1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Installing New AVIC D3

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by 07TACOTRDSPORT, Nov 9, 2007.

  1. Nov 9, 2007 at 6:24 PM
    #1
    07TACOTRDSPORT

    07TACOTRDSPORT [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Member:
    #3359
    Messages:
    32
    MOORE, OK
    Vehicle:
    07 PRERUNNER SR5 TRD SPORT X CAB
    PIONEER AVIC D3 GPS XM RADIO
    OK, I just bought my truck so I'm really paranoid about tearing into it and splicing into wires, but I have to splice into the speed sensor, reverse light and parking break. I found the link where someone indicated which wires. Does anyone have any photos? Not sure about the parking break lead is it the green white wire? Thanks in advance....
     
  2. Nov 10, 2007 at 12:39 AM
    #2
    909tacoma

    909tacoma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Member:
    #2818
    Messages:
    329
    Vehicle:
    07' Prerunner SR5 TRD
    I don't know if it applies to this model, but on my Z-2 my friend just added and grounded a wire to the harness, and bam I am able to watch video while in motion...
    I really don't know much about electronics, but whatever he did was simple...
     
  3. Nov 10, 2007 at 7:08 AM
    #3
    allrsdup

    allrsdup Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Member:
    #3040
    Messages:
    863
    Gender:
    Male
    Sahuarita AZ.
    Vehicle:
    2015 dc superwhite 4x4
    on most models, u just ground the parking break sensor wire.
     
  4. Nov 10, 2007 at 9:12 AM
    #4
    07TACOTRDSPORT

    07TACOTRDSPORT [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Member:
    #3359
    Messages:
    32
    MOORE, OK
    Vehicle:
    07 PRERUNNER SR5 TRD SPORT X CAB
    PIONEER AVIC D3 GPS XM RADIO
    OK, so when you say "ground" you mean just tie into the black ground wire or to the chasis? I have to figure this out, because it won't let me program an address w/o it.

    Also, what about the speed sensor wire and reverse wire? Are these necessary?

    Having problems with the XM too. Got the signal because it's showing all the channels, but no sound.

    Thanks for the help!
     
  5. Nov 10, 2007 at 11:02 AM
    #5
    909tacoma

    909tacoma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Member:
    #2818
    Messages:
    329
    Vehicle:
    07' Prerunner SR5 TRD
    From my understanding your unit has a ground.. My friend just added a wire to the harness and sliced into the ground wire for the unit...
    I'm no expert, so I could be totally wrong...
     
  6. Nov 10, 2007 at 3:11 PM
    #6
    07TACOTRDSPORT

    07TACOTRDSPORT [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Member:
    #3359
    Messages:
    32
    MOORE, OK
    Vehicle:
    07 PRERUNNER SR5 TRD SPORT X CAB
    PIONEER AVIC D3 GPS XM RADIO
    Thanks for the help. I went ahead and just hooked it up the way the manual said minus the speed sensor and back up. Works Great!
     
  7. Nov 10, 2007 at 3:26 PM
    #7
    07TACOTRDSPORT

    07TACOTRDSPORT [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Member:
    #3359
    Messages:
    32
    MOORE, OK
    Vehicle:
    07 PRERUNNER SR5 TRD SPORT X CAB
    PIONEER AVIC D3 GPS XM RADIO
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 19, 2016
To Top