1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

How to get transmission temps on Fusion app for iOS

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by Firefly, Jan 15, 2015.

  1. Jan 15, 2015 at 5:03 PM
    #1
    Firefly

    Firefly [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2014
    Member:
    #143297
    Messages:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    This worked for my automatic 2010 Toyota Tacoma 4X4 four-door. Basically, you create a new user PID with the magic formula and then make a new gauge that displays that information on a dashboard.

    You create a new PID by following the steps below.

    Settings
    User-Defined PIDs
    Menu
    New

    Enter the following into these fields:
    Name = Transmission Fluid Temperature 1
    Description = Trans 1
    English units = F
    Min value = 0
    Max value = 300
    Metric to English scale factor = 1
    Module/Header = ECM
    OBD Mode = 21
    PID Number = 82
    Equation = ((((A*256)+B)*(7/100)-400)/10)

    {Type equation exactly as shown with no spaces, watch the parentheses carefully and don't miss any. Leave other fields as they are, no change. This is the Fahrenheit formula, different for Celsius. You can also apply this correction in the offset, but the way above is perhaps easier}

    Then click "Test" at bottom of page and you should get a popup that states "reading data and then quickly give you an actual temp. This is the transmission "pan" temperature ("1"), the one we need to help change our fluid by checking the level when it reaches a certain temp. There is another sensor ("2") that is a different formula. If clicking the "Test" button yields a popup that says no data or error, something isn't entered correctly.

    Now, we create a new gauge on a new dashboard to display the temp.

    Go back to the main menu by clicking the upper left corner and go into Dashboards. Swipe all the way to the right (past the boost page) and it should give you a new empty dashboard page or you can click menu and select "new dashboard". (You could also change one of the existing gauges). On the new empty dashboard page, click "menu" and then "add display". Then click "display configuration". For "title", call it what you want to appear on the gauge like tranny temp or ATF temp or anything you want. For "Item", click that right arrow and scroll all the way down to the user-defined PIDs and find "Trans1" at the bottom and click that bar until a blue check mark appears beside it. Then you can change the other features and digital vs radial etc. I think the "item" first pops up with mph speed or some default like that, but just click it and a long menu pops up with the user-defined PIDs at the bottom.

    For me, at first, I could get the temp on the "test" button in the user PID page, but the gauge read zero all the time. Customer support (Matt) for the app was very helpful by e-mail. Ultimately, I had to close the app (by clicking the home button and closing the app on my iPad) and re-open it and then it worked miraculously.

    The mode 21 is the extended codes for Toyota. The 82 is the specific PID for ATF temp.

    Anyway, you CAN get ATF transmission temps to read constantly on the Fusion app on iphones and ipad without buying a droid for Torque!

    Happy Trails!
     
  2. Jan 16, 2015 at 12:30 PM
    #2
    bmiranda

    bmiranda Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2012
    Member:
    #89600
    Messages:
    19
    Gender:
    Male
    I managed to piggyback what Firefly did and was able to get both pan and torque converter temps. For the torque converter temps, keep everything the same except the formula. Change A to C and B to D.

    2013 V6 AT


    BTW...Stay away from dashcommand as I've been in contact with them many times and they assured me that if I purchased the extended PIDs, that they would display the transmission temperature. After I purchased the extended PIDs for the 2013 Toyota, they then informed me that the OBDII unit I had was not compatible. I have the iCar 2 wifi and an iPad mini2. Funny, because all the other PIDs were displayed, and the trans temp was specifically shown as not available. The folks at dash command saw my screen shots and insisted that if I bought the package that I'd get what I wanted (without mentioning anything about compatibility issues). Not to mention the iCar actually recommends dashcommand as a compatible program. Now I know it's possible to write the code and obtain the PIDs, it's just that the folks at dash command have no desire to expand their PIDs, or even deliver on their promises for that matter.


    Now to see if there is a way to get the engine oil temp. Does anyone know if there is even an oil temp probe on the Tacomas?

    image.jpg
     
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2015
    t-nutz likes this.
  3. Jan 16, 2015 at 3:50 PM
    #3
    ptwob311

    ptwob311 Curios Noob

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2015
    Member:
    #146010
    Messages:
    53
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    P
    Colorado Springs
    Vehicle:
    '15 Tacoma TSS 4x4
    Bone Stock :(
    Thanks for the info on Dashcommand.
    I just ordered a wifi dongle and am in the process of deciding between Dashcommand and OBD Fusion.

    I really like the display of Dashcommand but even in their own forum they have said that Trans temp would be available in the update that was supposed to come out in late Aug 2014. Reading your post makes it sound like it is still not available.

    Does Dashcommand not allow the user to custom make PIDs?

