1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Instrument Cluster Question.

Discussion in 'Technical Chat' started by Avsguy33, Oct 1, 2009.

  1. Oct 1, 2009 at 9:13 PM
    #1
    Avsguy33

    Avsguy33 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Member:
    #23633
    Messages:
    148
    Gender:
    Male
    I just bought a '95 taco and the cluster in the truck is a speedo only with no tach. My '98 SR5 had the full cluster with the tach in it. Would it be possible to find a used one somewhere and make the swap. I am sure some people have done this and I was wondering what all needs to be done in order to make this swap successful. Thanks in advance.

    Eric
     
  2. Oct 1, 2009 at 9:31 PM
    #2
    Beefed Taco

    Beefed Taco Taco Vending Machine

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Member:
    #11706
    Messages:
    1,311
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brian
    My Metal Shop
    Vehicle:
    99 Taco
    streetacos.com parts!
    95.5-97 Taco's have the cable driven speedo, so getting one from a 98 and newer truck isn't going to work for you. There may be some from your year available with tach, but you'll need it from the 95.5-97 years and most likely with the same motor you have (2.4?). Your truck is hard wired for things like wiper switch and stuff, so swapping plug & play parts from 98 and newer isn't a option. customtacos.com will have your answers. Make a thread over there. I swapped the 01-04 white faced gauges with tach into my 99, along with a intermittent wiper switch. Plug and play.

    [​IMG]
     
  3. Oct 1, 2009 at 9:37 PM
    #3
    Avsguy33

    Avsguy33 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Member:
    #23633
    Messages:
    148
    Gender:
    Male
    I have the 3.4L which is really wierd that it didn't come with a tach. The truck is bare bones DLX model though so I could understand why. Just is a little wierd to have the V6 without a tach.
     
To Top