1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

How much power is getting to this sub??

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by bowhuntingaddict, Sep 30, 2010.

  1. Sep 30, 2010 at 7:33 PM
    #1
    bowhuntingaddict

    bowhuntingaddict [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Member:
    #32949
    Messages:
    81
    Gender:
    Male
    My friend has a 400 watt 4 channel amp. He has got the sub hooked up directly to one of the speaker terminals, he isnt running anything else off the amp. So is he getting 400 watts of power to the sub or just 100 watts?
     
  2. Sep 30, 2010 at 7:41 PM
    #2
    bowhuntingaddict

    bowhuntingaddict [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Member:
    #32949
    Messages:
    81
    Gender:
    Male
    Its 400 watts total, i just know the basics about this, and was just wonderin
     
  3. Sep 30, 2010 at 7:43 PM
    #3
    johnw

    johnw Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Member:
    #17381
    Messages:
    7,181
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    john
    orlando florida
    Vehicle:
    06 prerunner v-6 4.0L 4 door
    well you asked for specs..... 06 trd sport speedway blue V-6 4.0 camburg lift spindles extended travel icons total chaos lowers allpro 4" leaf pack 17" xd hoss rims 305/65/17 mickey thompson baja atz Allpro hybrid bumper with 3 kragen HID lights color matched headlights grill craft grill AFE stage 3 CAI wicked flow muffler under cover bed cap inside i have..... wet okole real tree camo seat cover blue oznium dome light stealth sub box with 2 10" kicker comp subs kicker 400 watt amp weathertech floor mats
    on the connectors on the amp were all the different channel hook ups are. their should be one that surrounds them all that says BRIDGE the one of the line will be pointing to a negative(-) and the other a positive(+). hook it up to those to get the 400 watt max
     
  4. Sep 30, 2010 at 7:44 PM
    #4
    johnw

    johnw Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Member:
    #17381
    Messages:
    7,181
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    john
    orlando florida
    Vehicle:
    06 prerunner v-6 4.0L 4 door
    well you asked for specs..... 06 trd sport speedway blue V-6 4.0 camburg lift spindles extended travel icons total chaos lowers allpro 4" leaf pack 17" xd hoss rims 305/65/17 mickey thompson baja atz Allpro hybrid bumper with 3 kragen HID lights color matched headlights grill craft grill AFE stage 3 CAI wicked flow muffler under cover bed cap inside i have..... wet okole real tree camo seat cover blue oznium dome light stealth sub box with 2 10" kicker comp subs kicker 400 watt amp weathertech floor mats
  5. Sep 30, 2010 at 7:45 PM
    #5
    johnw

    johnw Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Member:
    #17381
    Messages:
    7,181
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    john
    orlando florida
    Vehicle:
    06 prerunner v-6 4.0L 4 door
    well you asked for specs..... 06 trd sport speedway blue V-6 4.0 camburg lift spindles extended travel icons total chaos lowers allpro 4" leaf pack 17" xd hoss rims 305/65/17 mickey thompson baja atz Allpro hybrid bumper with 3 kragen HID lights color matched headlights grill craft grill AFE stage 3 CAI wicked flow muffler under cover bed cap inside i have..... wet okole real tree camo seat cover blue oznium dome light stealth sub box with 2 10" kicker comp subs kicker 400 watt amp weathertech floor mats
  6. Sep 30, 2010 at 7:49 PM
    #6
    bowhuntingaddict

    bowhuntingaddict [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Member:
    #32949
    Messages:
    81
    Gender:
    Male
    alirght thank you for the help, those pics help out a lot
     
  7. Sep 30, 2010 at 7:56 PM
    #7
    bowhuntingaddict

    bowhuntingaddict [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Member:
    #32949
    Messages:
    81
    Gender:
    Male
    Can you bridge any amp?
     
  8. Sep 30, 2010 at 8:07 PM
    #8
    rkd1119

    rkd1119 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Member:
    #28792
    Messages:
    140
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Robert
    L.A. (lower Alabama)
    Vehicle:
    '16 4Runner SR5 Premium 4x4
    No, I don't think you can bridge ANY amp. When you bridge one, you end up with 1/2 as many outputs, hence you will have 2 on a bridged 4channel amp (as seen in pics above). He can run another sub off the other output if he has the room OR....

    He can get a dual voice coil sub and wire each bridged output to one side (voice coil) of the sub. In this way he will get full output from the amp. As things stand now he is using 25% of what's available, and even using one bridged output on a single channel sub he will only be getting 1/2 of what's available.
     
To Top