at 11:58 AM
    #10
    joes06tacoma

    joes06tacoma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Member:
    #28588
    Messages:
    3,056
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Joe
    Central Coast, CA
    Vehicle:
    06 4x4 Off Road Access Cab v6 6spd
    LEER Shell with dome lights operated with 3 way switches, aux backup lights with relay and 3 position switch, modified wiring to compass/temp display and clock to include switch that disables dimming function (poor man's DRL solution), Scan Gauge 2
    Alternatively, install a relay inline with the existing power to the homelink unit. Then use the add a circuit to power the relay's coil. Same effect, but stays closer to factory that way.
     
  11. Mar 31, 2012 at 12:41 PM
    #11
    brny67

    brny67 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Member:
    #27879
    Messages:
    1,557
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bill
    Moyock NC
    Vehicle:
    Saaaweet
    if i remember correctly there is a constant hot and a hot with ignition on I hooked mine directly to the ignition on, do not remember which wire is which, will have to take the map lites down and check, will try to do this within a few days.
     
  12. Mar 31, 2012 at 2:55 PM
    #12
    Rich91710

    Rich91710 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Member:
    #73470
    Messages:
    16,404
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rich
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    08 Base
    Satoshi with FJ badge, factory cruise, factory intermittent wipers, Redline Tuning hood-lift struts, Hellwig Swaybar, Rosen DVD-Nav
    I strongly suspect that the Homelink is powered from the dome/map light hot... there's not likely to be a separate power feed for it from the kick panel.
    Might be a bit crowded up there to add a relay, and it would certainly get busy adding 2-4 more wires to control the relay when all that is needed is a single switched hot.

    When there are two or more options, take the simplest. Relays can fail. We already have enough of them, why add more? ;)
     
  13. Mar 31, 2012 at 11:26 PM
    #13
    joes06tacoma

    joes06tacoma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Member:
    #28588
    Messages:
    3,056
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Joe
    Central Coast, CA
    Vehicle:
    06 4x4 Off Road Access Cab v6 6spd
    LEER Shell with dome lights operated with 3 way switches, aux backup lights with relay and 3 position switch, modified wiring to compass/temp display and clock to include switch that disables dimming function (poor man's DRL solution), Scan Gauge 2
    Yeah, the relay is too much work if that's the way it's setup.
     
  14. Mar 13, 2013 at 4:30 PM
    #14
    bubba353z

    bubba353z Titles? We don't need no stinkin' titles.

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Member:
    #97538
    Messages:
    453
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Columbus, Oh
    Vehicle:
    12 TRD Sport AC 4x4
    Are there any updates to this? I was wondering if it would be possible to rewire the whole mirror to a switched power source.
     
To Top