1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

How To Power Entune Outside Of Vehicle?

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by Harsh, Jan 20, 2021.

  1. Jan 20, 2021 at 5:08 AM
    #1
    Harsh

    Harsh [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2016
    Member:
    #201876
    Messages:
    61
    Gender:
    Male
    Norfolk, VA
    Vehicle:
    2014 White Tacoma TRD Sport
    Like a doofus, I removed the stock radio from the truck (2014 DCSB) before writing down the preset stations and removing a CD. Is there a safe way to power up the radio to remove the CD and write down the presets? I really don't want to have the pull the new radio out in order to accomplish this. Getting it in with all of the extra wiring from the Maestro was a nightmare.
     
  2. Jan 20, 2021 at 5:19 AM
    #2
    Key-Rei

    Key-Rei Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2017
    Member:
    #221942
    Messages:
    4,688
    First Name:
    Key
    Florida
    Vehicle:
    2010 TRD Off-Road 6Spd 4x4 209BSM
    Locker anytime Fog Lights anytime Full LED light conversion TRD cat back Rear cat delete Exaust Y reroute away from actuator Alloy Clutch master 2000 4Runner "Dog Leg" shift leaver Marlin shift seats and bushing Rear seat delete Rear diff breather extension Chrome grille swap Debadge Rear seat delete Honda blower motor beefy plug and wire mod Anytime 12v and USB with volt gauge in bed Blue Sea fuse box Hella AND 70's Caddy horns Low profile recessed hex drain plug swaps Alluminum battery strap 7pin relocated Backup cam on anytime Various other creature comfort and personal taste mods.
    Should be pretty easy, if you've got a pin out that shows what wires the aftermarket adapter connect to on the stock harness you should be able to figure out which pin is your +12 volt in and ground, on an aftermarket harness it's usually the red and black wires, I would put a fuse in line but you could just make a quick jumper harness and run it off your battery.
     
    SR-71A likes this.
  3. Jan 20, 2021 at 5:42 AM
    #3
    Harsh

    Harsh [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2016
    Member:
    #201876
    Messages:
    61
    Gender:
    Male
    Norfolk, VA
    Vehicle:
    2014 White Tacoma TRD Sport
    Thanks, I do have a motorcycle battery and a Metra connector I can hook up. I was worried about the current from the battery hooking it up directly, but adding the fuse in line should take care of that. Sometimes it is the simplest things that evade us.
     
  4. Jan 20, 2021 at 7:33 AM
    #4
    Key-Rei

    Key-Rei Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2017
    Member:
    #221942
    Messages:
    4,688
    First Name:
    Key
    Florida
    Vehicle:
    2010 TRD Off-Road 6Spd 4x4 209BSM
    Locker anytime Fog Lights anytime Full LED light conversion TRD cat back Rear cat delete Exaust Y reroute away from actuator Alloy Clutch master 2000 4Runner "Dog Leg" shift leaver Marlin shift seats and bushing Rear seat delete Rear diff breather extension Chrome grille swap Debadge Rear seat delete Honda blower motor beefy plug and wire mod Anytime 12v and USB with volt gauge in bed Blue Sea fuse box Hella AND 70's Caddy horns Low profile recessed hex drain plug swaps Alluminum battery strap 7pin relocated Backup cam on anytime Various other creature comfort and personal taste mods.
    The fuse won't do anything to limit current, it will however protect the circuit from over amperage, but the radio is only going to draw as much amperage as it needs, the battery won't supply more current than the device demands, unless there's a short that drops resistance. Well that is up into the point where either you blow the fuse or your wires become the fuse.

    Confusing I know, and I'm not even 100% sure I got all that right. Something something OHMs law and all that.

    Just know the fuse is there for your safety, but even without a fuse so long as you connect the hot wire and the ground or neutral wire in the correct places you can't give it too much power with a battery direct connection because circuits with a load just work like that.

    I think what you're actually worried about is over voltage, but the radio is a 12 volt system and the battery is a 12 volt system which means that the radio and the battery should be relatively happy anywhere in the range of 10 to 14 volts, and a 12 volt battery should never be able to exceed about 14 volts.

    But yeah, I'm not an electrical engineering by education by any means but Volts, Amps, and, Current are all different things.

    The important thing is to remember +12 in and ground/neutral in the right spots and you should be good to go.
     
  5. Jan 20, 2021 at 9:03 AM
    #5
    destin_meeks

    destin_meeks I used to fix people's crappy stereos

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2017
    Member:
    #223997
    Messages:
    2,955
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Destin
    Tuscaloosa, AL
    Vehicle:
    2017 SSM DoubleCab TRD Off-Road 4x4
  6. Jan 20, 2021 at 10:15 AM
    #6
    Harsh

    Harsh [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2016
    Member:
    #201876
    Messages:
    61
    Gender:
    Male
    Norfolk, VA
    Vehicle:
    2014 White Tacoma TRD Sport
    I have that Metra connector. I was worried about the current because the last time I tried to power an old Alpine outside of the vehicle doing the same thing that has been suggested, to remove a CD, it kept blowing the radio's fuse. With the stock radio not having a fuse in the radio itself, I didn't want to inadvertently mess it up. Someday when I sell the truck I will put the stock radio back in and pull the Kenwood I just installed.
     
  7. Jan 20, 2021 at 10:28 AM
    #7
    destin_meeks

    destin_meeks I used to fix people's crappy stereos

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2017
    Member:
    #223997
    Messages:
    2,955
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Destin
    Tuscaloosa, AL
    Vehicle:
    2017 SSM DoubleCab TRD Off-Road 4x4
    If a fuse was blowing, then there was a deeper issue. wires were getting crossed or the radio had an internal issue. You want to make sure unused wires in the metro harness stay capped and aren't exposed. you want to make sure the radio chassis doesn't touch the battery.
     
  8. Jan 20, 2021 at 10:56 AM
    #8
    Harsh

    Harsh [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2016
    Member:
    #201876
    Messages:
    61
    Gender:
    Male
    Norfolk, VA
    Vehicle:
    2014 White Tacoma TRD Sport
    Yah, I don't know what the deal was. The power and ground wires were isolated from each other so who knows. Other than being severely dated the radio was working perfectly when it was removed.
     

Products Discussed in

To Top