1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

How to Drain/Refill Automatic Transmission

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by Fortech, Dec 5, 2009.

  1. Feb 18, 2016 at 1:06 PM
    #581
    stump jumper

    stump jumper Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Member:
    #42106
    Messages:
    2,477
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bill
    Texas
    Vehicle:
    2017 Tundra 4x4 CM TSS
    At long as you do not knock bottle over that works. I have 1 of those pumps for gear oil. Might buy one dedicated to ATF
     
  2. Feb 18, 2016 at 3:11 PM
    #582
    sorgon82

    sorgon82 wanna go for a rip bud

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2015
    Member:
    #165572
    Messages:
    1,994
    Gender:
    Male
    Ont. Canada
    Vehicle:
    2016 Grey Tacoma sport dc long bed
    After the dealer wouldnt work with me I did mine today in the absolute tiniest garage ever with no lift in -10'C.
    Frustrating to say the least but thanks to this thread I was prepared. So thank you.
    Ended up being 1 litre low.
     
  3. Feb 18, 2016 at 3:39 PM
    #583
    sorgon82

    sorgon82 wanna go for a rip bud

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2015
    Member:
    #165572
    Messages:
    1,994
    Gender:
    Male
    Ont. Canada
    Vehicle:
    2016 Grey Tacoma sport dc long bed
    Has anyone disconnected their battery to reset the transmission?
    Im wondering if theres any initial shifting pattern that has to be done after? Or anything?
     
  4. Feb 19, 2016 at 5:31 PM
    #584
    mlm682577

    mlm682577 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2015
    Member:
    #172650
    Messages:
    314
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mark
    DFW, TX
    Vehicle:
    2016 Blazing Blue Tacoma TRD OR DCSB
    60+ mods and counting (mod-aholic)
    I bought the ultra gauge and hooked it up today. The trans temp shows "err". Their owner's manual does not even address the trans temp.
     
  5. Feb 19, 2016 at 5:39 PM
    #585
    Aguaski

    Aguaski Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2015
    Member:
    #169831
    Messages:
    47
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Clint
    Vehicle:
    2014 DCSB OR Prerunner
    I can't really help you with your Ultra Gauge, but in the OBD Fusion app that I used I had to program a custom PID to get the transmission temperature. The programming was not hard once I had the right directions. I bet the Ultra Gauge also needs some custom programming to read Tacoma specific information from the OBD port. Maybe someone with Ultra Gauge experience will stop by to help program the PID.
     
  6. Feb 19, 2016 at 5:44 PM
    #586
    Aguaski

    Aguaski Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2015
    Member:
    #169831
    Messages:
    47
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Clint
    Vehicle:
    2014 DCSB OR Prerunner
  7. Feb 19, 2016 at 5:49 PM
    #587
    mlm682577

    mlm682577 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2015
    Member:
    #172650
    Messages:
    314
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mark
    DFW, TX
    Vehicle:
    2016 Blazing Blue Tacoma TRD OR DCSB
    60+ mods and counting (mod-aholic)
    I think you are right....Ultra Gauge replied with this:

    Date: 02-19-2016 15:44:49
    Name: UltraGauge
    [​IMG]
    Message:

    The pre-programming is for 2005-2012. The codes for the 2015/2016 were changed by Toyota.
    Look for the codes on the Tacomaworld forum.

    Best regards,

    Steve
    UltraGauge Support
    http://www.ultra-gauge.com
    Support is available Monday, Wednesday and Friday, 9-5pm Central Time
     
  8. Feb 19, 2016 at 11:27 PM
    #588
    Chuy

    Chuy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Member:
    #8328
    Messages:
    1,956
    Gender:
    Male
    Lakeside, CA
    Vehicle:
    07 V6 DCLB 4X4 Sp
    2.5 inch lift; 5100's front; OME rear; Air Lift; dual batteries; Bestop bed cover; Nfab nerf steps; EBC rotors; Threadwright Claw MT tires; hood scoop LED light install.
    Steve should have provided the codes.

    sorgone82, I'm not aware of any procedure to disconnect the battery following an ATF flush or refill. I've flushed twice with no probs. Same story flushing wife's 07 Lexus ES350. Used an IR gun to measure ATF temp; it's been proven to me to be just as accurate as Techstream.
     
    sorgon82 likes this.
  9. Feb 20, 2016 at 2:12 AM
    #589
    sorgon82

    sorgon82 wanna go for a rip bud

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2015
    Member:
    #165572
    Messages:
    1,994
    Gender:
    Male
    Ont. Canada
    Vehicle:
    2016 Grey Tacoma sport dc long bed
    I was only considering the disconnect because im under the impression the transmission learns my driving habits, and since the truck was new I was very light on the gas pedal. Now that the engines worked in and Ive tooped up the tranny fluid I was thinking of a fresh start. Maybe it continues to learn though and theres no point in disconnecting it. Im not sure
     
  10. Feb 20, 2016 at 3:42 AM
    #590
    sorgon82

    sorgon82 wanna go for a rip bud

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2015
    Member:
    #165572
    Messages:
    1,994
    Gender:
    Male
    Ont. Canada
    Vehicle:
    2016 Grey Tacoma sport dc long bed
    I was only considering the disconnect because im under the impression the transmission learns my driving habits, and since the truck was new I was very light on the gas pedal. Now that the engines worked in and Ive topped up the tranny fluid I was thinking of a fresh start. Maybe it continues to learn though and theres no point in disconnecting it. Im not sure
     
    Last edited: Feb 20, 2016
  11. Feb 24, 2016 at 8:33 AM
    #591
    Gunnerhm

    Gunnerhm Gunner

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Member:
    #154985
    Messages:
    14
    Gender:
    Male
    Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    2011 Tacoma Crew Cab - 4x4, Short Bed
    Volant cold air intake, Flowmaster CAT back dual exhaust, ADD-W1 Oil Catch Can, Black Replacement Grill, Projector Halo headlights, TRD 16" Bronze wheels, BF Goodrich MT/AT tires, Custom fabricated ladder rack, Flyzeye dash LED, Remote-head ignition key, hood QuickLIFT PLUS, debadged, Pioneer Stereo w/ car play
    Does anyone know the torques spec for the automatic trans pan on a 2011 V6 4wd taco?
     
