1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Hooking up the idatalink maestro RR

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by DBeistel, Jul 9, 2017.

  1. Jul 9, 2017 at 12:52 PM
    #1
    DBeistel

    DBeistel [OP] Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2017
    Member:
    #218692
    Messages:
    23
    Gender:
    Male
    Holly Spring, NC
    Vehicle:
    2015 Toyota Tacoma DBL. Cab
    Has anyone used the maestro in their 2015 Tacomas. I removed my stereo today and there are extra wires that don't match the maestro TO1 harness. Also there is no connection for the back up camera, or am I missing something.

    A
     
  2. Jul 9, 2017 at 5:45 PM
    #2
    loginfailed

    loginfailed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2016
    Member:
    #195923
    Messages:
    5,007
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dwayne
    Houston, TX
    Vehicle:
    2014 DCSB 4WD
    I've got one in my 2014.

    Look at the install guide wiring guide, step two.

    IMG_4397.PNG.jpg
     
    Anderson likes this.
  3. Jul 9, 2017 at 6:32 PM
    #3
    DBeistel

    DBeistel [OP] Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2017
    Member:
    #218692
    Messages:
    23
    Gender:
    Male
    Holly Spring, NC
    Vehicle:
    2015 Toyota Tacoma DBL. Cab
    Dwayne,

    Did you have to splice into the factory wiring. I read step 2 and didn't help. I wire stuff every day and these install guides are almost useless. I have several connectors left over. The connectors from the radio to the hazard light module are left over, the Idatalink website makes it seem so simple.
     
  4. Jul 9, 2017 at 6:46 PM
    #4
    loginfailed

    loginfailed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2016
    Member:
    #195923
    Messages:
    5,007
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dwayne
    Houston, TX
    Vehicle:
    2014 DCSB 4WD
    I had to read over the wiring diagram several times before it made sense. There are a few connectors that may no be used depending on your application.

    I installed car audio professionally from 1994 to 2005. Even with that experience, this radio install was a bit of a head scratcher.

    See the part where I circled. On the right side it says "see wiring chart". There is no plug included for the camera portion. You have to tap into the truck's wire harness.

    Attached is a screen shot of the chart they are referring to.

    IMG_4398.jpg
     
    wi_taco likes this.
  5. Jul 9, 2017 at 6:52 PM
    #5
    loginfailed

    loginfailed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2016
    Member:
    #195923
    Messages:
    5,007
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dwayne
    Houston, TX
    Vehicle:
    2014 DCSB 4WD
  6. Jul 9, 2017 at 7:17 PM
    #6
    DBeistel

    DBeistel [OP] Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2017
    Member:
    #218692
    Messages:
    23
    Gender:
    Male
    Holly Spring, NC
    Vehicle:
    2015 Toyota Tacoma DBL. Cab
    Dwayne,

    I have that install guide and have read it several times also, I will look for the connector with the same wire colors. Thanks for the reply.
     
  7. Jul 15, 2017 at 12:22 PM
    #7
    garciav

    garciav Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2016
    Member:
    #184036
    Messages:
    381
    Gender:
    Male
    Houston, TX
    Vehicle:
    2013 Tacoma TRD Off-Road 6MT
    TRD Supercharged, King Suspension, URD Stg 3 clutch / Torque-U Flywheel /Fix-U Hydrobearing
    what advantages do you get with the idatalink maestro on the second gens ?
     
  8. Jul 15, 2017 at 2:42 PM
    #8
    DBeistel

    DBeistel [OP] Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2017
    Member:
    #218692
    Messages:
    23
    Gender:
    Male
    Holly Spring, NC
    Vehicle:
    2015 Toyota Tacoma DBL. Cab
    I used it to retain my steering wheel controls and factory mic. You can program the module for short press and long press for each steering wheel control button. A word of warning, the module doesn't recognize the parking brake or the reverse signal from some Tacoma's, at least mine.
     
  9. Jul 15, 2017 at 7:16 PM
    #9
    loginfailed

    loginfailed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2016
    Member:
    #195923
    Messages:
    5,007
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dwayne
    Houston, TX
    Vehicle:
    2014 DCSB 4WD
    Steering wheel controls

    Check engine light code reading and resetting

    OBD2 data gauge display such as IAT, coolant temp, trans temp, etc.

