1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

HU pioneer ground help

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by K1992f, Apr 30, 2011.

  1. Apr 30, 2011 at 12:08 PM
    #1
    K1992f

    K1992f [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Member:
    #47980
    Messages:
    871
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kanon
    Dirty Hanover pa ...
    Vehicle:
    2012 tacoma TRD sport fully loaded
    6" fabteck 20" fuel hostage 33" nitto MTs
    Ok I got the p4300 pioneer I don't see a good place to ground the relay for the bypass wire and the HU wire 09 Tacoma any help would be great thanks sorry my first time hooking up a HU
     
  2. Apr 30, 2011 at 12:18 PM
    #2
    Endurozw

    Endurozw War Damn Eagle!

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Member:
    #17122
    Messages:
    216
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Zach
    Birmingham, Alabama
    Vehicle:
    09 PreRunner DC SR5 w/ tow package
    Fold-a-cover G4 - Wranger Duratrac 265/75/16 Audio Upgrades: Pioneer AVH-P4200DVD / JL Audio HD600/4 amp / Hybrid Audio 6.5 Clarus up front / Arc Audio 10 in subwoofer
    It was probably overkill where I ran the ground to but I ran it down to the center console by the shifter and placed it under a bolt there. I couldn't find a good place up by the head unit and didn't feel like drilling into that frame bar in the back. Someone else may have found a more convenient spot.
     
  3. Apr 30, 2011 at 12:18 PM
    #3
    Bumponapickle

    Bumponapickle Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Member:
    #32137
    Messages:
    73
    Gender:
    Male
    Ontario, Canada
    Vehicle:
    09 TRD + Leather DCLB
    Old Man Emu 3 inch lift + AAL, Satoshi and Pioneer Avic Z130BT
    are you using either a scosche a metra wire harness...doesnt matter...why not just tie into that ground from the harness?
     
  4. Apr 30, 2011 at 12:24 PM
    #4
    K1992f

    K1992f [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Member:
    #47980
    Messages:
    871
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kanon
    Dirty Hanover pa ...
    Vehicle:
    2012 tacoma TRD sport fully loaded
    6" fabteck 20" fuel hostage 33" nitto MTs
    yes I got one from amzon it say 87 up seems like it's the right one ?? Is that the right one
     
  5. Apr 30, 2011 at 12:32 PM
    #5
    Bumponapickle

    Bumponapickle Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Member:
    #32137
    Messages:
    73
    Gender:
    Male
    Ontario, Canada
    Vehicle:
    09 TRD + Leather DCLB
    Old Man Emu 3 inch lift + AAL, Satoshi and Pioneer Avic Z130BT
    That should b the one....part number TA02B...all u need to do is tie the HU ground to the black wire on the TA02B harness and your other cable for the bypass and u shud b good to go...soldering all connections is the best also...hope that helps
     
  6. Apr 30, 2011 at 12:51 PM
    #6
    K1992f

    K1992f [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Member:
    #47980
    Messages:
    871
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kanon
    Dirty Hanover pa ...
    Vehicle:
    2012 tacoma TRD sport fully loaded
    6" fabteck 20" fuel hostage 33" nitto MTs
    TA02B yes thats the one I got thanks man I didn't think of that lol like said my first hu I'm doing
     
  7. Apr 30, 2011 at 2:13 PM
    #7
    mattg43

    mattg43 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011
    Member:
    #51640
    Messages:
    846
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    Texas
    Vehicle:
    08 Prerunner SR5 DC
    SwingCase, driver side. PVC Bike rack. Aftermarket stereo.
    Unless you are running new power wires (something else needing power - radar detector, new 12v outlet, etc) then the factory ground is a good spot. If you can trace it back to its grounding point that is the best bet (not feasible in some vehicles), but you should have no issues using the harness ground for something like this.
     
  8. Apr 30, 2011 at 3:07 PM
    #8
    DevL

    DevL Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Member:
    #31952
    Messages:
    1,923
    Gender:
    Male
    I think the harness ground wire may be inadequate... I am getting some feedback and I think it may be that little ground wire. At some point I will figure it out.
     
  9. Apr 30, 2011 at 8:19 PM
    #9
    dolbytone

    dolbytone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Member:
    #37165
    Messages:
    320
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    09 TRD Off Road
    I grounded mine somewhere near the parking break where I put the switch.
     
