1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Installing components and I'm stumped.

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by LEX, Jul 29, 2011.

  1. Jul 29, 2011 at 7:53 PM
    #1
    LEX

    LEX [OP] --- --- --- - ----

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Member:
    #9991
    Messages:
    3,591
    Gender:
    Male
    Houston, Texas
    Vehicle:
    100 Series LC
    This evening, I got started installing my new components. I took apart only the driver side front to begin with. I followed the straight foward directions, but no sound is coming from them. It has something to do with the tweeter connection. I unplugged the aftermarket and plugged the factory door woofer and tweeter to it's factory plug and it plays. Why not my Alpines?
     
  2. Jul 29, 2011 at 8:02 PM
    #2
    patwrik

    patwrik Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2011
    Member:
    #58900
    Messages:
    84
    Gender:
    Male
    San Diego, CA
    Vehicle:
    05 DBL CAB
    Are you installing to run off the Head Unit?

    Did you use the crossover?

    Running new wires or using the stock?
     
  3. Jul 29, 2011 at 8:13 PM
    #3
    LEX

    LEX [OP] --- --- --- - ----

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Member:
    #9991
    Messages:
    3,591
    Gender:
    Male
    Houston, Texas
    Vehicle:
    100 Series LC
    Yes, I'm running them off the HU.
    I did use the crossover.
    I'm using the stock wires with a wiring harness.
     
  4. Jul 29, 2011 at 8:21 PM
    #4
    LEX

    LEX [OP] --- --- --- - ----

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Member:
    #9991
    Messages:
    3,591
    Gender:
    Male
    Houston, Texas
    Vehicle:
    100 Series LC
    I have the tweeter and woofer hooked up to where it's supposed to on the crossover. I have the amp( in my case the headunit) hooked up behind the woofer. Polarity is correct. I'm also wondering if the factory tweeter plug is left just hanging there since it's not used or do I need to do something with it?
     
  5. Jul 29, 2011 at 10:08 PM
    #5
    dolbytone

    dolbytone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Member:
    #37165
    Messages:
    320
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    09 TRD Off Road
    Your head unit needs to be connected to the input of the crossover. Your last post makes it sound like you connected it to the woofer of your component set. I would think you'd still hear something from the woofer though.
     
  6. Jul 30, 2011 at 4:42 AM
    #6
    lbridges

    lbridges Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Member:
    #52434
    Messages:
    403
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Lee
    Indialantic, FL
    Vehicle:
    '11 PreRunner SR5
    Forgive me if you already know this, but...

    The tweeter connection has 4 wires. Two come from the OEM radio to the connector and on to the tweeter. The other two simply join between connector and tweeter only to return to the woofer. It makes no sense to me why they did it this way but it's probably about ease of assembly at the factory.

    So, if you have made connections at the 4-place tweeter connector, it's possible you are using the set that goes to the woofer and is not connected unless the tweeter is in place. If you made connection to the woofer wires directly they don't connect at all without the tweeter in place.
     
  7. Jul 30, 2011 at 6:31 AM
    #7
    sun

    sun Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2011
    Member:
    #56099
    Messages:
    141
    Gender:
    Male
    Memphis
    Vehicle:
    2011 PreRunner
    Pioneer avic-z130bt with axxess aswc and rear cam mod, audiovox 10 flip down monitor, Pyle pl76d headrest monitors, kicker cvr tens wired down to one ohm with hifonics Brutus 1200.1, Clazzio seat covers, 20% tint on front windows, polished factory exhaust, peragon retractable bed cover, pop n lock tailgate handle with dei actuators for automatic lock, viper 5901 alarm remote start with viper smart start, hid bixenon 4500k headlights with 4500k fog lights, led map license plate lights and dome lights
    yup what he said. i just did mine bro and i used the stock wiring, i cut the tape around the wires in the door enough so that i could seperate the speaker wires and then it was easier to see what was going on
     
  8. Jul 30, 2011 at 1:58 PM
    #8
    LEX

    LEX [OP] --- --- --- - ----

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Member:
    #9991
    Messages:
    3,591
    Gender:
    Male
    Houston, Texas
    Vehicle:
    100 Series LC
    Got it working. I used the stock tweeter wires to hook up the new one. I don't know why I thought it would work by just using the crossover. This is the first vehicle that I've done aftermarket audio since 1998. So yeah, it's been a while. Next weekend, the amp goes in.

    Thanks, fellas.
     
  9. Sep 30, 2011 at 9:46 AM
    #9
    gassman

    gassman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Member:
    #2421
    Messages:
    63
    Gender:
    Male
    oklahoma
    Vehicle:
    06 TRD 4x4
    3'' lift, TRD exhaust, Bilstiens, PIAAx4 with N-Fab light bar
    I have the same problem, tried x over (CTX-C4) and no work, I'll try what u did, what wires did u use from stock tweeter harnes??
     
  10. Sep 30, 2011 at 10:15 AM
    #10
    willimatic

    willimatic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    Member:
    #17855
    Messages:
    301
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Will
    Rancho Murieta/Folsom, CA
    Vehicle:
    06 Tacoma AC 4x4 Sport
    What alpine speakers did you get? Anything in the rear?
     
To Top