1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Ideas to start 99 TRD project

Discussion in '1st Gen. Tacomas (1995-2004)' started by luke99, Aug 25, 2013.

1. Aug 25, 2013 at 10:08 PM
    luke99

luke99 [OP] Member

Member:
    Southern Utah
    Vehicle:
    99 Taco, SR5 TRD
    Hey everybody, I'm new to the tacoma world as of today. I have a couple of Toyota junkie buddies so naturally I bought a 99 extend cab TRD tacoma.its got auto trans and 4wd with the e locker. Its basically stock with a leveling kit (just the hockey puck spacers...) and a intake. I have a pretty decent budget of a couple thousand to throw at this thing and maybe more depending on how much I like what you suggest.

Now what i want is a truck that will still roll down the highway but will do great off road. I don't need it to be a full on rock crawler or prerunner but i do want a kick a** taco that i can beat the hell out of and it will take it like a champ.

What should I do to this thing?

2. Aug 25, 2013 at 10:25 PM
    tan4x4

tan4x4 Well-Known Member

Member:
    First Name:
    Rick
    Folsom, CA
    Vehicle:
    99 Tacoma EC 4x4 2.7L Auto
    Bilsteins, OME 881's, 3-leaf AAL, Detroit TruTrac, 31" tires, Michelin LTX AT2, stock gears, Tranny skidplate, TC skidplate, CBI rear bumper, sliders, UltraGauge, PowerTank, CB
    Verify that the locker works :D .
    Install more skid plates, sliders, CB, and a recovery point in the back.
    Your truck will do great with very few mods.

3. Aug 25, 2013 at 10:40 PM
    luke99

luke99 [OP] Member

Member:
    Southern Utah
    Vehicle:
    99 Taco, SR5 TRD