1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

How To: Secondary Stand Alone Fuse Block Install

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by H2Otx, Oct 27, 2010.

  1. May 27, 2014 at 10:07 PM
    #101
    Chepo

    Chepo Tankoma!

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Member:
    #63159
    Messages:
    824
    Gender:
    Male
    Mexico City
    Vehicle:
    '11 TRD Sport
    Lots...
    That's a clean setup!!!!

    Tomorrow I'll buy last things for my new fuse panel...

    So far it will look like this (of course, painted in black):

    [​IMG]
     
  2. Jul 1, 2014 at 4:29 PM
    #102
    Penten

    Penten Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Member:
    #109876
    Messages:
    1,185
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Peter
    Iowa
    Hey guys anyone have a design for a 1st Gen that I can borrow lol I have a few lights coming in and I already have a 12 fuse box
     
  3. Jul 29, 2014 at 10:40 AM
    #103
    Z E R 0

    Z E R 0 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Member:
    #117319
    Messages:
    357
    Gender:
    Male
    California
    Vehicle:
    02 Tacoma 4x4
    I have to do this!
     
  4. Aug 15, 2014 at 9:48 PM
    #104
    GZeus24

    GZeus24 bystander

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2014
    Member:
    #127076
    Messages:
    596
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Gary
    Texas
    Vehicle:
    2014 DCLB Sport
    lightly modified
    I am planning to install an extra fuse box as per this thread but want to include a relay (I'm one of those who leaves things on!).

    Does anyone know a thread that shows how to install a relay? Do I need more than one relay? Shyte, I really suck at electrical. :(
     
    Toynado likes this.
  5. Aug 26, 2014 at 7:53 PM
    #105
    steveo27

    steveo27 Ask me about my weiner

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2013
    Member:
    #110326
    Messages:
    4,986
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steve
    Pittsburgh
    Vehicle:
    '11 TRD Off Road & 1992 VW GLI
    The same shit everyone else has.
    Awesome thread. Ive found some decent info in here but I still have a question..

    I wanna run an aux fuse block but only need one with 3 circuits. The smallest self contained fuseblock Ive found is a Blue Sea 6 circuit fuse block.

    Is there anything smaller out there than a 6 circuit block?

    :beer:
     
  6. Aug 26, 2014 at 7:59 PM
    #106
    logcabinwc

    logcabinwc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Member:
    #71584
    Messages:
    1,541
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Micah
    SF East Bay
    Vehicle:
    08 4d 4x4 White V6 TRD
    Old Man Emu 885s with Nitrocharged 90000, Bilstein 5100 in the back with AllPro 3 spring progressive AAL, 16 inch Baja Black 6-spoke alloy wheels, Flow Master exhaust, bed lights, Pioneer HD radio, Uniden CB Radio, K&N Air filter, BAMF Sliders w/kickout, Relentless Aluminum IFS Skid, 24 LED light bar, custom/homebuilt expedition style bed rack and basket combo, and Body Armor rear plate bumper.
    This will be totally unhelpful.. but I would just do the six circuit fuse block. I was originally going to do six but thought "what the hell I'll get the twelve" and I'm glad I did.
    I don't think a 3 circuit one is made. Always could check your local auto store though.
     
  7. Aug 26, 2014 at 8:00 PM
    #107
    AZDesertTRD

    AZDesertTRD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Member:
    #77969
    Messages:
    302
    Gender:
    Female
    First Name:
    Pamela
    Arizona
    Vehicle:
    2012 PreRunner Sport
    :popcorn: Hmmm, very interesting.
     
  8. Aug 26, 2014 at 8:03 PM
    #108
    steveo27

    steveo27 Ask me about my weiner

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2013
    Member:
    #110326
    Messages:
    4,986
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steve
    Pittsburgh
    Vehicle:
    '11 TRD Off Road & 1992 VW GLI
    The same shit everyone else has.
    Thanks for the input. I'll probably go with the 6 slot block just becaust. Im sure Ill find a use for the 3 extra slots

    :beer:
     
  9. Sep 11, 2014 at 8:47 AM
    #109
    Spoon93

    Spoon93 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2013
    Member:
    #105234
    Messages:
    871
    Gender:
    Male
    Rogue valley
    Vehicle:
    06 DCSB SR5
    Ok, this is probably a stupid question but here it goes;
    Do people wire their winches thru these fuse boxes?

    On WARN's website it gives the Motor Current in amps for different weight being winched. For the M8000 it draws over 100 amps at about the same weight as our Taco's. I am no electrician but I have been reading a crap ton on this.
     
  10. Sep 11, 2014 at 9:04 AM
    #110
    Sandman614

    Sandman614 Snarky TWSS elf, Travis #hotsavannahdotcom, LRGRNR

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Member:
    #45273
    Messages:
    34,479
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tim
    Garner, NC/Boone, NC
    Vehicle:
    '06 SR5 Off Road
    ARB Front Bumper, Projector Headlights w/Slimcubby 4300K HID's, Oznium LED's, LED taillights, DIY Washable Cabin Moose Filter, Sockmonkey SR5 Off Road, Aux Audio plug, OME 886x, OME Nitrochargers, Wheelers 3 Leaf Progressive AAL, ImMrYo Rear-View Mirror Lift Bracket, Dodge D-Rings
    Gawd I hope they don't. Straight to battery should be the only way.
     
