1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

idatalink maestro rr - plug and play?

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by Todd_Kobell, Jun 23, 2019.

  1. Jun 23, 2019 at 7:54 AM
    #1
    Todd_Kobell

    Todd_Kobell [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2019
    Member:
    #291709
    Messages:
    62
    Great Plains
    Vehicle:
    2010 Tim. Mica DCSB 4x4 SR5
    I got this iDatalink Maestro ADS-MRR and the T01 harness for my '10 Tacoma. The install guide has basically a wiring diagram only. So I got it all wired up, but...

    Does anyone know if this module is plug n play? Do I need to flash it before install? Can't seem to find many videos or articles for the setup, and idatalinks website is junk, not to mention the Support Forum they link to doesn't seem to be loading correctly for me.

    Thanks in advance
     
  2. Jun 23, 2019 at 8:32 AM
    #2
    destin_meeks

    destin_meeks I used to fix people's crappy stereos

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2017
    Member:
    #223997
    Messages:
    2,572
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Destin
    Tuscaloosa, AL
    Vehicle:
    2017 SSM DoubleCab TRD Off-Road 4x4
    Yes, you do need to flash it. Requires Internet Explorer (or an IE extension of you use chrome or safari)

    This process will also let you map your steering wheel control buttons as you please
     
    Todd_Kobell [OP] likes this.
  3. Jun 23, 2019 at 8:41 AM
    #3
    Todd_Kobell

    Todd_Kobell [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2019
    Member:
    #291709
    Messages:
    62
    Great Plains
    Vehicle:
    2010 Tim. Mica DCSB 4x4 SR5
    Ok thanks, I only have a Mac at home but I downloaded the Weblink Desktop app so I’ll give it a go.
     
  4. Jun 23, 2019 at 9:09 AM
    #4
    destin_meeks

    destin_meeks I used to fix people's crappy stereos

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2017
    Member:
    #223997
    Messages:
    2,572
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Destin
    Tuscaloosa, AL
    Vehicle:
    2017 SSM DoubleCab TRD Off-Road 4x4
    It’s an easy process so don’t worry!
     
    Todd_Kobell [OP] likes this.
  5. Jun 23, 2019 at 2:25 PM
    #5
    Todd_Kobell

    Todd_Kobell [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2019
    Member:
    #291709
    Messages:
    62
    Great Plains
    Vehicle:
    2010 Tim. Mica DCSB 4x4 SR5
    Everything flashed, configured, and installed. It’s working great! However, I can’t seem to get videos to play from my phone. I’m using the AppRadioLive app, and it doesn’t see any local videos at all. It will pull up my YouTube account, but videos won’t play. There’s a warning about “viewing videos from front seat is prohibited” even when in P with the E brake on. I’ll troubleshoot some more but otherwise pretty happy with the setup!
     
  6. Jun 24, 2019 at 9:40 PM
    #6
    BuschWacker

    BuschWacker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2019
    Member:
    #282428
    Messages:
    63
    Gender:
    Male
    Calgary, Alberta
    Vehicle:
    2015 TRD Sport DCLB
    I just installed mine this past weekend, and for the life of me, I can’t get my steering wheel buttons to work. I’ve flashed it twice, I’ve ripped it all apart and started over from scratch, and still nothing. Everything else works perfectly but those damn buttons.
     
  7. Jun 25, 2019 at 9:18 AM
    #7
    Todd_Kobell

    Todd_Kobell [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2019
    Member:
    #291709
    Messages:
    62
    Great Plains
    Vehicle:
    2010 Tim. Mica DCSB 4x4 SR5
    well I don't have a ton of experience, as I've only flashed a maestro exactly once in my life. BUT are you sure you chose the correct steering wheel config when doing the flashing? And did you follow the wiring diagram correctly/and connect all the connectors? Are you using the T01 harness?
     
