1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

How To: Replacing Spark Plugs and Wires on 5VZ-FE 3.4 V6

Discussion in '1st Gen. Tacomas (1995-2004)' started by TacomaJPP, Jan 31, 2013.

  1. Sep 28, 2015 at 7:42 PM
    #61
    4WD

    4WD cRaZy oLdmAn

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Member:
    #19185
    Messages:
    23,973
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Doug
    Lakeside, Ca / Gardnerville, Nevada
    Vehicle:
    2004 DC TRD 4x
    Grey wire MOD, deck plate, diff breather MOD, 2nd gen. OME 883# on Tundra 5100's, OMD custom 3" leafsprings, rear shock relocation, Ivan Stewart TRD rims w/285/75/16's, '02 bumper MOD, Famous Fabrications sliders , LED interior/exterior lights, bed bar, Custom tube bumper, Old school KC day lighters,Red Ring 8" HID flood, Kenwood vhf 2M.. umm some other shit I'm forgetting right now
    You don't need to gap new plugs , i've always run denso (oem) or bosch (which some had problems with, i never did) & I wouldn't throw a lot of thread bullshit on plugs if prop. tightened shouldn't be an issue , how is it running now ?
     
  2. Oct 11, 2015 at 11:36 PM
    #62
    OldChrome

    OldChrome Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2014
    Member:
    #144615
    Messages:
    48
    Gender:
    Male
    It's running rough. I created a post to try and get help fixing this. It has me stumped at the moment. Here is the link:
    https://www.tacomaworld.com/threads/need-help-chasing-down-sudden-rough-idle.395367/
     
  3. Oct 20, 2015 at 8:18 AM
    #63
    PrerunnerVsix

    PrerunnerVsix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2015
    Member:
    #159057
    Messages:
    164
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ali
    Vehicle:
    2000 Tacoma prerunner V6
    20x9 on low pros
    Replaced the spark plugs about a week ago and everything was working fine except 1 coil pack bolt broke before 69ft lbs but I put a new one and it was good , but this morning the engine started vibrating. I used a torque wrench at 13ftlb for spark plugs. What could be wrong? I did use dual ground plugs from dealer
     
  4. Oct 20, 2015 at 3:17 PM
    #64
    PrerunnerVsix

    PrerunnerVsix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2015
    Member:
    #159057
    Messages:
    164
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ali
    Vehicle:
    2000 Tacoma prerunner V6
    20x9 on low pros
    new spark plug wires fixed the misfire
     
  5. Oct 20, 2015 at 3:26 PM
    #65
    Bullfrog 75

    Bullfrog 75 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Member:
    #163433
    Messages:
    71
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jeremy
    Vehicle:
    2002 red prerunner
    69'lbs? I think that sounds a little high, hopefully that was a type-o.
     
  6. Oct 20, 2015 at 3:31 PM
    #66
    PrerunnerVsix

    PrerunnerVsix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2015
    Member:
    #159057
    Messages:
    164
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ali
    Vehicle:
    2000 Tacoma prerunner V6
    20x9 on low pros
    Exactly what I was thinking. 69 lb for that little bolt seems way to high but sure enough thats correct, its on the 1st page of the thread and I also checked the fsm
     
  7. Oct 20, 2015 at 3:37 PM
    #67
    Bullfrog 75

    Bullfrog 75 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Member:
    #163433
    Messages:
    71
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jeremy
    Vehicle:
    2002 red prerunner
    Wow really! Okay I'll take your word for it.
     
  8. Oct 20, 2015 at 3:38 PM
    #68
    PrerunnerVsix

    PrerunnerVsix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2015
    Member:
    #159057
    Messages:
    164
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ali
    Vehicle:
    2000 Tacoma prerunner V6
    20x9 on low pros
    I wouldn't tighten them that much tho! The bolt broke when I tried to tighten to 69lb , I was lucky the bolt head was still attached to the broken part and I was able to screw it out.
     
  9. Oct 20, 2015 at 3:44 PM
    #69
    Bullfrog 75

    Bullfrog 75 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Member:
    #163433
    Messages:
    71
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jeremy
    Vehicle:
    2002 red prerunner
    Just confirming that said ft not inch? I truly did not see it in front page so I really don't know, just trying to learn as much as I can about these trucks
     
    Last edited: Oct 20, 2015
  10. Oct 20, 2015 at 3:46 PM
    #70
    PrerunnerVsix

    PrerunnerVsix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2015
    Member:
    #159057
    Messages:
    164
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ali
    Vehicle:
    2000 Tacoma prerunner V6
    20x9 on low pros
    Shit... so thats why it broke. Yep its inch...
     
