1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

How Much RAM can i put in my Macbook Pro???

Discussion in 'Technology' started by tacomathunder, Apr 1, 2012.

  1. Apr 1, 2012 at 1:36 PM
    #1
    tacomathunder

    tacomathunder [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Member:
    #25672
    Messages:
    1,539
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Florida
    Vehicle:
    07 4 cyl reg cab
    pop-a-lock on tailgate, tailgate damper by ez down, extang platinum snap tonneau cover, rampage LED light bar, etrailer wiring harness, black led tail lights, tsi clutter catcher center console, griffin itrip ipod player,BHLM,35W DDM Tuning hid's 5000K, Day Time Running Light Mod, New Sony Stereo
    I was wondering many gigs i could put in, i was thinning about putting 8 or 12 gb in, would that work?
     
  2. Apr 1, 2012 at 1:39 PM
    #2
    theredofshaw

    theredofshaw Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Member:
    #41484
    Messages:
    3,332
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    John
    OKC
    Vehicle:
    2011 Tacoma TRD sport DC
    Tailgate Anti-Theft Weathertechs Wet Okoles TW Sticker! Pop N Lock Handle TonnoPro Tri-folding cover
    I would imagine it depends on the year of the macbook...haven't opened a newer computer up (my mac is pre-mega RAM amounts version)...do the newer ones have more slots? or is it just bigger sticks of RAM? If the RAM sticks are bigger, I may look into this as well.
     
  3. Apr 1, 2012 at 1:42 PM
    #3
    tacomathunder

    tacomathunder [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Member:
    #25672
    Messages:
    1,539
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Florida
    Vehicle:
    07 4 cyl reg cab
    pop-a-lock on tailgate, tailgate damper by ez down, extang platinum snap tonneau cover, rampage LED light bar, etrailer wiring harness, black led tail lights, tsi clutter catcher center console, griffin itrip ipod player,BHLM,35W DDM Tuning hid's 5000K, Day Time Running Light Mod, New Sony Stereo
    i got mine last august, right when Lion came standard on the computers... and i have a 2.3 GHz intel core i5...does that help any? it also says i currently have 4GB of ram...1333 MHz DDR3
     
  4. Apr 1, 2012 at 1:43 PM
    #4
    blacktaco21

    blacktaco21 Crunchy Taco

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Member:
    #33291
    Messages:
    308
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    AR
    Vehicle:
    05 TRD Sport DC 6" 325/65R18
    Fabtech 6" Baja Tire Carrier Limo Tint 4.88 Gears Detroit Locker Rear ARB Locker up front Train Horns Pioneer DVD Double Din JL Audio 12w3v3 325/65R18 Baja MTZs 18x10 Classic Locks Powder Coated Flat Black
    If the battery is accessible on the back, then it's behind the battery. The newer ones are unibody and you have to have a small Phillips to take the back off. I upgraded mine from 4 to 8GB. I know for a fact they only have two slots on the laptops and you want the same size so they will run in dual channel mode (my 8gb is actually 2 x 4 gb).
     
  5. Apr 1, 2012 at 1:46 PM
    #5
    TRDSport12

    TRDSport12 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2012
    Member:
    #73747
    Messages:
    15
    Gender:
    Male
    The Great North
    Vehicle:
    2012 DCLB TRD Sport BLK
    it really depends on the model, i have a early 2011 MBP i7 and 4GB (as came with the machine), and it can only put up to 8GB for upgrade. I was thinking 12GB, but the system wont recognize anything greater than 8GB. check the spec of manual or the website
     
  6. Apr 1, 2012 at 1:50 PM
    #6
    tacomathunder

    tacomathunder [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Member:
    #25672
    Messages:
    1,539
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Florida
    Vehicle:
    07 4 cyl reg cab
    pop-a-lock on tailgate, tailgate damper by ez down, extang platinum snap tonneau cover, rampage LED light bar, etrailer wiring harness, black led tail lights, tsi clutter catcher center console, griffin itrip ipod player,BHLM,35W DDM Tuning hid's 5000K, Day Time Running Light Mod, New Sony Stereo
    alright, thanks guys, i think I'm just going to go with OWC 8gb of ram, and upgrade to an OWC SSD Hard drive too, should be fun lol
     
  7. Apr 1, 2012 at 1:58 PM
    #7
    crazyengineer

    crazyengineer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Member:
    #50948
    Messages:
    3,190
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    patrick
    Bristol, TN
    Vehicle:
    05 Tacoma SR5 TRD Offroad
    K&N Cold Air Intake, Warn Winch and Bumper Guard, Wet Okole Seat Covers, Undercover Bed Cover, TRD Kenwood Head Unit, Infiniti Speakers, JL 13.5 inch pancake sub
    depends on the age of the computer.

    The guy in the dorm across the hall from me put 16 Gigs of ram in his Macbook pro (15" and about 6 or 8 months old) and switched the disk drive out for a solid state hard drive. boot time is ridiculous.

