1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

In-car computer for my 2007 tacoma

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by stephenm, Aug 20, 2007.

  1. Aug 20, 2007 at 5:08 PM
    #1
    stephenm

    stephenm [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2007
    Member:
    #2480
    Messages:
    133
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Stephen
    Frazier Mtn / Long Beach
    Vehicle:
    2007 TRD PreRunner (Sport Package)
    Procomp 6" kit ES3000 shocks Snugtop Supersport shell Bedrug Bedliner
    Hello everyone,
    I would like to install a computer in my tacoma. I've gone through several possibilities and even if the one I like is not the cheapest, I think it's from far the best from the integration stand point.
    I think I am going to go for an Infill G4 without HDD, drive and RAM:
    http://www.cartft.com/catalog/il/770
    I will put the right memory and hard-drive myself. I will have to remove the OEM dash with radio/CD. Then I'll use a double-DIN dash like the Scosche TA2053B in order to fit the G4.
    http://www.amazon.com/dp/B000EOMWE4/ref=nosim/
    Has anyone tried this yet? Do you have any idea what kind of problem I may go through with this plan?
    Thank you.

    EDIT 07/2009: some pics

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    For the software I have been using CentraFuse for about a year and I have to say that I don't know how great this unit has become. First, it's fully compatible with the G4 and the features (GPS, media player) are great. I was using the small player that came with it, but it was really inferior (bugs) which made me use Winamp/MS Route - what a pain. Those software have not been designed for small resolution monitors or for in-car use... Anyways, Centrafuse made this little computer really worth it.

    The install wasn't bad and the replacement dash that hosts a dual-DIN audio system is really good looking. The adapters that hold the unit in place were perfectly compatible with the truck's and computer's mounting. Although they were plastic, they still do the job.
     
  2. Aug 20, 2007 at 5:36 PM
    #2
    jhodge83

    jhodge83 Any dog under 50# is a cat and cats are useless... Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Member:
    #1432
    Messages:
    27,775
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jamie
    Moncks Corner, SC
    Vehicle:
    09 Timberland Mica DC 4WD Sport
    wat?
    thats a pretty sweet setup. i have an indash dvd/nav, but i like that one.
     
  3. Aug 20, 2007 at 6:59 PM
    #3
    wormhole7

    wormhole7 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2007
    Member:
    #1636
    Messages:
    318
    Gender:
    Male
    Lake Dallas, Tx
    Vehicle:
    TSS
    Leather, Suspension TSB, Billy 5100's up front set at .85, Eaton Posi LSD,Grillcraft Black Mesh Grills,Aires Bull Bar,Black Low Profile Narrow Toybox,Black Headlight Mod,Black Tail lights ,USA Spec,Ipod, PopnLock,Bed Mat,Bug Sheild,Vent Visors, Weathertec Liners,Radar,Nuvi 760,Dog Ramp,Convex Mirrors, Roof Rack, Tint, Borla exhaust, Borla Intake, OBX pedals, Home Link Auto Dimming Mirror with remote, 20" Factory Wheels, Factory Tube Steps
    That is pretty nice.
     
  4. Aug 20, 2007 at 8:16 PM
    #4
    reid

    reid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2007
    Member:
    #1645
    Messages:
    259
    Vancouver BC Canada
    Vehicle:
    2007 V6 Access Cab
    Magna Flow stainless cat-back, 3" Toytec Lift, 32" Mickey Thompsons
    I wonder if you could hook the computer up to a MAF sensor calibrator and do air/fuel changes away from home?

    Any thoughts? Does the in dash computer have a USB input in the back?
     
  5. Aug 20, 2007 at 8:32 PM
    #5
    jhodge83

    jhodge83 Any dog under 50# is a cat and cats are useless... Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Member:
    #1432
    Messages:
    27,775
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jamie
    Moncks Corner, SC
    Vehicle:
    09 Timberland Mica DC 4WD Sport
    wat?
    the specs from the site say that it has 3 usb 2.0 ports on it
     
  6. Aug 20, 2007 at 9:22 PM
    #6
    stephenm

    stephenm [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2007
    Member:
    #2480
    Messages:
    133
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Stephen
    Frazier Mtn / Long Beach
    Vehicle:
    2007 TRD PreRunner (Sport Package)
    Procomp 6" kit ES3000 shocks Snugtop Supersport shell Bedrug Bedliner
    There is one USB plug on the front (I guess when the screen is horizontal) and 2 in the back.

