1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Integrated (Factory) Aux-in with Aftermarket Stereo

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by BioMed80, Sep 24, 2008.

  1. Sep 24, 2008 at 2:47 PM
    #1
    BioMed80

    BioMed80 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Member:
    #9176
    Messages:
    158
    Gender:
    Male
    Colorado Springs, CO
    Vehicle:
    09 Regular Cab
    3" ReadyLift Kit, 31x10.5x15 General Grabber AT2s, AFE Drop-In, Bull Bar, Hella 500FF, Secondary Filter Removed
    I've searched and found nothing. Has anyone, or is there a way, to use the factory aux-in (next to the 12V supply, under the climate controls) with an aftermarket stereo? I have an rca aux-in on my deck and would like to wire it to the factory aux-in. I think it would be easier to just plug my MP3 player into the factory aux-in, than messing with it in the glove box. Thanks.
     
  2. Sep 24, 2008 at 5:11 PM
    #2
    Taco's for All

    Taco's for All Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2008
    Member:
    #8937
    Messages:
    223
    Gender:
    Male
    Vermont
    Vehicle:
    2013 Tacoma Double Cab SR5
    Nothing at the moment
    I haven't torn my dash apart yet, but from the sounds of some previous discussions and seeing photos of the back of the factory stereo, it's probably going to take some effort. It doesn't appear that the 3.5mm adapter turns into an RCA cable like I'm guessing that you're hoping for. Have you popped the AUX jack out yet? If you did, what's behind it for wires?
     
  3. Sep 24, 2008 at 5:27 PM
    #3
    BioMed80

    BioMed80 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Member:
    #9176
    Messages:
    158
    Gender:
    Male
    Colorado Springs, CO
    Vehicle:
    09 Regular Cab
    3" ReadyLift Kit, 31x10.5x15 General Grabber AT2s, AFE Drop-In, Bull Bar, Hella 500FF, Secondary Filter Removed
    LOL, no, I know better than to think it would be an RCA or any other type of connector. I figured it would take either some splicing (probably), or a harness of some sort (would be nice, but I doubt it). I haven't pulled it to look at it yet, I was hoping someone already did it. If I don't get any answers from this thread, I'll at least take a look at it.
     
  4. Sep 25, 2008 at 5:07 PM
    #4
    TightShirts

    TightShirts The StormTrooper

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Member:
    #9447
    Messages:
    600
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    TightShirts
    Phoenix... The Land of Lifted Trucks & Dirty Sluts
    Vehicle:
    08 Rugged Trail Ed
    Tint, Clear Bra, De-badged, In-Dash DVD, 09 Led Tail Lights, Chris4x4's old OME front shocks, 1.5" Deaver AAL with OME n182s, black billet in white sport grill, BHLM w/4500k HIDs + Fogs, bumper blackout
    it should be definitely possible if you want to start splicing wires. The AUX input is new for the 09s... Scosche makes a lot of wiring harnesses to mix factory and aftermarket equipment and they don't have any products to solve your problem yet, but i'd email them and see if they plan on making an adapter, that way you wouldn't have to cut wires. just a side note, I installed car stereos for 4 years and Scosche makes some good quality stuff.:cool:
     
  5. Sep 25, 2008 at 5:54 PM
    #5
    BioMed80

    BioMed80 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Member:
    #9176
    Messages:
    158
    Gender:
    Male
    Colorado Springs, CO
    Vehicle:
    09 Regular Cab
    3" ReadyLift Kit, 31x10.5x15 General Grabber AT2s, AFE Drop-In, Bull Bar, Hella 500FF, Secondary Filter Removed
    Thanks, I didn't think to email the company. That'd be nice if they start making a harness for it. Thanks for the input.
     
  6. Sep 28, 2008 at 6:51 PM
    #6
    bdub85

    bdub85 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Member:
    #9494
    Messages:
    40
    Pasadena, MD
    Vehicle:
    Tacoma PreRunner
    Usually you have to buy an AUX adapter that will plug into the aftermarket deck. This will split out to the two rca connectors which can be wired into the factory AUX in stereo jack. I had one wired up with my Alpine deck.
     
  7. Sep 28, 2008 at 7:41 PM
    #7
    BioMed80

    BioMed80 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Member:
    #9176
    Messages:
    158
    Gender:
    Male
    Colorado Springs, CO
    Vehicle:
    09 Regular Cab
    3" ReadyLift Kit, 31x10.5x15 General Grabber AT2s, AFE Drop-In, Bull Bar, Hella 500FF, Secondary Filter Removed
    Nah, my aux-in is rca's, but I know what you mean. Usually you have to use the CD changer input with an adapter. In any case, there's nothing to connect an adapter to, and I'm not sure what wires would need to be spliced. Besides, I'd rather use a harness than splicing.

    Update, Scosche wrote me back and said to check back in 30-90 days. We'll see if they decide to make a harness, though it sounds possible at this point.
     
To Top