    If Fusion allows us to expand lie this on our own... well.. it may be the way I elect to go.

    worst case.. both apps combined are only 20 bucks:notsure:
     
  4. Jan 16, 2015 at 4:56 PM
    #4
    bmiranda

    bmiranda Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2012
    Member:
    #89600
    Messages:
    19
    Gender:
    Male
    DashCommand is $10, plus the "expanded PIDs" which are another $10. I'm in the process of trying to get the $10 back from the "extended PIDs"

    The program listed all the PIDs available, and Trans temp was NOT listed. What gets me is that the folks at DashCommand said that the Trans temp and Oil Temp WERE available. (Even after I sent scree shots of the list showing unavailable)

    They are trying to blame it on my hardware....which is obviously not true as I can get the PID with the other app.

    Honestly, I like the display better in Fusion as it's more customizable and simpler looking. The pic I attached in my first post was a custom Dash I created in about 20 minutes. That's yet another thing. DashCommand requires another program to custom different dashboards. I'm not into all the razzle dazzle. I want simple, easy to read gauges. I can get that with Fusion, AND I can customize them within the program itself.

    Save your money, and just get the OBD Fusion. They allow custom PIDs and there is some info in the blogosphere about custom PIDs. We should get a list of the ones that work and post them. (Oil Temp anyone???)
     
  5. Jan 16, 2015 at 5:46 PM
    #5
    ptwob311

    ptwob311 Curios Noob

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2015
    Member:
    #146010
    Messages:
    53
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    P
    Colorado Springs
    Vehicle:
    '15 Tacoma TSS 4x4
    Bone Stock :(
    Awesome.
    That kinda seals the deal for me.
    Making a sticky thread with a list of PIDs would be AMAZING!!!
     
  6. Mar 24, 2015 at 5:50 PM
    #6
    Acewmr

    Acewmr New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2015
    Member:
    #151708
    Messages:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Vehicle:
    07 Prerunner
    I have a 2007 PreRunner and tried the equation. It keeps coming back with a no data message. Is there possibly another PID for mine?
     
  7. May 22, 2015 at 4:51 PM
    #7
    Creel

    Creel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Member:
    #21823
    Messages:
    56
    Gender:
    Male
    Georgia
    Vehicle:
    08 SWB DC PreRunner OR
    I'm getting the same thing for my 08. Any ideas?
     
  8. Jul 10, 2015 at 11:30 AM
    #8
    Gerrrr

    Gerrrr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2013
    Member:
    #110850
    Messages:
    97
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jeremy
    Ottawa, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2017 Blazing Blue Metallic (Limited 2013 Silver Streak DC Auto - Retired)
    Starting over.......
    Hi All,

    I just wanted to share an useful bit of info about using the iPhone with OBD2 readers. As you know you need to use the WiFi version since the iPhone will not connect to the bluetooth version of the ELM327. I had been pretty frustrated since in order to make the WiFi connection to the ELM327 with my iPhone it I had to enable the WiFi on my phone which would override my cellular data connection. So, as long as connected to the reader you could not use iTunes Radio, google maps or send receive e-mail (not that you should while driving) etc.

    There is a work around!

    When you make the WiFi connection to the OBD2 adapter (ELM327 in my case), set the connection to as a static IP rather than Dynamic, as it automagically does on its own. When you make a static connection the IP address will be the address for the OBD2 device and the subnet mask will be 255.255.255.0. These two are just copied over from the dynamic configuration that was resolved automatically. The secret is to leave the router and DNS entries blank without any numbers entered.

    This will then allow you to connect to a data network via cellular and to the OBD2 reader via WiFi.

    Perhaps others already knew this, I sure as heck did not and it has made me very happy to be able to run Fusion, Google Map and ITunes radio at the same time.

    BTW : Props to the OP for sorting out the trans temp equation, I had been entering 2182 as the OBD mode which was defeating me for months, Thanks.
     
    JimboAnz and WebberLander like this.
  9. Aug 25, 2016 at 2:30 PM
    #9
    zkdawg

    zkdawg Greenville Taco

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Member:
    #33500
    Messages:
    289
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    zach
    Mauldin, Sc
    Vehicle:
    06 DCLB TRD Sport
    Fog light mod, JBA LT headers, drop-in k&n filter, energy bushings, tried fold topper, 2nd air filter removed, all new stereo system minus subs, plastisol the wheels.
    I have an 06 and getting the no date was received message. Any ideas?
     