  12. Feb 24, 2016 at 8:33 AM
    #592
    Gunnerhm

    Gunnerhm Gunner

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Member:
    #154985
    Messages:
    14
    Gender:
    Male
    Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    2011 Tacoma Crew Cab - 4x4, Short Bed
    Volant cold air intake, Flowmaster CAT back dual exhaust, ADD-W1 Oil Catch Can, Black Replacement Grill, Projector Halo headlights, TRD 16" Bronze wheels, BF Goodrich MT/AT tires, Custom fabricated ladder rack, Flyzeye dash LED, Remote-head ignition key, hood QuickLIFT PLUS, debadged, Pioneer Stereo w/ car play
    trans pan bolts...sorry
     
  13. Feb 24, 2016 at 8:47 AM
    #593
    stump jumper

    stump jumper Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Member:
    #42106
    Messages:
    2,477
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bill
    Texas
    Vehicle:
    2017 Tundra 4x4 CM TSS
    Probably pretty light. When I owned Ford C6s torque was measured in inch lbs. It was like 120. Even all around is the key
     
  14. Feb 24, 2016 at 12:22 PM
    #594
    Aguaski

    Aguaski Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2015
    Member:
    #169831
    Messages:
    47
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Clint
    Vehicle:
    2014 DCSB OR Prerunner
    The torque specs are provided by the original poster in the very first post of this thread. The specs should be the same for any 2nd gen Tacoma.
     
  15. Feb 27, 2016 at 5:51 PM
    #595
    Bukowskithepoet

    Bukowskithepoet Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    Member:
    #177862
    Messages:
    6
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bukowskithepoet
    Vehicle:
    2015 Silver Streak Double cab 4x4
    Great DIY and thread! Question: does the tow package alter this guide in any way? I know that the transmission cooler uses some of the oil... i am a newb so this is likely a dumb query!
    Also is procedure the same for a 2015? I don't need to change the fluid obviously i just want to check it has the right amount as there have been reports the trucks are leaving the plants low in transfluid

    Thanks in advance!
     
  16. Feb 28, 2016 at 12:34 PM
    #596
    Chuy

    Chuy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Member:
    #8328
    Messages:
    1,956
    Gender:
    Male
    Lakeside, CA
    Vehicle:
    07 V6 DCLB 4X4 Sp
    2.5 inch lift; 5100's front; OME rear; Air Lift; dual batteries; Bestop bed cover; Nfab nerf steps; EBC rotors; Threadwright Claw MT tires; hood scoop LED light install.
    I think specs are 50 inch lbs, which seemed too high to me. All my Tacoma products (Camry, Corolla, Lexus ES250, Tacoma) use M6 bolts/nuts (yes, I've replaced some bolts with studs to help hold the ATF gasket when installing it.) I've torqued them all to 35 inch lbs and have no leaks. I check the torque on random bolts/nuts every time I change the motor oil.
     
  17. Feb 28, 2016 at 3:32 PM
    #597
    kaptankaos

    kaptankaos Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2014
    Member:
    #143791
    Messages:
    239
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Martin
    Killeen, TX
    Vehicle:
    09 Prerunner
    I have an 09 Prerunner... I don't seem to have the AT Temp light. So I have tried using a Bluetooth OBD attachment connected to my phone using both torque and fusion and neither give me a value for Transmission fluid temps....I even programmed a custom PID for fusion as mentioned above and got nothing... Anyone got any idea as to why
     
  18. Feb 28, 2016 at 4:55 PM
    #598
    Aguaski

    Aguaski Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2015
    Member:
    #169831
    Messages:
    47
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Clint
    Vehicle:
    2014 DCSB OR Prerunner
    If you programmed for the PID and you say you don't see a temp light in the dash then another option is to use an IR thermometer on the pan. It is not perfectly accurate but when I tested pan temps with an IR thermometer I found the pan to never be off by more than 2-3 degrees. If you target a narrower pan temp range of say 118-123 then you should be in the correct actual ATF range which is 115-130. A decent IR thermometer can be picked up at Harbor Freight.
     
    mdmt800 and kaptankaos like this.
  19. Feb 28, 2016 at 7:51 PM
    #599
    kaptankaos

    kaptankaos Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2014
    Member:
    #143791
    Messages:
    239
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Martin
    Killeen, TX
    Vehicle:
    09 Prerunner
    Went ahead and went that route. Was easy enough. No clue when the last time it had been done but figured might as well. My truck has over 100k miles and I've only had it for the last 25k. I also decided to do it cause I'd noticed my rear output shaft seal was leaking. So I knocked out two birds with one stone and discovered it had been over filled by over a quart when I drained it initially.
     
  20. Mar 3, 2016 at 11:06 AM
    #600
    hardthunder

    hardthunder Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2014
    Member:
    #126964
    Messages:
    9
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    J
    Texas
    Vehicle:
    08 4dr PreRunner
    Got what I think I need. going to take my time and double check all my steps.
    Thanks to all who hgave posted and ask questions and given answers. would not have attempted
    this without ya.

    20160303_123751.jpg
     

Products Discussed in

To Top