1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

installing fog lights on an sr5

Discussion in 'Lighting' started by VancouverTaco, Apr 11, 2012.

  1. Apr 11, 2012 at 4:59 PM
    #1
    VancouverTaco

    VancouverTaco [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2011
    Member:
    #64612
    Messages:
    95
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Cole
    Vancouver, BC
    Vehicle:
    08 SR5
    Billy's 5100 all 'round, 2.5 front
    This is probably a dumb question but you never know. I have an 08 sr5 that is pre wired for fog lights. I just bought some fog lights off of ebay that came with a switch and all the wires and such. My question is if I can just plug the fog lights into my bumper, and install the switch in my dash? Or do I need to mess around with some wires?
     
  2. Apr 11, 2012 at 5:36 PM
    #2
    t_e

    t_e Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Member:
    #27078
    Messages:
    558
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Erik
    miami,fl
    Chances are you have the aftermarket kit which doesnt come with the real oem switch. If you want 100% oem you need the switch, relay that plugs into the underhood fuse box and the fuse.
     
  3. Apr 11, 2012 at 5:45 PM
    #3
    Rich91710

    Rich91710 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Member:
    #73470
    Messages:
    16,496
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rich
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    08 Base
    Satoshi with FJ badge, factory cruise, factory intermittent wipers, Redline Tuning hood-lift struts, Hellwig Swaybar, Rosen DVD-Nav
    This.

    The switch not only won't plug into the harness, it won't properly fit the dash opening.

    $70 will get you a factory switch.

    You'll also need an OEM relay to install in the underhood fuse box.
     
  4. Apr 11, 2012 at 5:48 PM
    #4
    tacoma16

    tacoma16 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    Member:
    #53109
    Messages:
    1,511
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Peter
    Ontario
    Vehicle:
    Double cab SR5 4x4
    Check the build

    Priced it out and it was like $1200. for the relay, 2 lights, and a switch.

    you have the kit already, really all you need is a oem swithc which you can get ojn ebay for 20$. I believe the sellers name is eddy rockets or somehting

    I am in the same boat as you and figure i would see how much it was. Im going aftermarket for this one.
     
  5. Apr 11, 2012 at 5:59 PM
    #5
    Rich91710

    Rich91710 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Member:
    #73470
    Messages:
    16,496
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rich
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    08 Base
    Satoshi with FJ badge, factory cruise, factory intermittent wipers, Redline Tuning hood-lift struts, Hellwig Swaybar, Rosen DVD-Nav
    A little more (accurate) info on the seller would be helpful.


    I did find these:

    Tacoma OEM
    http://www.ebay.com/itm/Toyota-Taco...Parts_Accessories&vxp=mtr&hash=item2a1be84675

    FJ Cruiser (6-wire, won't work properly in the Taco harness)
    http://www.ebay.com/itm/FJ-CRUISER-...Parts_Accessories&vxp=mtr&hash=item4ab47a90a4

    The $20 switches (found Eddie Rockets) do not plug into the factory harness... they are just basic generic lighted rocker switches that you can buy at O'Reilly (for under $10), only difference is these have the picture of the foglight and the O'Reilly switches don't
    http://www.ebay.com/itm/TOYOTA-FOG-...Parts_Accessories&vxp=mtr&hash=item2a1b2e8116
     
  6. Apr 11, 2012 at 6:08 PM
    #6
    t_e

    t_e Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Member:
    #27078
    Messages:
    558
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Erik
    miami,fl
    option one will plug n play since you are pre-wired. then all you need is the factory relay and fuse.
     
  7. Apr 11, 2012 at 6:52 PM
    #7
    tacoma16

    tacoma16 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    Member:
    #53109
    Messages:
    1,511
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Peter
    Ontario
    Vehicle:
    Double cab SR5 4x4
    Check the build
    the switch is for plug and play. Should have been more specific. There the closest you can get to oem for the price. I believe the scion switches are like this (dont hold me to it).
    but for $20 it was the best thing i could find that looked the most oem at the time.
     
  8. Apr 11, 2012 at 7:21 PM
    #8
    Rich91710

    Rich91710 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Member:
    #73470
    Messages:
    16,496
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rich
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    08 Base
    Satoshi with FJ badge, factory cruise, factory intermittent wipers, Redline Tuning hood-lift struts, Hellwig Swaybar, Rosen DVD-Nav
    They may be Scion OEM... or they may look like the Scion OEM switches, but they will not plug into the Tacoma harness.