    He runs virtual machines a lot so he uses the 16 gigs, I have 8 and I like the speed a lot, a solid state would up it a lot though...I just dont have the money
     
  8. Apr 1, 2012 at 2:07 PM
    #8
    tacomathunder

    tacomathunder [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Member:
    #25672
    Messages:
    1,539
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Florida
    Vehicle:
    07 4 cyl reg cab
    pop-a-lock on tailgate, tailgate damper by ez down, extang platinum snap tonneau cover, rampage LED light bar, etrailer wiring harness, black led tail lights, tsi clutter catcher center console, griffin itrip ipod player,BHLM,35W DDM Tuning hid's 5000K, Day Time Running Light Mod, New Sony Stereo
    well i was just thinking that i have the Core i5.......do you think that makes a difference in if the computer could recognize the 16gb of ram?
     
  9. Apr 1, 2012 at 2:13 PM
    #9
    Fightnfire

    Fightnfire Recklessly tired

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Member:
    #58178
    Messages:
    5,069
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Luke
    Marysville, WA
    Vehicle:
    09 Access Cab V6 4X4
    Softopper, Bilstein 5100's @ 1.75 in the front, TSB Rear, 17x8.5 Lvl 8 Guardians, 265/70-17 Goodyear Wrangler Duratracs, Scooped, Anytime fog mod, Osram Nightbreakers, LED Interior lights, Debadged, Painted valance, Removed rear head rests, De-flapped, Hidden Hitch installed, Weather Techs, Flyzeye'd A/W/A, Cover Kings,... oh and the hot wife mod.
    If you push really hard you could cram a PC in it and then you'd have something ..




    ;)
     
  10. Apr 1, 2012 at 2:16 PM
    #10
    jtav2002

    jtav2002 Kenny Fuckin Powers

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Member:
    #19074
    Messages:
    4,516
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Josh
    Reading, PA
    Vehicle:
    2013 Tundra DBL Cab TRD OR
    No. As suggested look up the exact model to see what it's upgradeable too.
     
  11. Apr 1, 2012 at 2:16 PM
    #11
    crazyengineer

    crazyengineer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Member:
    #50948
    Messages:
    3,190
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    patrick
    Bristol, TN
    Vehicle:
    05 Tacoma SR5 TRD Offroad
    K&N Cold Air Intake, Warn Winch and Bumper Guard, Wet Okole Seat Covers, Undercover Bed Cover, TRD Kenwood Head Unit, Infiniti Speakers, JL 13.5 inch pancake sub
    I have no Idea honesty, he is the computer guy and not here right now, so I cant ask him

    I know that the icons don't bounce whenever clicked like they are loading....it just opens the program.

    With the solid state, boot time is like 20 seconds or something ridiculous (that is when it gets to the very first loading screen to login screen. not the wake up time from black

    it is still rediculous. it ouwld cost me about 200 to get it done. I have a 15" macbook pro that was purchased about a year and a half ago and could handle it just fine. I wouldn't need the 16 gigs of ram. and the 200 is getting a 120 GB solid state to go with my normal one.

    you have to store larger stuff (like for me, I would store all my music and pictures on it) on the regular har drive.
     
  12. Apr 1, 2012 at 2:22 PM
    #12
    jtav2002

    jtav2002 Kenny Fuckin Powers

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Member:
    #19074
    Messages:
    4,516
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Josh
    Reading, PA
    Vehicle:
    2013 Tundra DBL Cab TRD OR
    Also, solid state drive(SSD) and hard disk drive(HDD). Technically no such thing as a solid state hard drive.;)

    That would be like saying you have a 4 cylinder 6cylinder engine lol.

    SSD's are sweet though. My Asus Zenbook has one. Boots from sleep mode in 2 seconds and full boot up from it being off in 20 seconds.
     
  13. Apr 1, 2012 at 6:00 PM
    #13
    tacomathunder

    tacomathunder [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Member:
    #25672
    Messages:
    1,539
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Florida
    Vehicle:
    07 4 cyl reg cab
    pop-a-lock on tailgate, tailgate damper by ez down, extang platinum snap tonneau cover, rampage LED light bar, etrailer wiring harness, black led tail lights, tsi clutter catcher center console, griffin itrip ipod player,BHLM,35W DDM Tuning hid's 5000K, Day Time Running Light Mod, New Sony Stereo
    i have an Early 2011 MBP btw
     
  14. Apr 5, 2012 at 7:28 PM
    #14
    elmo7

    elmo7 Easily Replaceable Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Member:
    #61553
    Messages:
    711
    Gender:
    Male
    SC
    Vehicle:
    07 DC TRD OR 4x4
    The real question is how much ram do you need? More than you use is just drawing more power from your battery. Are you thrashing now? If not, why bother. 4GB is a pretty good for most users these days. VM's - yeah - you need a lot of RAM to host a bunch of em, depending on their size. Web surfing, email, running some apps - 4 will probably do it fine.
     
To Top