1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

How to add a amp and sub to stock radio?

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by deepsee, Nov 25, 2007.

  1. Nov 25, 2007 at 1:56 PM
    #1
    deepsee

    deepsee [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Member:
    #3085
    Messages:
    48
    First Name:
    Bobby
    ALABAMA
    Vehicle:
    2013 DC Black TRD OR Pkg
    LED dome,map,fog,and backup lights. AMP Bed extender, black badges, bed mat, weathertech window visors, weather tech floor mats front and back, Grillcraft black mesh, console and glove box organizer, tinted windows.
    Can anyone tell be what i need to install a sub and amp to my stock radio?
     
  2. Nov 25, 2007 at 2:10 PM
    #2
    06TRDsport

    06TRDsport Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Member:
    #30
    Messages:
    383
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Bend, OR
    Vehicle:
    2007 F250 Diesel and 1999 4Runner
    If you get an amp with speaker level inputs you can tap into the rear speaker wires. Or you can buy a line out converter that hooks into the rear speaker wires and provides a set of rca outputs. And of course a power source for the amp itself.
     
  3. Nov 30, 2007 at 12:35 AM
    #3
    lineberw

    lineberw Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Member:
    #433
    Messages:
    52
    Summerville, SC
    Vehicle:
    TRD 4x4
    If price isn't an issue you could have an authorized JL Audio dealer put a Cleansweep in it for you. This levels out/cleans out any distortion out of your factory radio so it will make your factory speakers sound better and give you the option to add an amp for a subwoofer(s). Also you can hook your Ipod up to it.
     
  4. Nov 30, 2007 at 12:48 PM
    #4
    lsocoee

    lsocoee My hair is all natural Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Member:
    #872
    Messages:
    10,102
    First Name:
    Hotdog
    Vehicle:
    2007 PreRunner SR5 Double Cab
    Wet Okole Underwear
    I agree. My personal vote on this is to go for an amp with line level inputs. It is 1 less piece of equipment you have to buy.
     
To Top