  8. Jun 25, 2019 at 9:25 AM
    #8
    Todd_Kobell

    Todd_Kobell [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2019
    Member:
    #291709
    Messages:
    62
    Great Plains
    Vehicle:
    2010 Tim. Mica DCSB 4x4 SR5
    aaaaand while we're on the topic, I can't get the parking brake settings to work correctly. I did connect the green wire following the Maestro instructions, and as I understand the Pioneers now rely on an "On-Off-On" e-brake activation to enable video, but no matter how many times I activate the e-brake, I still just get the "viewing video while driving is prohibited" warning. I don't really want to mess with the wire bypass, I just want it to work when I'm parked as it should.
     
  9. Jun 25, 2019 at 10:45 AM
    #9
    BuschWacker

    BuschWacker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2019
    Member:
    #282428
    Messages:
    63
    Gender:
    Male
    Calgary, Alberta
    Vehicle:
    2015 TRD Sport DCLB
    There are only two options to pick from, steering wheel with buttons and without. Positive I’ve picked the right one, cuz it gave me the option to customize the button layout. There was only a green/white? (don’t really remember the exact color) coming from the kenwood that was labeled steering wheel control, matched that to the maestro harness with matching color and the ‘headphone’ style plug that goes to the idata plug on back of kenwood unit.
     
  10. Jun 25, 2019 at 10:49 AM
    #10
    Todd_Kobell

    Todd_Kobell [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2019
    Member:
    #291709
    Messages:
    62
    Great Plains
    Vehicle:
    2010 Tim. Mica DCSB 4x4 SR5
    I installed a Pioneer so I definitely don't have any experience there. You might call iDatalink support, I called them at one point and the guy I got was pretty helpful.
     
  11. Jun 25, 2019 at 11:03 AM
    #11
    destin_meeks

    destin_meeks I used to fix people's crappy stereos

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2017
    Member:
    #223997
    Messages:
    2,572
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Destin
    Tuscaloosa, AL
    Vehicle:
    2017 SSM DoubleCab TRD Off-Road 4x4
    Ensure your wires are connected to the right spots. Kenwood does not use the headphone style jack for steering wheel controls. They only use the blue/yellow wire. However, the maestro should be controlling the SWC via the data wire.
     
  12. Jun 25, 2019 at 12:07 PM
    #12
    BuschWacker

    BuschWacker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2019
    Member:
    #282428
    Messages:
    63
    Gender:
    Male
    Calgary, Alberta
    Vehicle:
    2015 TRD Sport DCLB
    What is the headphone jack labeled idata on the back of the HU used for?
     
  13. Jun 25, 2019 at 1:28 PM
    #13
    destin_meeks

    destin_meeks I used to fix people's crappy stereos

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2017
    Member:
    #223997
    Messages:
    2,572
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Destin
    Tuscaloosa, AL
    Vehicle:
    2017 SSM DoubleCab TRD Off-Road 4x4
    That is an audio input from the Maestro. It should have come with another cable for that jack (small connector on one end, headphone jack on the other)

    What radio do you have, so I can pull the specific install guide. Just guessing, if you unplug that headphone jack, your SWC "should" start working
     
  14. Jun 25, 2019 at 2:16 PM
    #14
    BuschWacker

    BuschWacker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2019
    Member:
    #282428
    Messages:
    63
    Gender:
    Male
    Calgary, Alberta
    Vehicle:
    2015 TRD Sport DCLB
    I have a kenwood dnx574s. It has a light blue/yellow wire labeled steering wheel control wire. I connected that to a small harness from the maestro that had a three hole plug with the wire that has the headphone jack and a matching light blue/yellow wire. I’m at work for a few more hours, so I don’t remember what left over harnesses I have still, and I’m really not looking forward to pulling it all out of the dash again. That took a few hours to jam everything in there the first time. :annoyed:
     
  15. Jun 25, 2019 at 2:31 PM
    #15
    destin_meeks

    destin_meeks I used to fix people's crappy stereos

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2017
    Member:
    #223997
    Messages:
    2,572
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Destin
    Tuscaloosa, AL
    Vehicle:
    2017 SSM DoubleCab TRD Off-Road 4x4
    Just to be sure
    2015 tacoma, without jbl
    correct?

