1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Idle RPM surging......

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by RelentlessFab, Jan 29, 2009.

  1. Jan 29, 2009 at 10:34 PM
    #1
    RelentlessFab

    RelentlessFab [OP] Tacoma offroad armor fabricating beast Vendor

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Member:
    #4772
    Messages:
    14,195
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Eric
    Eastern side of the Sierras: Sparks, NV
    Vehicle:
    07 SR5 4x4> 03 SR5 4x4 total> 14 Crewmax TRD
    Had tons on the old Taco's.... new Tundra is pretty stock
    Hey guys. I just put a CAI on my truck and after driving it a bit tonight I notice that when I pop it out of gear to coast up to a stop or coast down a hill my truck's tach surges around. It immediately drops to just over 1K like it usually would, then it surges up to like 2000, back down to 1500 and then stays steady at 2000 rpm until I either stop or put it in gear again.

    I don't know why it would be doing this. I pulled the neg battery cable when installing the CAI to reset the computer. The only other performance mod on my truck is my JBA cat-back. Do you think its a MAF issue, computer issue, or what? I haven't noticed any trouble codes from my scanguage but this isn't normal and I'm heading out on a 250 mile drive from college to home tomorrow afternoon....I don't want to end up on the side of the road! Anyone got any info for me?

    Other than this the truck runs great- more power, and now hear the intake growl too. My SG2 shows MPGs to be normal, and peak HP to be about 266 now, stock it would show 242, with the cat back it would read 256, and now its reading another 10 HP which is great- I just don't know why it's doing this weird idle surging!

    Thanks guys!:cool:
     
  2. Jan 30, 2009 at 10:16 AM
    #2
    RelentlessFab

    RelentlessFab [OP] Tacoma offroad armor fabricating beast Vendor

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Member:
    #4772
    Messages:
    14,195
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Eric
    Eastern side of the Sierras: Sparks, NV
    Vehicle:
    07 SR5 4x4> 03 SR5 4x4 total> 14 Crewmax TRD
    Had tons on the old Taco's.... new Tundra is pretty stock
    Bump for some help?........
     
  3. Jan 30, 2009 at 10:18 AM
    #3
    chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6497
    Messages:
    106,195
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    FlimFlubberJAM
    Tenoe, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rubicon Unlimited,
    4.10 gears, sliders, and lots of buttons.
    Sorry. I didnt see this thread. Are all the vaccume lines hooked up propperly? Make sure they are not cracked or anything.
     
  4. Jan 30, 2009 at 10:26 AM
    #4
    RelentlessFab

    RelentlessFab [OP] Tacoma offroad armor fabricating beast Vendor

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Member:
    #4772
    Messages:
    14,195
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Eric
    Eastern side of the Sierras: Sparks, NV
    Vehicle:
    07 SR5 4x4> 03 SR5 4x4 total> 14 Crewmax TRD
    Had tons on the old Taco's.... new Tundra is pretty stock
    No problem chris, thanks for some help.
    yeah, there was only the valve cover breather, and then the smaller vaccum hose that had to be swapped. There was a new vaccum hose included with the intake that was longer which I connected securely. That vaccum hose was my first thought. I even popped the hood after I noticed it doing this and rechecked both ends of it.
     
  5. Jan 30, 2009 at 10:57 AM
    #5
    chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6497
    Messages:
    106,195
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    FlimFlubberJAM
    Tenoe, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rubicon Unlimited,
    4.10 gears, sliders, and lots of buttons.
    Wel, sometimes during an install of any kind, a different hose can come disco'ed. Give them all a once over. Maybe try pulling the EFI fuse for a while. :confused:
     
  6. Jan 30, 2009 at 11:05 AM
    #6
    obxfishn

    obxfishn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Member:
    #2206
    Messages:
    77
    Gender:
    Male
    Eastern Virginia
    2.5" ToyTec Lift, Smitty Built Nerf Bars, Scangauge unit,
    Did you pull the negative terminal off the battery for 15 min so the comuter could reset itself? That is what I had to do and it resloved my issue which was similar to yours.
     