  10. Apr 30, 2011 at 9:56 PM
    #10
    mattg43

    mattg43 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011
    Member:
    #51640
    Messages:
    846
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    Texas
    Vehicle:
    08 Prerunner SR5 DC
    SwingCase, driver side. PVC Bike rack. Aftermarket stereo.
    I did this bypass in an F150 about a year ago, not this truck, but I believe (though I dont know for sure) the parking brake sensor is on a different circuit than the chassis ground for the head unit, and would be surprised if it is intorducing noise, but I would consider a small drill bit, then a self-tapping screw into the brace behind the dash as a grounding point to test it. Double check, but that *Should* be about as good as it gets.
     
  11. Apr 30, 2011 at 9:58 PM
    #11
    KalamaKid

    KalamaKid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Member:
    #8323
    Messages:
    5,249
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jason
    Socialist Republic of Oregon
    same shit as everyone else
    Theres a good ground just behind the parking break bro. Stick your head under there, you'll see it!
     
  12. May 1, 2011 at 7:45 AM
    #12
    Rocketball

    Rocketball If The World Didn't Suck, We'd All Fall Off

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Member:
    #14869
    Messages:
    1,517
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Scott
    Westminster, MD
    Vehicle:
    08 Speedway Blue DC Sport 4x4
    Pioneer head unit, PAC steering wheel control modual, Hard wired Sirius radio, Hard wired radar detector, Hella Supertone horns, Blacked out badges, Smoked Tails, BHLM (color matched Speedway Blue), T-Rex Eyelids, Black Powder Coated Billet Grill, Color Matched Engine Cover, Lund in channel vent visors, FJ Cruiser wheels, Leer 100XQ shell, OEM bed mat, Piezo beeper for locking doors, Tinted front side windows, Black Westin bull bar, Aires tube steps, Mini Maglite Mod, D-Cell Maglite Mod, Weathertech Digifit Floor Mats
    I fed a wire down into the passenger footwell area and found a bolt near the kick panel to use. Worked like a charm.
     
  13. May 1, 2011 at 7:56 AM
    #13
    darkgreentaco

    darkgreentaco XXXL Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Member:
    #38712
    Messages:
    2,227
    Gender:
    Male
    NorCaL
    Vehicle:
    Timberland Rocket
    King RR C/O's, Extra mustard, All-Pro expdtn Leaf, sesame seed bun, Icon UCA's Fox Resi's BAMFsliders, sweet candy coating, LCAskids, diffcover 17" Addicts Yukon 4.56 35" Dynapro MT's
    Use the ground in the wiring harness. installed my new alpine HU a couple of weeks ago, with new amps and subs, and no feedback or anyproblems. I have a 09 as well OP.
     
  14. May 4, 2011 at 8:19 PM
    #14
    K1992f

    K1992f [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Member:
    #47980
    Messages:
    871
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kanon
    Dirty Hanover pa ...
    Vehicle:
    2012 tacoma TRD sport fully loaded
    6" fabteck 20" fuel hostage 33" nitto MTs
    Do I used the power antenna wire on the ta02b hook up. I'm doing the relay so do I spice them together with the remote wire or just hook remote wire to pin 85 and not use the antenna tape it off ?? Thanks
     
  15. May 5, 2011 at 6:33 AM
    #15
    fishntaco

    fishntaco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Member:
    #32523
    Messages:
    302
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Josh
    Mobile Al
    Vehicle:
    08 Silver Streak DCLB Prerunner Sport
    You need to put grounds on pin 86 and 87. You have to use the remote turn on wire on pin 85. The power antenna wire will not work because it does not see constant power, so just tape it off. Parking brake wire on pin 30 and you should be set.
     
  16. May 5, 2011 at 6:35 AM
    #16
    jhodge83

    jhodge83 Any dog under 50# is a cat and cats are useless... Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Member:
    #1432
    Messages:
    28,111
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jamie
    Moncks Corner, SC
    Vehicle:
    09 Timberland Mica DC 4WD Sport
    wat?
    on my poineer for the bypass, i simply grounded the parking brake wire into the chasis ground in the harness itself. works like a champ. carried this unit over from my 07 to 09 tacos.
     
  17. May 5, 2011 at 6:48 AM
    #17
    K1992f

    K1992f [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Member:
    #47980
    Messages:
    871
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kanon
    Dirty Hanover pa ...
    Vehicle:
    2012 tacoma TRD sport fully loaded
    6" fabteck 20" fuel hostage 33" nitto MTs
    Ok thats what I thought but I wanted to make sure I was right I'll have itsalled tonight let u guys no how I make out. This my first HU install wish my self luck :) thanks guys for all the help ..
     
To Top