    I will update in just a bit with some pictures for reference
     
  16. Jun 25, 2019 at 3:31 PM
    #16
    BuschWacker

    BuschWacker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2019
    Member:
    #282428
    Messages:
    63
    Gender:
    Male
    Calgary, Alberta
    Vehicle:
    2015 TRD Sport DCLB
    2015 no JBL
     
  17. Jun 25, 2019 at 3:54 PM
    #17
    destin_meeks

    destin_meeks I used to fix people's crappy stereos

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2017
    Member:
    #223997
    Messages:
    2,572
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Destin
    Tuscaloosa, AL
    Vehicle:
    2017 SSM DoubleCab TRD Off-Road 4x4
    So kenwood radio, using maestro TO1 harness

    These are the wires that come with the TO1 harness. We will use every single one that had a matching connector in the truck.
    FBF0A867-1135-4FCA-A2E1-6994260453E2.jpg

    These are the wires that come with the maestro module that we WILL use. These will pair up to the idatalink labeled plugs on the radio.
    ED1E86A0-0374-4756-B3ED-7604CD84145E.jpg

    These are the wires that come with the maestro module that we will NOT use (noting especially the far right. That is the analog SWC harness and we won’t need that for this install)
    47AD959E-476A-422E-AF03-A7A68224639E.jpg
     
  18. Jun 25, 2019 at 4:41 PM
    #18
    BuschWacker

    BuschWacker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2019
    Member:
    #282428
    Messages:
    63
    Gender:
    Male
    Calgary, Alberta
    Vehicle:
    2015 TRD Sport DCLB
    this is what I had left over.

    934DE7C0-36C5-45D3-90DF-499DB83670C4.jpg

    9BE3E2BB-B4F0-43C1-BDC0-4890D954EBD5.jpg

    I’m fairly certain I had no more places to plug the remaining harnesses that I’ve got left over. I will pull everything out again this weekend and see if the other headphone cable fixes the buttons.

    Very confusing that the HU has a wire labeled SWC that matched a maestro harness, but you figure it’s not the one I should be using to get the SWC to work. I still need to order the USB/aux adapter cable, and the sat radio ant adapter cable.

    Of all the forums and threads that I’ve dug through over the past week, it’s really frustrating to see so many people with the same problem, but no one ever posts what their solution was. I appreciate the time you took to post pics and help out.
     

    Attached Files:

  19. Jun 25, 2019 at 5:11 PM
    #19
    destin_meeks

    destin_meeks I used to fix people's crappy stereos

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2017
    Member:
    #223997
    Messages:
    2,572
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Destin
    Tuscaloosa, AL
    Vehicle:
    2017 SSM DoubleCab TRD Off-Road 4x4
    The SWC wire is there because some vehicles will need it. Totally vehicle specific, depending on if the steering wheel controls are resistance based or data controlled. Ours can be controlled through data, so we don’t need the blue/yellow wire.

    The lonely black wire in that pic under your drill needs to be put in, and the wire with the blue connector (that has the blue/yellow attached) needs to come out.

    While you’ve got it pulled out, I might re-flash the brain just for good measure. Cross all the bases while it’s taken apart
     
  20. Jun 25, 2019 at 8:30 PM
    #20
    BuschWacker

    BuschWacker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2019
    Member:
    #282428
    Messages:
    63
    Gender:
    Male
    Calgary, Alberta
    Vehicle:
    2015 TRD Sport DCLB
    :bowdown: Thanks again for all the help. I think there’s more instruction and information in this thread than every other one I’ve read on this topic. Unfortunately it’ll have to wait for the weekend to see if it works. I will post my results then.
     

Products Discussed in

To Top