    What is a MAF sensor calibrator?
     
  7. Aug 21, 2007 at 12:57 AM
    #7
    GO TACO GO

    GO TACO GO Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Member:
    #2493
    Messages:
    8
    Vehicle:
    4x4 SR5 >blacked out
    bone friggin stock........................for now.......
  8. Aug 21, 2007 at 11:15 AM
    #8
    reid

    reid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2007
    Member:
    #1645
    Messages:
    259
    Vancouver BC Canada
    Vehicle:
    2007 V6 Access Cab
    Magna Flow stainless cat-back, 3" Toytec Lift, 32" Mickey Thompsons
    Mass Air Flow senor calibrator can make changes to your air/fuel mixture by inturupting the MAF sensor and sending new information. I have heard a few people here say that they haave used it and it made a huge difference, especially with a Cold Air Intake and Cat-back. I think you can change it wo do different things. IE. fuel economy mode, high performance mode, etc. If you could hook it up to your in dash computer you could drive all day in fuel economy mode, then when you need it, press a few buttons and now your in high performance mode.
     
  9. Aug 21, 2007 at 12:53 PM
    #9
    stephenm

    stephenm [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2007
    Member:
    #2480
    Messages:
    133
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Stephen
    Frazier Mtn / Long Beach
    Vehicle:
    2007 TRD PreRunner (Sport Package)
    Procomp 6" kit ES3000 shocks Snugtop Supersport shell Bedrug Bedliner
    I like the idea especially if there is a substantial economy that can be made.
    Do you have any idea what kind of economy can be made?

    From the computer standpoint it's possible if any output is available (like a serial or USB). Then a software is needed to drive this output.
     
  10. Aug 21, 2007 at 7:59 PM
    #10
    reid

    reid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2007
    Member:
    #1645
    Messages:
    259
    Vancouver BC Canada
    Vehicle:
    2007 V6 Access Cab
    Magna Flow stainless cat-back, 3" Toytec Lift, 32" Mickey Thompsons
    I am stupid broke, but if someone hooks up an indash computer to their MAF sensor calibrator, you are sick. That would be a seriously cool set-up. I envy you.

    Excuss me I have to water my money tree.
     
  11. Sep 6, 2007 at 12:31 AM
    #11
    Mudbug

    Mudbug Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2007
    Member:
    #1574
    Messages:
    291
    Amsoil 0w-20 engine oil and Amsoil Full synthetic 75w-90 in the Transmission, transfer case, front and rear Differentials. AFE Cold Air Intake
    Pfft forget the maf calibrator go stand alone with that bitch. Now THAT would be badass.
     
  12. Sep 6, 2007 at 2:39 AM
    #12
    Mudbug

    Mudbug Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2007
    Member:
    #1574
    Messages:
    291
    Amsoil 0w-20 engine oil and Amsoil Full synthetic 75w-90 in the Transmission, transfer case, front and rear Differentials. AFE Cold Air Intake
    You know....i've been thinking about this now. Buy a 7" lcd touchscreen and mount a compact server under the driver seat....Wouldn't be all that hard and could be done for a little over a g. That'd be pretty sweet.
     
  13. Sep 6, 2007 at 2:54 AM
    #13
    lineberw

    lineberw Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Member:
    #433
    Messages:
    52
    Summerville, SC
    Vehicle:
    TRD 4x4
    You shouldn't have any problems what so ever very sweet automotive electronic, the only problem I would have is forking out close to like $2000 for one.
     
  14. Sep 6, 2007 at 3:12 AM
    #14
    ellsworth

    ellsworth Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Member:
    #2433
    Messages:
    96
    Buffalo
    Vehicle:
    08' off rd 6 speed
    6 inch Fabtech, st stabilizers, 18x9 DC -1s 305/65/18 bfg at's
    I am from snow country..Has any one seen the removable hood for a sled mod...2 quick release pins and some good wax..A quick flip and the hood doubles as a gravity assisted fun ship...
     