    The first link (at just above $40) is the factory OEM switch for the Tacoma.
    As I said... the Scion rocker switches are simply generics with three lug terminals on the back. I don't know how they tie into the Scion harness, but the Tacoma harness would have to be cut and modified.
     
  9. Apr 11, 2012 at 7:29 PM
    #9
    tacoma16

    tacoma16 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    Member:
    #53109
    Messages:
    1,511
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Peter
    Ontario
    Vehicle:
    Double cab SR5 4x4
    Check the build
    see the bold
     
  10. Apr 11, 2012 at 7:45 PM
    #10
    Rich91710

    Rich91710 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Member:
    #73470
    Messages:
    16,496
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rich
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    08 Base
    Satoshi with FJ badge, factory cruise, factory intermittent wipers, Redline Tuning hood-lift struts, Hellwig Swaybar, Rosen DVD-Nav
    And read the OP.

    The OP has a truck that is already wired for fogs.
    He's got an eBay kit that includes a shitty switch and a harness that he will not need.

    He needs "plug and play" that will fit the Tacoma factory harness.
    That is NOT the Scion switch. That would be the Tacoma switch from the first link that I posted as t_e indicated.

    His truck is 99% there. All he needs is a factory switch, factory relay, and the fogs (and a fuse).

    He's got the fogs. The switch is available for $43.
    The relay might be $20 or so from the dealer. Fuse is pennies.
    That'll be a 100% factory type system and the switch will be correct for the Tacoma.

    You keep talking about using "plug and play" with his ebay harness and the Scion switch... running the eBay harness through the firewall is not "plug and play"... much less cutting the connectors off of that harness and basically rewiring the whole thing to accommodate the Scion switch.
    I've got that fog kit and the supplied harness is not even long enough to make it through the firewall to the dash.
     
  11. Apr 11, 2012 at 8:00 PM
    #11
    tacoma16

    tacoma16 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    Member:
    #53109
    Messages:
    1,511
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Peter
    Ontario
    Vehicle:
    Double cab SR5 4x4
    Check the build

    Op i tried to do what you were doing-filling in the missing peices so you can be 100% oem for fogs. I found it was too expensive ( I got quoted over 1200$). I just wanted to suggest a cheap oem look a like switch that would work with your plug and play harness (im sure the aftermarket switch you have is a 3 prung so all you have to do is just literally attatch it).

    what ever you do best of luck and i hope you get your fogs as not only are they very functional and great in weather conditions but they look good on the tacos as well

    for what its worth i hope what Rich91710 is saying regarding the cost is correct so you can run the oem method.

    Rich91710 did you end up doing the oem method or were you just guesssing those prices? you said you bought the same thing off of ebay. if you new these prices why did you even bother trying to wire "the short harness" if you new you could wire them oem?

    Not trying to start a war here just curious for the interest of the op.
     
  12. Apr 11, 2012 at 8:09 PM
    #12
    Rich91710

    Rich91710 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Member:
    #73470
    Messages:
    16,496
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rich
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    08 Base
    Satoshi with FJ badge, factory cruise, factory intermittent wipers, Redline Tuning hood-lift struts, Hellwig Swaybar, Rosen DVD-Nav
    You got quoted over $1200 because the dealer charges an arm and a leg for the foglight housings.
    The OP and I covered that with a $65 fog set.

    I paid $67 (plus shipping) for an FJ Cruiser switch and harness... haven't yet installed it but I'll be using the relay from the eBay foglight set.

    So my system (RC base, truck is not prewired) will total about $140 or so.
    The switch that came with his fog set fits the harness that came with it... and ONLY fits that harness. It's a stupid 4 (maybe 6?) pin thing and I couldn't even get it to plug in.. kept trying to bend the pins. So the Scion switch will match neither his factory harness nor the harness that came with his fogs.
    I have an RC Base... not pre-wired for fogs from the factory.
    If mine were prewired I'd have gone the way I'm recommending above.
    The eBay foglight housings cover the bulk of the cost of the system. The factory switch isn't cheap, but it's simply "right"... it looks factory and matches the rest of the switches (or in my case, plugs) in the dash.
     
  13. Apr 11, 2012 at 8:31 PM
    #13
    tacoma16

    tacoma16 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    Member:
    #53109
    Messages:
    1,511
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Peter
    Ontario
    Vehicle:
    Double cab SR5 4x4
    Check the build
    op this is the route. lol sorry for all the confusion with my sheet.

