1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

how much is too much?

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by danteisme, Jan 26, 2011.

  1. Jan 26, 2011 at 10:07 AM
    #1
    danteisme

    danteisme [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Member:
    #4248
    Messages:
    1,378
    Gender:
    Male
    Vandergrift, PA
    Vehicle:
    06 DCSB Sport, 96 Integra GSR
    in terms of adding wires to the battery, how much is too much? right now i have the power for my stereo, and my fog lights going to the battery. i would like to add bed lights down this summer, so that'd be three additional wires so far on the battery. when is it a good idea to get a distribution block of some sort?
     
  2. Jan 26, 2011 at 10:10 AM
    #2
    cc350

    cc350 Buckeye Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Member:
    #44527
    Messages:
    946
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chas
    Liberty,Twp Ohio
    Vehicle:
    06 PreRunner TRD DC
    TRex3 eyelids,Undercover hardshell cover,Timbrens
    Now!
     
  3. Jan 26, 2011 at 10:18 AM
    #3
    Zombie Runner

    Zombie Runner Are these black helicopters for me?

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Member:
    #5246
    Messages:
    15,036
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kevin
    Wichita Falls, TX
    Vehicle:
    Tundra, double cab.
    LED interior lights, stubby antenna, Pioneer in dash screen, good driver mod.
    I had 5 wires comming from the battery before I got my blue sea fuse block.

    [​IMG]

    I have HID's, HID offroad lights, and bumper lights now.

    I got it from Amazon
     
  4. Jan 26, 2011 at 10:24 AM
    #4
    danteisme

    danteisme [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Member:
    #4248
    Messages:
    1,378
    Gender:
    Male
    Vandergrift, PA
    Vehicle:
    06 DCSB Sport, 96 Integra GSR
    simple and clean, do you just supply it with a power constant and they go from there?
     
  5. Jan 26, 2011 at 11:12 AM
    #5
    Zombie Runner

    Zombie Runner Are these black helicopters for me?

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Member:
    #5246
    Messages:
    15,036
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kevin
    Wichita Falls, TX
    Vehicle:
    Tundra, double cab.
    LED interior lights, stubby antenna, Pioneer in dash screen, good driver mod.
    Yea I have that red power wire hooked into the battery, and then the fuse block distributes the power to all my other wires comming out of it.
     
  6. Jan 26, 2011 at 4:33 PM
    #6
    Evil Monkey

    Evil Monkey There's an evil monkey in my truck

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Member:
    #2352
    Messages:
    8,337
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Robert
    Escondido, CA
    Vehicle:
    07 4x4 DC SR5 TRD Off-road
    Weathertech front & rear mats, rear suspension TSB, Toytec AAL for TSB, Hi-Lift Jack, Bilstein 5100 & Toytec Adjustable coilovers, Built Right UCAs, KMC XD 795 Hoss Wheels, Definity Dakota MTs 285/75R16, Leer XR, Thule Tracker II & Thule MOAB basket
    Do you have a ground block as well?
     
  7. Feb 1, 2011 at 1:44 PM
    #7
    danteisme

    danteisme [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Member:
    #4248
    Messages:
    1,378
    Gender:
    Male
    Vandergrift, PA
    Vehicle:
    06 DCSB Sport, 96 Integra GSR
    i see there are different options for these blocks, grounded and not grounded. i think i can figure out how the grounded ones work, but the ungrounded ones, are they grounded through whatever accessory you connect it to? and which is better? grounded model or ungrounded?
     
  8. Feb 1, 2011 at 2:23 PM
    #8
    TurboGT

    TurboGT Stirring the pot since...

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Member:
    #43822
    Messages:
    1,080
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Gabe
    Portland
    Vehicle:
    '06 DC LB 4x4
    OME lift w/ Dakars & 885's Remote Start w/ window control
  9. Feb 1, 2011 at 6:53 PM
    #9
    danteisme

    danteisme [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Member:
    #4248
    Messages:
    1,378
    Gender:
    Male
    Vandergrift, PA
    Vehicle:
    06 DCSB Sport, 96 Integra GSR
    i seen the group buy before. i know i wouldnt need anything that large, why i dont understand is if a grounded model is better than a non grounded model and why
     
  10. Feb 1, 2011 at 8:00 PM
    #10
    TurboGT

    TurboGT Stirring the pot since...

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Member:
    #43822
    Messages:
    1,080
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Gabe
    Portland
    Vehicle:
    '06 DC LB 4x4
    OME lift w/ Dakars & 885's Remote Start w/ window control
    It's not any better, it's just what ppl voted for. You don't even have to use the ground bus - you can hook up a ground just about anywhere it's convenient. As for the number of fuse slots, just consider it "room for future expansion", though I would not run my stereo system off this block as it isbt an ideal way of hooking it up - stereo amp power supplies should go directly to the battery with an appropriate size (& quality) fuse block
     
  11. Feb 2, 2011 at 4:47 AM
    #11
    danteisme

    danteisme [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Member:
    #4248
    Messages:
    1,378
    Gender:
    Male
    Vandergrift, PA
    Vehicle:
    06 DCSB Sport, 96 Integra GSR
    ok thats what i wasnt sure of, if it would be better to ground the block itself. thanks.
     
  12. Feb 2, 2011 at 9:05 AM
    #12
    TurboGT

    TurboGT Stirring the pot since...

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Member:
    #43822
    Messages:
    1,080
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Gabe
    Portland
    Vehicle:
    '06 DC LB 4x4
    OME lift w/ Dakars & 885's Remote Start w/ window control
    If you check out Zombie's photo above, he's not using the ground side either...

    In fact... from the pic... doesn't look like he's even using the fuse circuits!! :)

    Come on... join the GB... you won't be disappointed
     
To Top