1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Installed Cold Air Intake--check Engine And Shift Point Issues

Discussion in 'Technical Chat' started by MATTRESS, Jan 10, 2008.

  1. Jan 10, 2008 at 5:55 PM
    #1
    MATTRESS

    MATTRESS [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Member:
    #3255
    Messages:
    23
    LONG BEACH, CA
    Vehicle:
    TRD SPORT ACCESS CAB 4x4 BLACK SAND PEARL
    DEFLAPPED, FLOWMASTER 40 SERIES TURN-DOWN BEFORE AXEL, VOLANT COLD AIR INTAKE, TRD FLOOR MATS AND SEAT COVERS.....THERES MORE TO COME, ITS EARLY.
    Well I installed a new VOLANT cold air intake in my truck...The next day my engine through a code and my shifting was kinda off...When I accelerate slowly, the engine revs slightly before changing gears...the shifting just dosent feel right....I reset the ECU and the check engine went away for a day, then came back...I need some T.W knowledge to figure out whats going on...I know some people say it will go away once your ECU learns the new fuel air mixture, after a few tanks of gas....So give me some insight.
     
  2. Jan 10, 2008 at 6:20 PM
    #2
    tacomaman06

    tacomaman06 Carolina Alliance: Enforcer

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Member:
    #1475
    Messages:
    26,258
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Will
    York,South Carolina
    Vehicle:
    '16 Tundra TRD Pro
    getting there....

    im still gonna say give it a tank or two of gas and it will clear itself, and the truck will relearn everything.
     
  3. Jan 11, 2008 at 5:23 PM
    #3
    MATTRESS

    MATTRESS [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Member:
    #3255
    Messages:
    23
    LONG BEACH, CA
    Vehicle:
    TRD SPORT ACCESS CAB 4x4 BLACK SAND PEARL
    DEFLAPPED, FLOWMASTER 40 SERIES TURN-DOWN BEFORE AXEL, VOLANT COLD AIR INTAKE, TRD FLOOR MATS AND SEAT COVERS.....THERES MORE TO COME, ITS EARLY.
    Well I just fueled up yesterday..but I sure hope your right.
     
  4. Jan 11, 2008 at 8:04 PM
    #4
    tacomaman06

    tacomaman06 Carolina Alliance: Enforcer

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Member:
    #1475
    Messages:
    26,258
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Will
    York,South Carolina
    Vehicle:
    '16 Tundra TRD Pro
    getting there....

    like i said man....just give it a tank or two. then,you should be good to go.
     
  5. Jan 12, 2008 at 9:12 AM
    #5
    Mudbug

    Mudbug Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2007
    Member:
    #1574
    Messages:
    291
    Amsoil 0w-20 engine oil and Amsoil Full synthetic 75w-90 in the Transmission, transfer case, front and rear Differentials. AFE Cold Air Intake
    just reseat the cables on the batteries that will reset it a lot faster.
     
  6. Jan 12, 2008 at 9:43 AM
    #6
    tacomaman06

    tacomaman06 Carolina Alliance: Enforcer

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Member:
    #1475
    Messages:
    26,258
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Will
    York,South Carolina
    Vehicle:
    '16 Tundra TRD Pro
    getting there....
    he did that already, and it worked for a day if i remember correctly,then cel came back on. im pretty sure running thru a couple tanks of gas and giving it time to relearn everything will be the solution.
     
  7. Jan 12, 2008 at 10:22 AM
    #7
    MATTRESS

    MATTRESS [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Member:
    #3255
    Messages:
    23
    LONG BEACH, CA
    Vehicle:
    TRD SPORT ACCESS CAB 4x4 BLACK SAND PEARL
    DEFLAPPED, FLOWMASTER 40 SERIES TURN-DOWN BEFORE AXEL, VOLANT COLD AIR INTAKE, TRD FLOOR MATS AND SEAT COVERS.....THERES MORE TO COME, ITS EARLY.
    Yea TacomaMan is right...I already did that.....should I try reseting it agian?
     
  8. Jan 12, 2008 at 2:58 PM
    #8
    tacomaman06

    tacomaman06 Carolina Alliance: Enforcer

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Member:
    #1475
    Messages:
    26,258
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Will
    York,South Carolina
    Vehicle:
    '16 Tundra TRD Pro
    getting there....

    i dont think its necessary. just let it run as is for a bit.....then like i said, after a tank or 2 of gas, should be ok.
     
  9. Jan 18, 2008 at 5:39 AM
    #9
    Zebra

    Zebra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Member:
    #3981
    Messages:
    241
    Gender:
    Male
    Millington, TN
    Vehicle:
    2008 Tacoma 2.7L 4x2 Reg. Cab 5-speed
    Volant ram air and CAI setup, Fumoto oil drain valve, Pioneer DEH-3900MP
    i was just wondering how this turned out as i am about to install a volant CAI myself
     
  10. Jan 18, 2008 at 6:42 AM
    #10
    lsocoee

    lsocoee My hair is all natural Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Member:
    #872
    Messages:
    10,165
    First Name:
    Hotdog
    Vehicle:
    2007 PreRunner SR5 Double Cab
    Wet Okole Underwear
    Did you have to modify the MAF?
     
  11. Jan 21, 2008 at 2:13 PM
    #11
    dbbd1

    dbbd1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Member:
    #3088
    Messages:
    228
    Or is the connector fully seated onto it? Did you break the fine, fine wire that nestles into the air flow tube?
     
  12. Jan 21, 2008 at 2:26 PM
    #12
    tacomaman06

    tacomaman06 Carolina Alliance: Enforcer

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Member:
    #1475
    Messages:
    26,258
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Will
    York,South Carolina
    Vehicle:
    '16 Tundra TRD Pro
    getting there....
    any updates on this thread???
     
