1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

How do I install a Pioneer "AVH-P3200BT"

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by littletaco40l, Jan 4, 2011.

  1. Jan 4, 2011 at 10:56 PM
    #1
    littletaco40l

    littletaco40l [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Member:
    #48637
    Messages:
    6
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Virginia
    Vehicle:
    2008 SR5 Double Cab
    Pioneer in dash DVD/NAV System
    I have been looking at the Pioneer AVH-P3200BT for a couple of weeks now and are wondering what all I am going to need for the install? Best Buy says that this head unit will not fit my truck "2008 Tacoma", but I have seen many pictures of it installed in this truck. My questions are; can I use the stock wiring harness, where is the best place to buy the head unit and what is the best Double DIN Kit for the install. Thank you for any ideas.
     
  2. Jan 4, 2011 at 11:00 PM
    #2
    kjf216

    kjf216 Fitz

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Member:
    #26001
    Messages:
    1,798
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kyle
    Ridley Park, PA
    Vehicle:
    2016 Jeep Wrangler Sahara
    Head unit, speakers, LEDs
    it will fit i have the same headunit but i dont have blue tooth fits perfect buy it from crutchfield.com they will give u a good price plus for free u get the wireing harness adaptor dash kit and instruction with pictures basicly everything you need. plus if u have any questions just message me and check out my build page to see it in the truck
     
  3. Jan 4, 2011 at 11:01 PM
    #3
    kjf216

    kjf216 Fitz

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Member:
    #26001
    Messages:
    1,798
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kyle
    Ridley Park, PA
    Vehicle:
    2016 Jeep Wrangler Sahara
    Head unit, speakers, LEDs
    btw never believe the ppl at best buy im friends with half the ones at my local store but they are still stupid as hell
     
  4. Jan 4, 2011 at 11:15 PM
    #4
    littletaco40l

    littletaco40l [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Member:
    #48637
    Messages:
    6
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Virginia
    Vehicle:
    2008 SR5 Double Cab
    Pioneer in dash DVD/NAV System
    Thank you much for the info. I just checked back with crutchfield and they are currently out of stock. Is there another place I could pick one up at? I would like to get it within the next 2 weeks while I am back in the states.
     
  5. Jan 4, 2011 at 11:19 PM
    #5
    kjf216

    kjf216 Fitz

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Member:
    #26001
    Messages:
    1,798
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kyle
    Ridley Park, PA
    Vehicle:
    2016 Jeep Wrangler Sahara
    Head unit, speakers, LEDs
    sry man thats the only place i buy my audio stuff from if your not dead set on having blue tooth look at the AVH-p3200dvd its is the exact same headunit just without the bluetooth that u could always add later and its a little cheaper.
     
  6. Jan 4, 2011 at 11:58 PM
    #6
    flyby08

    flyby08 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Member:
    #7233
    Messages:
    139
    Gender:
    Male
    san francisco
    Vehicle:
    2008 TRD sport 4x4 short bed
    TRD Catback exhaust, Topdeck tonnaeu cover, locking gas cap, all weather floor mats, Pop-n-lock tailgate, painted black rims, volant CAI with RAM air scoop, 10" MTX thunder sub with 2ch amp, Alpine SPS-609 and 600, Pioneer AVHP-3200BT HU
    got my 3200BT from amazon and had no problems with it, can it came really quick
     
  7. Jan 5, 2011 at 3:21 AM
    #7
    littletaco40l

    littletaco40l [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Member:
    #48637
    Messages:
    6
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Virginia
    Vehicle:
    2008 SR5 Double Cab
    Pioneer in dash DVD/NAV System
    I have noticed Amazon does carry the unit and they have it in stock and it's about $ 125 cheaper. If I were to get the head unit from Amazon, does it come with all the hardwear to put into my Tacoma?
     
  8. Jan 5, 2011 at 3:41 AM
    #8
    bookmonke

    bookmonke Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Member:
    #26662
    Messages:
    519
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mark
    Jacksonville, FL
    Vehicle:
    2008 DC PreRunner Rugged Trail
    No, amazon just sells the unit, you will still need to get a Schoche or Metra head kit and the wiring harness, usually around $40 for both, either find them on amazon or ebay or here in the for sale section.
     
  9. Jan 5, 2011 at 6:23 AM
    #9
    mrmumbels

    mrmumbels Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Member:
    #46331
    Messages:
    256
    Gender:
    Male
    Land O Lakes, fl
    Vehicle:
    09 prerunner
    none
    I got mine on ebay for cheaper than I could find it anywhere else. Got the
    scosche faceplate and harnesses from tacotunes.
     
  10. Jan 5, 2011 at 6:43 AM
    #10
    flyby08

    flyby08 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Member:
    #7233
    Messages:
    139
    Gender:
    Male
    san francisco
    Vehicle:
    2008 TRD sport 4x4 short bed
    TRD Catback exhaust, Topdeck tonnaeu cover, locking gas cap, all weather floor mats, Pop-n-lock tailgate, painted black rims, volant CAI with RAM air scoop, 10" MTX thunder sub with 2ch amp, Alpine SPS-609 and 600, Pioneer AVHP-3200BT HU
  11. Jan 5, 2011 at 6:23 PM
    #11
    stl_ed

    stl_ed Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Member:
    #18537
    Messages:
    6
    Gender:
    Male
  12. Jan 5, 2011 at 6:56 PM
    #12
    loaderman82

    loaderman82 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Member:
    #43964
    Messages:
    523
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dalton
    Flippin, AR
    Vehicle:
    2008 Off-Road
    Get your dash kit from ebay!! They are cheap and they come with the harness. Figure out which dash kit you want, because they have the textured like factory, and they also have the smooth. I got the smooth because I didn't know that they made the factory textured, I would have went with the textured had I known! Anyway you will love the radio and it looks awesome. Good Luck!!
     
