1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

HU question

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by Fiend13, Sep 27, 2013.

  1. Sep 27, 2013 at 12:23 PM
    #1
    Fiend13

    Fiend13 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Member:
    #81853
    Messages:
    3,746
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chad
    Sin City
    Vehicle:
    08 TRD O/R DC Prerunner
    I'm looking to replace my stock JBL 6 disc HU. I swapped it out once before with a pioneer touch screen (can't remember the model but a picture is posted below) but the sound quality didn't seem all the great. Like, there was not as much bass to the music as with the stock unit and I don't mean bass as in loud trunk rattling bass, just enough for rock music. I basically had to turn the bass all the way up on the pioneer unit to match the level 3 setting on the stock unit. Anyone else have this problem with their HU's? I'm looking for another touch screen, preferably one where I can connect my ipod in the back or a usb port for a flash drive in the front. And in case you're wondering, my pioneer unit was stolen, that is why I'm looking for recommendations. Thanks.

    [​IMG]
     
  2. Sep 27, 2013 at 12:26 PM
    #2
    BamaToy1997

    BamaToy1997 ASE Master Tech Vendor

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Member:
    #71846
    Messages:
    9,482
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bill
    Navarre, FL
    Vehicle:
    1997 Tacoma 4X4 AKA "Blue Beast"
    Multi-point tow hooks, new bored 2.7L engine, custom paint. 3 inch adjustable Fabtech front coils, 2.5 inch rear AAL. Front Aussie locker. LED bed lights. Full LED conversion interior and exterior. Relentless Fabrication front and rear bumpers. 4X4innovation sliders. BAMF bed rack. CVT rooftop tent.
    I believe what you are experiencing is the lack of an amplifier, though I may be wrong. Perhaps the stock HU had a better amplifier than your replacement unit?
     
  3. Sep 27, 2013 at 12:29 PM
    #3
    speddmn

    speddmn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2013
    Member:
    #108364
    Messages:
    167
    Gender:
    Male
    Omaha
    Vehicle:
    TACOCAT
    Basics
    you can't hear it as well because the green paint is too loud
     
  4. Sep 27, 2013 at 12:32 PM
    #4
    BARTRD

    BARTRD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Member:
    #50711
    Messages:
    338
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brian
    Monroe, Ga
    Vehicle:
    '07 RR TRD Sport
    Volant CAI with optional skoop, Magna-Flow exhaust, K&N drop-in air filter, WeatherTechs, Wet Okole, kenwood navigation head unit, de-badged, 15% tint all around, factory roof rack fitted with Thule fairing, billy 5100 on all 4 corners, ICON AAL, n-fab light bar with 4 hella 500s, rear lights mounted under bumper
    Hahahahaha
     
  5. Sep 27, 2013 at 1:46 PM
    #5
    Fiend13

    Fiend13 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Member:
    #81853
    Messages:
    3,746
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chad
    Sin City
    Vehicle:
    08 TRD O/R DC Prerunner
    Don't worry, its all gone. Had to replace everything cause when the truck was broken into they destroyed my whole dash
     
  6. Sep 27, 2013 at 2:00 PM
    #6
    speddmn

    speddmn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2013
    Member:
    #108364
    Messages:
    167
    Gender:
    Male
    Omaha
    Vehicle:
    TACOCAT
    Basics
    Real talk it's because the factory unit amplifier was probably bypassed if this unit was internally amplified. Or it was removed?
     
  7. Sep 27, 2013 at 2:29 PM
    #7
    Fiend13

    Fiend13 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Member:
    #81853
    Messages:
    3,746
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chad
    Sin City
    Vehicle:
    08 TRD O/R DC Prerunner
    oh ok, makes sense. Not much of an audio guy
     
  8. Sep 27, 2013 at 3:23 PM
    #8
    FLTrucks

    FLTrucks Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2013
    Member:
    #113161
    Messages:
    75
    Gender:
    Male
    Probably this. Did you install the unit yourself? In most cases the amp is bypassed. The JBL amp is to read speakers at a specific ohm load and the the is to read a different ohm load as well so the amp was bypassed and the speakers are specific ohm's so the deck is sending different power levels.
     
  9. Sep 27, 2013 at 4:01 PM
    #9
    Fiend13

    Fiend13 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Member:
    #81853
    Messages:
    3,746
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chad
    Sin City
    Vehicle:
    08 TRD O/R DC Prerunner
    Oh ok, I kinda follow. And now I didn't install it. I've done single din units but not touch screens or anything like that so I had best buy do it. Had gift cards saved up for the unit and install so I just went ahead and had them do it since it was kinda free for me.
     
  10. Sep 27, 2013 at 4:04 PM
    #10
    Fiend13

    Fiend13 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Member:
    #81853
    Messages:
    3,746
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chad
    Sin City
    Vehicle:
    08 TRD O/R DC Prerunner
    So would it be a good idea to just change out the stock amp and 8" when I swap head units?
     
  11. Sep 27, 2013 at 10:16 PM
    #11
    jferrarini

    jferrarini New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2013
    Member:
    #113391
    Messages:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    This wins the internet.
     
  12. Sep 28, 2013 at 1:55 AM
    #12
    Riverdog

    Riverdog Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2012
    Member:
    #90152
    Messages:
    707
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Collin
    Portland, OR
    Vehicle:
    '05 Double Cab PreRunner
    Yes, I think it would be a good idea. You'll get much better sound by replacing the stock amp with an aftermarket amp. I think I read on here that the stock amp and sub are 8 ohms and nearly all of the aftermarket counterparts are not 8 ohms. So if you replace the stock amp then you should also switch out the stock sub. Replacing the amp and sub will definitely cost more than just replacing the head unit, but you'll be much happier with the sound quality. Even if you get another 8 inch sub, it will likely be better than the stock one.
     
  13. Sep 28, 2013 at 8:18 AM
    #13
    Fiend13

    Fiend13 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Member:
    #81853
    Messages:
    3,746
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chad
    Sin City
    Vehicle:
    08 TRD O/R DC Prerunner
    Right on. I know the sound quality will improve but I don't have a problem with how it sounds now, just the HU itself. Thanks for the help.
     
  14. Sep 28, 2013 at 8:19 AM
    #14
    Fiend13

    Fiend13 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Member:
    #81853
    Messages:
    3,746
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chad
    Sin City
    Vehicle:
    08 TRD O/R DC Prerunner
    nice first post....:jerkoff:
     
  15. Sep 28, 2013 at 5:37 PM
    #15
    jferrarini

    jferrarini New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2013
    Member:
    #113391
    Messages:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    We all have to start somewhere. You would think it was funny as well if it wasn't written about your interior.
     
  16. Sep 28, 2013 at 7:05 PM
    #16
    Fiend13

    Fiend13 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Member:
    #81853
    Messages:
    3,746
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chad
    Sin City
    Vehicle:
    08 TRD O/R DC Prerunner
    If I had asked for a critique on my interior then then I would have, but....I didn't. I simply asked a question and expected members to abide by forum rules by staying on topic, not to sign up and create a profile to make a smart ass remark. But, then again I guess I should feel flattered that you took the time to post in my thread out of all the thousands of other threads and discussions on this forum. To think, you have only posted twice on this site and they are both in here! YAY!
     
    Last edited: Sep 28, 2013
To Top