  7. Jan 30, 2009 at 1:31 PM
    #7
    RelentlessFab

    RelentlessFab [OP] Tacoma offroad armor fabricating beast Vendor

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Member:
    #4772
    Messages:
    14,195
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Eric
    Eastern side of the Sierras: Sparks, NV
    Vehicle:
    07 SR5 4x4> 03 SR5 4x4 total> 14 Crewmax TRD
    Had tons on the old Taco's.... new Tundra is pretty stock
    Alright, I'll do a once over before I head out just to make sure. EFI fuse would be in the box under the hood, right?
    Yeah, it was disconnected during the whole install process.
     
  8. Jan 30, 2009 at 1:34 PM
    #8
    chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6497
    Messages:
    106,195
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    FlimFlubberJAM
    Tenoe, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rubicon Unlimited,
    4.10 gears, sliders, and lots of buttons.
    Yep. Everything you have mentioned is indicative of an Vaccume leak.. Let me know.
     
  9. Jan 30, 2009 at 1:37 PM
    #9
    tacoskim

    tacoskim Tuned By Gadget

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Member:
    #5252
    Messages:
    2,385
    Gender:
    Male
    Los Angeles, CA
    Vehicle:
    09 TRD 4x4 Pyrite Mica
    Stock
    what kind of intake?
     
  10. Jan 30, 2009 at 4:00 PM
    #10
    surfsupl

    surfsupl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Member:
    #4161
    Messages:
    8,572
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Gregg
    WestCoast
    Vehicle:
    I DONT CARE IF IT'S A RE-POST
    Rear Diff Breather~ 5100's ~Fog Light Anytime~Tint~TRD Seat Covers~Weather Tech's~Pioneer H.U.~Lift~Eibach Springs~LED's......blah...blah...blah
    Does this reset the computer back to when the Truck was new?
     
  11. Jan 30, 2009 at 5:28 PM
    #11
    chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6497
    Messages:
    106,195
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    FlimFlubberJAM
    Tenoe, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rubicon Unlimited,
    4.10 gears, sliders, and lots of buttons.
    It resets the ECU back to the default MAP, then allowing it to "learn" the new add ons.
     
  12. Jan 30, 2009 at 5:37 PM
    #12
    judd94

    judd94 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Member:
    #10688
    Messages:
    473
    Gender:
    Male
    Ponchatoula, LA
    Vehicle:
    10 DC TRD O/R PreRunner SexyAss Barcelona Red
    TRD Drop-In, TRD Exhaust, OEM Roof Rack, N-Fabs, WeatherTech Liners, LED Interior Lights, Devil Horns Emblem, 2011 Painted Grill, Debadged with Sockmonkey TRD Badging only, Katzkins Leather Int; Next: 5100s/Eibachs
    my 08 does somethin kinda similar that my 06 didn't.
    my 08 when i start it up revs high like normal then goes down then up and down and gradually evens out. i only notice it on a cold startup when it rev range is much high with the higher idle.
    i also have a trd cai. i recall it did the same thing before i put the cai on.
     
  13. Jan 30, 2009 at 5:37 PM
    #13
    judd94

    judd94 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Member:
    #10688
    Messages:
    473
    Gender:
    Male
    Ponchatoula, LA
    Vehicle:
    10 DC TRD O/R PreRunner SexyAss Barcelona Red
    TRD Drop-In, TRD Exhaust, OEM Roof Rack, N-Fabs, WeatherTech Liners, LED Interior Lights, Devil Horns Emblem, 2011 Painted Grill, Debadged with Sockmonkey TRD Badging only, Katzkins Leather Int; Next: 5100s/Eibachs
    can you shoot a video clip and post it for us?
     
  14. Jan 31, 2009 at 10:16 PM
    #14
    RelentlessFab

    RelentlessFab [OP] Tacoma offroad armor fabricating beast Vendor

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Member:
    #4772
    Messages:
    14,195
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Eric
    Eastern side of the Sierras: Sparks, NV
    Vehicle:
    07 SR5 4x4> 03 SR5 4x4 total> 14 Crewmax TRD
    Had tons on the old Taco's.... new Tundra is pretty stock
    Alright, here's an update:
    I started it up to head out on my drive...... and it ran PERFECTLY all day! It never acted funny even once. I guess it just had to 'learn' for a while, but now it's fine. Drove it about 150 miles today, to the dunes and back towing the quads, and it was fine all day too. Must have just been the ECU's learning curve. Thanks for the help guys.
     
To Top