    TPMS pressures and tire temp

    Backup camera retention


    Worth it, IMO

    IMG_4433.jpg
    IMG_4432.jpg
     
  10. Jul 15, 2017 at 7:19 PM
    #10
    DBeistel

    DBeistel [OP] Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2017
    Member:
    #218692
    Messages:
    23
    Gender:
    Male
    Holly Spring, NC
    Vehicle:
    2015 Toyota Tacoma DBL. Cab
    Dwayne,

    Which Pioneer HU do you have in your truck, I have the AVH-X5800BHS no gauge input
     
    loginfailed likes this.
  11. Jul 15, 2017 at 7:21 PM
    #11
    loginfailed

    loginfailed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2016
    Member:
    #195923
    Messages:
    5,007
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dwayne
    Houston, TX
    Vehicle:
    2014 DCSB 4WD
    AVH-4201NEX
     
  12. Jul 15, 2017 at 7:23 PM
    #12
    DBeistel

    DBeistel [OP] Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2017
    Member:
    #218692
    Messages:
    23
    Gender:
    Male
    Holly Spring, NC
    Vehicle:
    2015 Toyota Tacoma DBL. Cab
    I should have done my homework and moved up to a NEX model for the gauges.
     
    loginfailed likes this.
  13. Jul 16, 2017 at 4:52 AM
    #13
    SigGuy

    SigGuy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2014
    Member:
    #139047
    Messages:
    423
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Sean
    Wilmington, Delaware
    Vehicle:
    2015 DC SR5
    ADS Coilovers & Camburg UCAs @ Front, Wheelers 5-leaf HD & 5100s @ Rear, Satoshi Grill, Pelfrybilt Rear Bumper, BAK Roll X, WeatherTech Floor Liners and Vent Visors, Wet Okole Covers, @mrmarv/Kenwood/HAT/Arc Audio system
    You were able to keep your factory mic? That's the only thing I couldn't get to work for me...
     
  14. Jul 16, 2017 at 5:14 AM
    #14
    loginfailed

    loginfailed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2016
    Member:
    #195923
    Messages:
    5,007
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dwayne
    Houston, TX
    Vehicle:
    2014 DCSB 4WD
    No, i ran the Pioneer one to the stock location.
     
    wi_taco and SigGuy like this.
  15. Jul 16, 2017 at 10:45 AM
    #15
    garciav

    garciav Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2016
    Member:
    #184036
    Messages:
    381
    Gender:
    Male
    Houston, TX
    Vehicle:
    2013 Tacoma TRD Off-Road 6MT
    TRD Supercharged, King Suspension, URD Stg 3 clutch / Torque-U Flywheel /Fix-U Hydrobearing

    Thanks for sharing. Is the data gauge display actually accurate ? this is on a 12-15 tacoma right ?
     
    loginfailed likes this.
  16. Jul 16, 2017 at 10:55 AM
    #16
    loginfailed

    loginfailed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2016
    Member:
    #195923
    Messages:
    5,007
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dwayne
    Houston, TX
    Vehicle:
    2014 DCSB 4WD
    The data display is just as accurate as any OBD2 reader. I have the UltraGauge and I removed the UltraGuage and no longer use it because the radio displays enough data for my needs, and it is larger and easier to read.

    Yes mine is a 2014.
     
    wi_taco likes this.
  17. Jul 16, 2017 at 12:48 PM
    #17
    garciav

    garciav Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2016
    Member:
    #184036
    Messages:
    381
    Gender:
    Male
    Houston, TX
    Vehicle:
    2013 Tacoma TRD Off-Road 6MT
    TRD Supercharged, King Suspension, URD Stg 3 clutch / Torque-U Flywheel /Fix-U Hydrobearing
    Thanks for the input... looks like i'll go this route to retrain factory accessories when installing my DDX9903s
     
    loginfailed likes this.
  18. Jul 16, 2017 at 2:21 PM
    #18
    garciav

    garciav Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2016
    Member:
    #184036
    Messages:
    381
    Gender:
    Male
    Houston, TX
    Vehicle:
    2013 Tacoma TRD Off-Road 6MT
    TRD Supercharged, King Suspension, URD Stg 3 clutch / Torque-U Flywheel /Fix-U Hydrobearing
    Another question, with the idatalink maestro, can you have the option to display the back-up camera in the head unit as opposed to on the rearview mirror ?
     
  19. Jul 16, 2017 at 2:56 PM
    #19
    loginfailed

    loginfailed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2016
    Member:
    #195923
    Messages:
    5,007
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dwayne
    Houston, TX
    Vehicle:
    2014 DCSB 4WD
    My backup camera was already in the radio, so on that question I can't really say. I would think that it may be possible but its probably one of those things that aren't supported by iDatalink. You'd probably have to do a little rigging to get it to work.
     
    wi_taco likes this.
  20. Jul 30, 2017 at 9:42 AM
    #20
    garciav

    garciav Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2016
    Member:
    #184036
    Messages:
    381
    Gender:
    Male
    Houston, TX
    Vehicle:
    2013 Tacoma TRD Off-Road 6MT
    TRD Supercharged, King Suspension, URD Stg 3 clutch / Torque-U Flywheel /Fix-U Hydrobearing
    I'm finally getting to hooking this up.. did you have any issues getting the factory microphone to work? It's the only thing I have left I can't figure out.

    If I plug in the aftermarket kenwood mic everything works right (siri, etc) but with the maestro audio input I get no voice recognition
     

Products Discussed in

To Top