  15. Sep 6, 2007 at 4:50 AM
    #15
    007Tacoma

    007Tacoma I dub thee malicious!

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Member:
    #643
    Messages:
    6,664
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mark
    San Antonio, TX
    Vehicle:
    2015 4Runner Trail Edition Premium
    Cloaking Device
    I tried that once when I was in college. A wind storm ripped the hood off my 74' Scout in Eldora, Colorado. My brother and I carried that heavy bastard to the top of the hill, and slid back down to the Scout - sorta. It was good in theory. :eek:
     
  16. Sep 6, 2007 at 4:58 AM
    #16
    007Tacoma

    007Tacoma I dub thee malicious!

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Member:
    #643
    Messages:
    6,664
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mark
    San Antonio, TX
    Vehicle:
    2015 4Runner Trail Edition Premium
    Cloaking Device
    I would be curious to see how this turns out. I would be concerned about keeping it cool in the Texas heat.

    I am thinking URD MAF Calibrator, Infill G4, URD USB to OBDII-BRCAN interface, 250 GB HardDrive, 2 GB Ram, and a microphone (for voice commands). Total cost after I add it all up - $2600. :eek: I think I will wait on this one.
     
  17. Sep 6, 2007 at 5:08 AM
    #17
    Mudbug

    Mudbug Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2007
    Member:
    #1574
    Messages:
    291
    Amsoil 0w-20 engine oil and Amsoil Full synthetic 75w-90 in the Transmission, transfer case, front and rear Differentials. AFE Cold Air Intake
    Yeah this one is definately more about the coolness factor than the gas savings haha.
    Yeah that texas heat one....i'm kind of worried about that. I work at a help desk for ACS in dallas and our ac went out a couple weeks ago and after just about two hours our servers started to crash it wasn't pretty. Haha lucky for me I was off that day lol.
     
  18. Sep 6, 2007 at 5:11 AM
    #18
    007Tacoma

    007Tacoma I dub thee malicious!

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Member:
    #643
    Messages:
    6,664
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mark
    San Antonio, TX
    Vehicle:
    2015 4Runner Trail Edition Premium
    Cloaking Device
    For some reason, I thought you were in Louisiana. :eek:

    All of our servers are separate from the corporate servers. They are kept in a dual air conditioned room with generator backup. It is nice to not worry about that. :D
     
  19. Sep 6, 2007 at 5:44 AM
    #19
    Mudbug

    Mudbug Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2007
    Member:
    #1574
    Messages:
    291
    Amsoil 0w-20 engine oil and Amsoil Full synthetic 75w-90 in the Transmission, transfer case, front and rear Differentials. AFE Cold Air Intake
    No i'm in texas too! They can all make fun of me too I guess haha. I'm north of dallas. The taco has a 42 mile commute one way each day......
     
  20. Sep 21, 2007 at 8:40 AM
    #20
    lsocoee

    lsocoee My hair is all natural Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Member:
    #872
    Messages:
    10,163
    First Name:
    Hotdog
    Vehicle:
    2007 PreRunner SR5 Double Cab
    Wet Okole Underwear
    You need to go to www.mp3car.com This is going to be your ideal forum. There are a few Tacomas in there. I believe Dave Williams did one on a 2nd gen. I don't think he ever posted photos of it though. People usually hook up the obdii output to their computer to monitor their vehicles.

    Your setup sounds pretty expensive. Are you planning to have a head unit in addition to your setup. I've been planning for a while and I'm about to go into phase 1. Phase 1 will consist of replacing the stock speakers and relocating a single din head unit lower in the dash. Phase 2 will come when the wife approves the funding...this consists of installing the computer and monitor in the stock head unit location and running the audio out into the head unit from phase 1.

    I don't trust the computer to work reliably. I can never leave well enough alone and my constant tinkering will leave the computer fully functional probably 75% of the time. Car radios have good radio reception, cd players, and are very reliable.
     
To Top