    Keep us posten on what you do!
     
  14. Apr 11, 2012 at 8:36 PM
    #14
    Rich91710

    Rich91710 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Member:
    #73470
    Messages:
    16,496
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rich
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    08 Base
    Satoshi with FJ badge, factory cruise, factory intermittent wipers, Redline Tuning hood-lift struts, Hellwig Swaybar, Rosen DVD-Nav
    Ahh...

    Another case of "don't listen to the dealer"

    Ask your dealer about putting factory cruise and intermittent wipers into a 4-cylinder RC base.
    The answer will be anything from "can't be done" to over $1000 for the wipers (need a new motor, controller, stalk) and they MIGHT suggest a Rostra aftermarket cruise.

    Both can be done in 15 minutes without leaving the driver's seat... $250 shipped for all parts.

    Same for the fogs. No harness is needed. $400 for the relay? He either didn't quote you the right part or he's out of his fucking mind... sounds like he quoted you the entire relay BOX!
    $300 each for the housings sounds about right for OEM.
     
  15. Apr 11, 2012 at 8:47 PM
    #15
    tacoma16

    tacoma16 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    Member:
    #53109
    Messages:
    1,511
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Peter
    Ontario
    Vehicle:
    Double cab SR5 4x4
    Check the build
    yeah i learned out real quick to stay away from the dealer for anything to add on after you purchase the vehicle. When i first started adding extras i thought "the dealer will have it", well never again.

    The guy probably didnt find the right part, as it seems all the part guys i talk to hate their jobs and dont want to do their job. regardless, ill double check for the relay again and the harness and see what it comes out to, plus good old ebay/craiglist kinda seraching too.
     
  16. Apr 11, 2012 at 8:55 PM
    #16
    Rich91710

    Rich91710 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Member:
    #73470
    Messages:
    16,496
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rich
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    08 Base
    Satoshi with FJ badge, factory cruise, factory intermittent wipers, Redline Tuning hood-lift struts, Hellwig Swaybar, Rosen DVD-Nav
    I was going to try and look it up but the site I use is down for the evening.
     
  17. Apr 12, 2012 at 5:51 PM
    #17
    VancouverTaco

    VancouverTaco [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2011
    Member:
    #64612
    Messages:
    95
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Cole
    Vancouver, BC
    Vehicle:
    08 SR5
    Billy's 5100 all 'round, 2.5 front
    Thanks for all the help guys. I guess I need to go to the stealership and get an OEM relay and switch. I would order the switch you posted a link for off of ebay, but by the time I pay shipping and duty and all that fun stuff (Canada) it will cost basically the same as if I just went to my local Toyta dealership and bought the stuff.

    The wire harness that came with my fog light kit has a relay and fuse on it. Would I be able to take that off and use it? Or will it not work because it's aftermarket. Also is there a clear spot to put them under the hood? I have no clue about anything electrical (I guess thats why I'm a Carpenter)
     
  18. Apr 12, 2012 at 6:43 PM
    #18
    specjay

    specjay Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2012
    Member:
    #75049
    Messages:
    32
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jeremy
    Montreal
    Vehicle:
    2012-SR5-BLACK
    Footboard
    Hi VancouverTaco. I also have an SR5. I bought it last week so it's a 2012. My question is, does all the SR5 are prewired ? If it is, i would like to buy same kit as you but I want to make sure it will fit in the hole.
     
  19. Apr 12, 2012 at 6:46 PM
    #19
    VancouverTaco

    VancouverTaco [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2011
    Member:
    #64612
    Messages:
    95
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Cole
    Vancouver, BC
    Vehicle:
    08 SR5
    Billy's 5100 all 'round, 2.5 front
    I'm pretty sure all V6 trucks are prewired. Not to sure about the 2012's though
     
  20. Apr 12, 2012 at 6:56 PM
    #20
    tacoma16

    tacoma16 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    Member:
    #53109
    Messages:
    1,511
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Peter
    Ontario
    Vehicle:
    Double cab SR5 4x4
    Check the build
    Im not really familiar with the kit. "Rich" said the switch that comes with the kit has more than 3 pins which leads me to believe that the relay is going to have more than 4 spots (spst/spdt). Rich probably knows as he has the same kit. i think he is an electrician too. double bonus :p
     
To Top