  10. Sep 2, 2016 at 10:35 PM
    #10
    tsb

    tsb 2018 National Champions

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2013
    Member:
    #119376
    Messages:
    227
    First Name:
    Dick
    Clemson
    Vehicle:
    '14 4X4 DBCSB TRD OR
    N-FAB nurfs, ARE cover, Gentex mirror, 20% tint
    pid code is different for <2009 vs 2010+

    <2009 = 21d9
    2010+ = 2182

    so i'm guessing you need

    OBD Mode = 21
    PID Number = d9
     
  11. Sep 15, 2016 at 1:53 PM
    #11
    SethB

    SethB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Member:
    #42175
    Messages:
    70
    Gender:
    Male
    TDY
    Vehicle:
    2009 DCLB 4X4 Auto
    OME Suspension, SPC UCAs, ARB Bumper, Smittybilt Winch, Ext Brakelines, SOS Sliders, 4x Innovation Rear bumper
    For my 2009 changing the PID to D9 and the equations to ((((E*256)+F) * (7/100) – 400)/10) for pan temp and ((((G*256)+H) * (7/100) – 400)/10) for converter temp worked.

    Finally able to monitor the transmission, and easy fluid changes too
     
    nfs257 likes this.
  12. Dec 10, 2016 at 8:29 PM
    #12
    Aztex

    Aztex Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2016
    Member:
    #201193
    Messages:
    117
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2013 Tacoma TRD 4x4
    Killer!

    Just did this!

    EZ PZ!

    Thanks!

    W
     
  13. Jun 2, 2017 at 10:34 PM
    #13
    Brward3

    Brward3 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2017
    Member:
    #220561
    Messages:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brian
    This worked for my Tacoma but will it work on my wife's 2009 Nissan Xterra or is there a different formula I need to use?
     
  14. Jun 9, 2017 at 9:12 AM
    #14
    WebberLander

    WebberLander Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Member:
    #126706
    Messages:
    1,672
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mark
    Webberville, TX
    Vehicle:
    2011 SR5 4x4
    Overlanding Rig
    I know this is an old thread now but very much appreciated this bit of info above. I was able to monitor all my gauges in real-time as well as listen to a podcast this morning on the way to my jobsite this morning. Thanks a bunch.
     
    buzzkill911 likes this.
  15. Jun 12, 2017 at 5:17 AM
    #15
    JimboAnz

    JimboAnz #OldNorm

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2014
    Member:
    #122157
    Messages:
    20,453
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jimbo
    Charlotte (Concord) NC
    Vehicle:
    2016 RAM 1500 EcoDiesel
    Got this obd fusion app. Works great with ios.

    IMG_1131.jpg IMG_1132.jpg
     
    [kiesster], Biscuits and Climberclimb like this.
  16. Jun 13, 2017 at 10:45 AM
    #16
    Larzzzz

    Larzzzz Grande' Ricardo

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Member:
    #21609
    Messages:
    1,420
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Larry
    MA
    Vehicle:
    '06 dclb 300+ kmiles
    Aux back up lights, Bed lights, Re-located trailer plug, Good dooby, a.k.a. jumper cable mod, Heated seats, back up camera,
    Thanks for figuring this out! It works well with my cheapo deluxe reader. Tried to copy and paste the formula with no joy. Had to input it from scratch.
    Screenshot_20170613-134458.jpg
     
    Climberclimb and JimboAnz like this.
  17. Jul 21, 2017 at 8:54 AM
    #17
    jpowell1161

    jpowell1161 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2017
    Member:
    #206892
    Messages:
    100
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jake
    Vehicle:
    2015 Tacoma "Charlotte"
    JimboAnz likes this.
  18. Jul 21, 2017 at 1:46 PM
    #18
    Climberclimb

    Climberclimb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2014
    Member:
    #145047
    Messages:
    145
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Stacey
    British Columbia
    Vehicle:
    15 Tacoma dclb SR5
    Firestone air bags, some lights, heated seats, RTT.
    Hi everyone, I entered the formula for trans temp and it works great - thanks everybody for the info!!!! Question though; I purchased the toyota specific pids and it shows trans temp (pan) and tc temp. They seem to run at lower temps than the custom trans temp I programed. Has anyone else compared and if so which are you using? Cheers
    Forgot to mention - wifi obd connection and Fusion app.
     
  19. Jul 21, 2017 at 4:10 PM
    #19
    Paul123

    Paul123 Web-Wheeler

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2016
    Member:
    #179510
    Messages:
    818
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Paul
    Reno
    Vehicle:
    2014 TRDOR pyrite mica, 3" lift 33's, 4.56’s
    Just did this and it worked great! Thanks to the fly by night OP!
     
  20. Jul 22, 2017 at 5:22 AM
    #20
    JimboAnz

    JimboAnz #OldNorm

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2014
    Member:
    #122157
    Messages:
    20,453
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jimbo
    Charlotte (Concord) NC
    Vehicle:
    2016 RAM 1500 EcoDiesel
To Top