1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

How best to mount toolbox?

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by LS1Steve, Oct 29, 2009.

  1. Oct 29, 2009 at 7:57 PM
    #1
    LS1Steve

    LS1Steve [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    Member:
    #19865
    Messages:
    50
    Gender:
    Male
    I've got a UWS Chest Wedge Box on the way, so it is flush with the top of the bed (doesn't sit on the bed rails).

    I can't see any other way to mount it other than drilling into the bed. I'll have some valuables in it so it has to be secure.
     
  2. Oct 29, 2009 at 7:58 PM
    #2
    chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6497
    Messages:
    106,121
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    FlimFlubberJAM
    Tenoe, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rubicon Unlimited,
    4.10 gears, sliders, and lots of buttons.
    Thats how I mounted my last Flush mount tool box. Drilled 4 holes thru the bed and into the frame. Rock solid.
     
  3. Oct 29, 2009 at 7:58 PM
    #3
    chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6497
    Messages:
    106,121
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    FlimFlubberJAM
    Tenoe, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rubicon Unlimited,
    4.10 gears, sliders, and lots of buttons.
    Just BE CARFUL to not drill thru anything under the bed. Go under and drill pilot holes first.
     
  4. Oct 29, 2009 at 8:13 PM
    #4
    LS1Steve

    LS1Steve [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    Member:
    #19865
    Messages:
    50
    Gender:
    Male
    Did you seal it with anything? I'd imagine getting water trapped under the bedliner wouldn't be too good...

    I'm thinkin four 1/2 inch carriage bolts poking up into the bed with a buttload of silicone, then some wingnuts to hold the box to them.
     
  5. Oct 29, 2009 at 8:16 PM
    #5
    chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6497
    Messages:
    106,121
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    FlimFlubberJAM
    Tenoe, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rubicon Unlimited,
    4.10 gears, sliders, and lots of buttons.
    I didnt use any sealant. Not many water issues out here.
     
  6. Oct 29, 2009 at 8:17 PM
    #6
    Anathollo

    Anathollo www.saveadane.org

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Member:
    #14071
    Messages:
    1,295
    Gender:
    Male
    Houston
    Vehicle:
    07 Tacoma TRD Sport
    Icon coilovers, Rear Fox Resi-shocks, 285/70/17 Toyo A/T's, Touchscreen JVC Headunit, Custom Rhino-lined sub box, Rocksford Fosgate components and Dual Rockford Fosgate 10" shallow subs, Pioneer and Rocksford Fosgate amps, 1250 watts total, Autometer Volt and Trans gauges with Lotek A-pillar, K&N Drop-in filter, WO Seat covers, Tint, NST WP pulley, Hi-lift jack, Diff breather mod, horn relocation mod, extra "D" rings, de-pinstriped, carrier bearing drop, Rear backup 886 bulbs, Camburg UCA's, AMW Catch can, BHLM, OME Dakars with AAL, Procomp 7089's, Front single hoop Demello bumper, Superwinch Tiger Shark 9500, Amsteel 3/8th synthetic line
    Yeah, silicone or epoxy them to make them waterproof. But you shouldn't have any water issues like what Chris said.
     
To Top