  11. Oct 20, 2015 at 3:46 PM
    #71
    Bullfrog 75

    Bullfrog 75 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Member:
    #163433
    Messages:
    71
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jeremy
    Vehicle:
    2002 red prerunner
    Okay, that does say inch pounds though bro. I read that in the awesome right up just now.
     
  12. Oct 20, 2015 at 3:47 PM
    #72
    PrerunnerVsix

    PrerunnerVsix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2015
    Member:
    #159057
    Messages:
    164
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ali
    Vehicle:
    2000 Tacoma prerunner V6
    20x9 on low pros
    Man, I really screwed up
     
  13. Oct 20, 2015 at 3:49 PM
    #73
    Bullfrog 75

    Bullfrog 75 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Member:
    #163433
    Messages:
    71
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jeremy
    Vehicle:
    2002 red prerunner
    Everything is fixable!
     
  14. Oct 21, 2015 at 2:57 PM
    #74
    mystik cabs

    mystik cabs Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2015
    Member:
    #159042
    Messages:
    134
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brian
    North Stonington, CT
    Vehicle:
    '04 TRD DBL Cab
    Man, I am more confused by the varying info out there...
    My truck is a '04 with 102, 269 miles, I bought it new. Today I pulled the factory plugs and wires. 3 plugs were NGK BKR5EKPB-11, 3 were Denso K16TR11. None looked too bad, gaps ranged from .040 to .052. I looked all over for gap specs on the NGK BKR5EKPB-11 and came up with .043. So I gapped each side of the dual grounds to that, installed new NGK wire set RC-TE66, fired it up and took a spin....runs great. Did I gap them correctly? Out of the box the were all around .020 for each ground. I opened them up to the .043. I s the gap supposed to total .043? As in gapping each ground to the .021 they were out of the box? FSM just says .043 :confused: :help:
     
  15. Oct 21, 2015 at 5:16 PM
    #75
    keakar

    keakar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2014
    Member:
    #139537
    Messages:
    5,261
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    karl
    louisiana
    Vehicle:
    2006 4runner sport 4.7L V8 (white)
    used to have - 99 2.4L I4 5 lug & 04 prerunner v6
    yes you did it right, im told the gap should be .043 and only use the two prong plugs in denso or ngk brands, I used a set of six of the Denso K16TR11
     
  16. Oct 25, 2015 at 9:27 PM
    #76
    OldChrome

    OldChrome Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2014
    Member:
    #144615
    Messages:
    48
    Gender:
    Male
    Don't mean to confuse you, but I was all over online a few weeks ago about this and the answer I found was, no, you don't gap them. Someone on another forum called NGK and heard that straight from them. I don't know. If it's running good, that's confusing. You'd think it would be running bad.
     
  17. Oct 26, 2015 at 10:46 AM
    #77
    mystik cabs

    mystik cabs Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2015
    Member:
    #159042
    Messages:
    134
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brian
    North Stonington, CT
    Vehicle:
    '04 TRD DBL Cab
    Nope, it runs perfectly. It was running perfectly on the old plugs with even more gap so I guess it'll be fine.
     
  18. Jan 31, 2016 at 3:41 PM
    #78
    zacharypaul89

    zacharypaul89 Eat right, be fit, die anyway

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    Member:
    #43297
    Messages:
    12,526
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Zach
    Georgia
    Vehicle:
    2015 4WD DCSB
    Just replaced the plugs and wires on mine. Took about 45 mins
     
  19. Jan 31, 2016 at 7:20 PM
    #79
    ThunderOne

    ThunderOne Average Contributor

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Member:
    #17473
    Messages:
    8,837
    First Name:
    Mitchell
    Nashville
    Vehicle:
    1ST GEN OR GTFO
    PlastiDERP
    Needs to be stickied
     
  20. Feb 20, 2016 at 9:02 AM
    #80
    dirtychemist

    dirtychemist Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Member:
    #116034
    Messages:
    32
    Gender:
    Male
    Just swapped mine out last night. 45 minutes is about what it took going at my own pace and it was handy to have two extensions. One long and one short. No anti sieze was used and I didn't gap anything. I had to actually research why I had two different types of plugs but apparently that's how it comes from the factory. I unbolted the bracket on the driver side with the 10 mm socket to get more access to the plugs. Be careful removing the boots though because the wires WILL separate if you pull on them too hard. My truck seemed to run a little smoother after having factory plugs for 156K miles.
     

Products Discussed in

To Top