  13. Jan 6, 2011 at 11:32 AM
    #13
    littletaco40l

    littletaco40l [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Member:
    #48637
    Messages:
    6
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Virginia
    Vehicle:
    2008 SR5 Double Cab
    Pioneer in dash DVD/NAV System
    Thank you guys for all the good information! I ordered one through Amazon. For everything (Head unit, wiring harness, and the dash kit) it was $364 which was with shipping. Now I have to just install it... I'll post pictures once it's completed. I am also getting a new grille and a new set of BF Goodrich A/T KO's (265/75-16).
     
  14. Jan 8, 2011 at 1:47 AM
    #14
    nkegol4girl

    nkegol4girl New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Member:
    #36569
    Messages:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    if i wanted to run my ipod cable through the back to my glove box will the wire fit between the dash kit and head unit?
     
  15. Jan 8, 2011 at 3:56 AM
    #15
    mrmumbels

    mrmumbels Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Member:
    #46331
    Messages:
    256
    Gender:
    Male
    Land O Lakes, fl
    Vehicle:
    09 prerunner
    none
    It'll probably look funny. I run mine down the left side and put it in that coin tray just to the bottom right of the steering wheel. I do wish it had a rear USB option although if you run rhapsody or pandora from your iPhone I guess it's better to have it up front.
     
  16. Jan 8, 2011 at 6:52 AM
    #16
    novataco

    novataco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Member:
    #7953
    Messages:
    377
    Gender:
    Male
    NOLA
    Vehicle:
    06 Sport V6 auto
    Aries bull bar, Lund grill screen, blackened h/l, Weathertech plastic all over, Access LE tonneau, window tint, tube steps, DF-Toy aux adapter, cig plug always on, console vault, hitch step, 1700 watt in-cab inverter and dual battery (in-progress), Delta bike hitch mounts
    Best Buy website also said my Sony wouldn't fit, yet Crutchfield's did. They are almost all standard sizes and they are chasing business away with their website glitch.

    I go my Sony XNV-770BT for an ebay store for $810, when Crutchfield sells it for $1300. I found it on Amazon for $830 or so as well.

    I guess you pay for the support if you are going to self install, but I would think buying on ebay and paying a professional installer would still be lots cheaper. I don't understand how Crutchfield survives as an online vendor, when they charge full retail for everything. Nobody does that.
     
  17. Jan 10, 2011 at 11:59 AM
    #17
    AQuijada18

    AQuijada18 The Fire Chick <3

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Member:
    #40721
    Messages:
    17
    Gender:
    Female
    First Name:
    Amanda
    Tucson,AZ
    Vehicle:
    06 PreRunner
    Anytime Fog Light Mod, BFG All Terrains, 17" Dickcpek rims, K&N cold air intake, anti-tailgate theft mod, Pioneer avh3200dvd, pro comp shocks, revtek leveling kit
    Crutchfield.. I got the 'textured' dash kit. I know there is a smooth double din but personally i love the textured one. I got my Pioneer avh3200dvd off of Ebay for $250 new my wiring and dash kit through crutchfield and my bosh relay (it allows you to play dvds and video while in drive) from best buy.
     
  18. Jan 10, 2011 at 5:34 PM
    #18
    the arkitect

    the arkitect I will gladly pay you on Tuesday...

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Member:
    #28270
    Messages:
    208
    Gender:
    Male
    Houston
    Vehicle:
    08 PreRunner SR5
    Did you order the Schoche(smooth) kit or the Metra (textured)? I have the Metra and it's great, I've heard the Schoche has some wobble to it.

    Amazon/Ebay will always be cheaper than Crutchfield. you're paying crutchfield extra for advertising. Also, beware Taco Tunes. I had a small problem with my order, but others have had some MAJOR issues with those guys. Check the Taco Tunes poll thread.

    Good luck with the install.
     
  19. Jan 10, 2011 at 5:39 PM
    #19
    mrmumbels

    mrmumbels Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Member:
    #46331
    Messages:
    256
    Gender:
    Male
    Land O Lakes, fl
    Vehicle:
    09 prerunner
    none
    The scosche does have some wobble to it and just this week(after 2 weeks installed) it started making the most annoying noise when I hit bumps. I'm going to have to find some felt tape somewhere.

    I don't know if it wobbles more than the Metra but if it does do you know the reason why? Are the parts different?
     
  20. Jan 10, 2011 at 9:25 PM
    #20
    the arkitect

    the arkitect I will gladly pay you on Tuesday...

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Member:
    #28270
    Messages:
    208
    Gender:
    Male
    Houston
    Vehicle:
    08 PreRunner SR5
    I don't know how the scosche is put together, but the Metra has a lip on the black plastic housing that bolts into the dash. That lip fits snugly into the silver cover plate that snaps into the dash so it all works as one unit. There's no wobble at all. My only complaint with the Metra is that the HU sits back into the dash to far and collects a lot of dust. I would still highly recomend it over the Scosche anyday.
     
To Top