  13. Jan 28, 2008 at 7:17 PM
    #13
    MATTRESS

    MATTRESS [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Member:
    #3255
    Messages:
    23
    LONG BEACH, CA
    Vehicle:
    TRD SPORT ACCESS CAB 4x4 BLACK SAND PEARL
    DEFLAPPED, FLOWMASTER 40 SERIES TURN-DOWN BEFORE AXEL, VOLANT COLD AIR INTAKE, TRD FLOOR MATS AND SEAT COVERS.....THERES MORE TO COME, ITS EARLY.
    Sorry boys for the late response...it went away for a day and came back..I did oil the filter shortly before I installed it.....I was thinking that it could be a dirty MAF sensor...I will clean and check to make sure its all together..do I just use a contact or electronic cleaner?..
    If this dosent work I think I'll take it somewhere to read the code...
    I will get back to you guys tomorrow..
     
  14. Jan 28, 2008 at 7:22 PM
    #14
    MATTRESS

    MATTRESS [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Member:
    #3255
    Messages:
    23
    LONG BEACH, CA
    Vehicle:
    TRD SPORT ACCESS CAB 4x4 BLACK SAND PEARL
    DEFLAPPED, FLOWMASTER 40 SERIES TURN-DOWN BEFORE AXEL, VOLANT COLD AIR INTAKE, TRD FLOOR MATS AND SEAT COVERS.....THERES MORE TO COME, ITS EARLY.
    And no I did not modify the MAF at all...just took it off the stock and put it on the new...
    what about a URD MAF calibrator?? I here people talking about it...do I need one?
     
  15. Jan 28, 2008 at 8:25 PM
    #15
    tacomaman06

    tacomaman06 Carolina Alliance: Enforcer

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Member:
    #1475
    Messages:
    26,258
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Will
    York,South Carolina
    Vehicle:
    '16 Tundra TRD Pro
    getting there....
    some type of electronic cleaner will work. crc even makes a mass air flow sensor cleaner that will work also.
     
  16. Jan 28, 2008 at 11:54 PM
    #16
    Spyder327

    Spyder327 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2007
    Member:
    #1677
    Messages:
    204
    Phoenix, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2005 X-Runner
    Aquamist 2D meth/water injection kit, URD Exhaust, DT Long Tube Headers, Hood Struts, and lots of other miscellaneous stuff...
    You should not get a CEL after installing a new intake if everything is correct. There's no reason you'd need to run a few tanks of gas through it for it to adjust to anything. Most likely it is a dirty MAF or intake leak.

    The URD MAF calibrator isn't necessary, but just helps gain more power by getting the AFR right where you want it.
     
  17. Jan 30, 2008 at 6:32 PM
    #17
    MATTRESS

    MATTRESS [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Member:
    #3255
    Messages:
    23
    LONG BEACH, CA
    Vehicle:
    TRD SPORT ACCESS CAB 4x4 BLACK SAND PEARL
    DEFLAPPED, FLOWMASTER 40 SERIES TURN-DOWN BEFORE AXEL, VOLANT COLD AIR INTAKE, TRD FLOOR MATS AND SEAT COVERS.....THERES MORE TO COME, ITS EARLY.
    Yea that makes perfect sense...Well im almost certain its not an intake leak...I have a feeling that its a dirty MAF..Im going to clean that tomorrow..
    And that would account for the shift point issues?

    I think I would like a URD MAF CALI. if it gains more power and works more efficiently..

    Im also thinking that I want my exhaust to have a louder more raw tone...my 40 series FLOWMASTER sounds great..its just not enough, it sounded real good when I first cut the old muffler out. Im wondering if I Should I get some
    high flow CATS to get more power and sound. Does anyone have any Ideas?
     
  18. Jan 30, 2008 at 7:29 PM
    #18
    lsocoee

    lsocoee My hair is all natural Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Member:
    #872
    Messages:
    10,165
    First Name:
    Hotdog
    Vehicle:
    2007 PreRunner SR5 Double Cab
    Wet Okole Underwear
    You could also try the y-pipe which would eliminate the rear pair of cats or you could pick up the Doug Thorley long tube headers. Most people are going for the headers now and are eliminating the front pair of cats.
     
  19. Jan 31, 2008 at 9:50 PM
    #19
    MATTRESS

    MATTRESS [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Member:
    #3255
    Messages:
    23
    LONG BEACH, CA
    Vehicle:
    TRD SPORT ACCESS CAB 4x4 BLACK SAND PEARL
    DEFLAPPED, FLOWMASTER 40 SERIES TURN-DOWN BEFORE AXEL, VOLANT COLD AIR INTAKE, TRD FLOOR MATS AND SEAT COVERS.....THERES MORE TO COME, ITS EARLY.
    sounds good....well I cleaned my MAF today and so far so good...I had the error code read and it said code "p0101" from a dirty sensor or loose barometer air tubing. I hope it keeps working well...

    what would give me a better tone, the y pipe or the headers?
     
  20. Feb 2, 2008 at 4:09 PM
    #20
    MATTRESS

    MATTRESS [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Member:
    #3255
    Messages:
    23
    LONG BEACH, CA
    Vehicle:
    TRD SPORT ACCESS CAB 4x4 BLACK SAND PEARL
    DEFLAPPED, FLOWMASTER 40 SERIES TURN-DOWN BEFORE AXEL, VOLANT COLD AIR INTAKE, TRD FLOOR MATS AND SEAT COVERS.....THERES MORE TO COME, ITS EARLY.
    My engine threw a that code agian...Im not sure what my next play is...My buddy said that maybe the maf calibrator might do the trick..
     
To Top