  11. Sep 11, 2014 at 9:06 AM
    #111
    Spoon93

    Spoon93 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2013
    Member:
    #105234
    Messages:
    871
    Gender:
    Male
    Rogue valley
    Vehicle:
    06 DCSB SR5
    Ok, that is what I thought. Thanks dude!
     
  12. Oct 23, 2014 at 8:18 PM
    #112
    steveo27

    steveo27 Ask me about my weiner

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2013
    Member:
    #110326
    Messages:
    4,986
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steve
    Pittsburgh
    Vehicle:
    '11 TRD Off Road & 1992 VW GLI
    The same shit everyone else has.
    Bumping this back up.

    Finally ordered a fuse block, a few relay holders, and a ground block. Ive been searching and looking at pictures of how people have been mounting everything and noticed all the pictures Ive seen are of trucks with automatic transmissions.

    I plan on installing the fuse block and other bits in a truck with a 6 speed. The reservoir for the clutch master sits right where everyone mounts their bases to hold the fuse blocks.

    Has any one installed one of these setups in a truck with a manual transmission? Any pictures?

    :beer:
     
    timinNC likes this.
  13. Nov 9, 2014 at 7:03 AM
    #113
    Tractorman

    Tractorman Just A Dumb Farmer

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2014
    Member:
    #136355
    Messages:
    17,053
    First Name:
    Stupid
    Misery
    Vehicle:
    2015 DCSB / MGM
    Clazzio leather seat covers, SCS wheels, Fold-A-Cover, LED bed light, Weather Tech window guards, Weather Tech floor liners,LED under hood light, MUTH signal mirrors,Firestick under tailgate light, temp-compass-auto dimming mirror, N-Fab step nerf bars, window tint, Firestone Ride Rites with Daystar cradles, G-Fab sill protectors,
  14. Nov 9, 2014 at 7:32 AM
    #114
    Trowbocop

    Trowbocop Adventurer

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Member:
    #76190
    Messages:
    1,688
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Nashville, TN
    Vehicle:
    03 Tacoma SR5 4x4
    Sub'd, I've got a blue sea system fuse block waiting to be installed. Thanks for the pics & write-ups!
     
  15. Nov 9, 2014 at 8:16 AM
    #115
    seafur

    seafur Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2014
    Member:
    #133755
    Messages:
    115
    Gender:
    Male
    Pacific Northwest
    Vehicle:
    2014 DCSB MT TRD OR
    Sprinter bed tiedowns, Aux fuse box, AIO key, 3-way canopy light switch, 12V bed outlet, Dual Battery AGM G35, Viair OBA, Uni-filter mod
    Here's what I did on my manual:

    http://www.tacomaworld.com/forum/2nd-gen-tacomas/339787-aux-fuse-box-2014-dc-trd-w-manual.html

    Seafur
     
  16. Nov 9, 2014 at 5:38 PM
    #116
    steveo27

    steveo27 Ask me about my weiner

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2013
    Member:
    #110326
    Messages:
    4,986
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steve
    Pittsburgh
    Vehicle:
    '11 TRD Off Road & 1992 VW GLI
    The same shit everyone else has.
    Thanks.

    Heres what I came up with -

    C049A195-87C0-4F33-9B1E-91FD103F3D43_zps_a8e9763aac3bb5f2fc703653f041e3d477cdfe22.jpg

    492EF4F8-3D5B-43DD-8045-C8D0AEC484D9_zps_2159c20b554a6781788fcd78ce5bff37d197c6f8.jpg

    B0AB8742-4C58-4356-88C1-307E202A6BF2_zps_cea7517987d9b19f2bf378b0bf6ec8855e9881ba.jpg

    8E55666B-B9E8-4F10-A711-8996621BADD2_zps_5849f196ab4c9860216f766aacbdbd0f447a8123.jpg

    I need to finish mocking up the wiring still

    :beer:
     
    GonzoQuick and hoverlover like this.
  17. Nov 9, 2014 at 6:15 PM
    #117
    lawless

    lawless the rent is too damn high

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Member:
    #42551
    Messages:
    2,520
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Lawson
    San Jose, CA
    Vehicle:
    2012 dcsb mgm sc
  18. Nov 17, 2014 at 11:33 PM
    #118
    RedlineTRD

    RedlineTRD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    Member:
    #116261
    Messages:
    781
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kyle
    Peyton, Colorado
    Vehicle:
    2017 Tacoma TRD OR DCSB MT
    Working on it.
    Sub'd.

    Going to take care of this soon, it looks so clean. Why are some people running two breakers? One for stereo system another for accessories? lights, winches etc....
     
  19. Dec 4, 2014 at 7:35 AM
    #119
    npiccoli

    npiccoli New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2014
    Member:
    #142617
    Messages:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Nick
    Say I wanted to do this same thing, but make it so the power to the fuse panel is toggled via a switch (click me), could I just run a wire from the circuit breaker to the switch and from the switch to the fuse box? Do I have to run 4-gauge wire, or can I run something smaller?
     
  20. Dec 4, 2014 at 8:01 AM
    #120
    MarkH

    MarkH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2013
    Member:
    #111055
    Messages:
    158
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mark
    San Jose, CA
    Vehicle:
    13 PreRunner TRD Off Road
    Use a relay to switch the power, most switches will not handle this amount of current. Then you only have to run a small gauge wire from the switch to the relay in the engine bay.
     

Products Discussed in

To Top