1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Inverter Install/Fuse question

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by Ohbrian, Jan 13, 2012.

  1. Jan 13, 2012 at 8:49 PM
    #1
    Ohbrian

    Ohbrian [OP] Taco Roja

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2011
    Member:
    #67664
    Messages:
    209
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brian
    Fremont, CA
    Vehicle:
    04 PreRunner
    Eclipse head unit,scratched paint,ripped seat, black chaos 6 rims, Bilstein 5100's, top plate spacers, AAL, Midget antenna, Bakflip G2 cover, 14" Magnaflow, 400W inverter, LR UCA's
    I have a 400W inverter I'm going to install in my truck. From what I can figure I'm going to need something like a 35A fuse. Does the fuse block under the hood have the capacity/ability to add something like this or do I need to add another fuse block or inline fuse? If I need to add something can anyone recommend something from local autoparts stores? Also is it best to ground on the chassis near the inverter or should I run it back to the battery?

    Thanks
     
  2. Jan 14, 2012 at 6:46 PM
    #2
    lbridges

    lbridges Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Member:
    #52434
    Messages:
    403
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Lee
    Indialantic, FL
    Vehicle:
    '11 PreRunner SR5
    Fuse to the size of the wire from battery to inverter, not the expected current draw of the inverter. I would run the positive connection to the battery, but that's me. Was a 400 Watt inverter an option for your model year? If yes, then there should be wires you could use. If no, then I think you will have to run wire. I would go with a car stereo fuse block, easy to find, easy to replace. No need to run the ground back to battery, just make sure you have a good connection.
     
  3. Jan 14, 2012 at 6:48 PM
    #3
    fletch aka

    fletch aka www.BeLikeBrit.org

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Member:
    #12223
    Messages:
    7,103
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Gary
    Left Coast
    Vehicle:
    09 Magnetic Gray TRD OffRoad
    TRD cat back exhaust, TRD Cold Air Intake, differential breather mod' Hellwig rear sway bar, 16x8 TRD Ivan Stewart's, Michelin LTX A/T2, DTRL Stealth Mode Mod, custom "Texas Edition" shift knob, Sock's "Classic" bedside decals, MetalMiller custom grill emblem, 20% front tinted windows, tinted taillights, Viper alarm, ScanGauge II, Flyzeye Designs V2W Tacoma Interior LED lighting, de-mud flapped, de-badged, extra D-rings under bed bolts, WeatherTech ED floor mats, G4 Elite Fold a Cover ,Toyota bed mat, tailgate theft deterrent device and absolutely no plasti-dip!
    This ^^
     
  4. Jan 15, 2012 at 4:22 AM
    #4
    Ohbrian

    Ohbrian [OP] Taco Roja

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2011
    Member:
    #67664
    Messages:
    209
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brian
    Fremont, CA
    Vehicle:
    04 PreRunner
    Eclipse head unit,scratched paint,ripped seat, black chaos 6 rims, Bilstein 5100's, top plate spacers, AAL, Midget antenna, Bakflip G2 cover, 14" Magnaflow, 400W inverter, LR UCA's
    Hmmm not sure what to do now...I wired it up yesterday with 12 guage wire because the cables that came with the inverter were 12 guage. From what I can tell 12 guage wire is only good for up to 20A? I put a 30A fuse in it so I guess I need to put a smaller fuse or run some 8 or 10 guage wire?


     
  5. Jan 15, 2012 at 4:45 AM
    #5
    lbridges

    lbridges Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Member:
    #52434
    Messages:
    403
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Lee
    Indialantic, FL
    Vehicle:
    '11 PreRunner SR5
    My guess is the supplied wires were short? The manufacturer may have been relying on limited, relatively short -term use and short wires to handle the current flow. But if you want long term safety and reliability, then I would go back with 8 Gauge.
     
  6. Jan 15, 2012 at 4:50 AM
    #6
    Ohbrian

    Ohbrian [OP] Taco Roja

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2011
    Member:
    #67664
    Messages:
    209
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brian
    Fremont, CA
    Vehicle:
    04 PreRunner
    Eclipse head unit,scratched paint,ripped seat, black chaos 6 rims, Bilstein 5100's, top plate spacers, AAL, Midget antenna, Bakflip G2 cover, 14" Magnaflow, 400W inverter, LR UCA's
    Gonna go do that before I burn my taco. Thanks for the help!

     
  7. Jan 15, 2012 at 5:11 AM
    #7
    maineah

    maineah Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Member:
    #53641
    Messages:
    4,143
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tim
    Maine
    Vehicle:
    4X4 SR5 V6 6spd
    X2 the manufactures get away with it by using short leads (very little loss) any thing over what they use you need to upgrade. You'll need at least a 35 amp fuse and put it as close to the the power source as possible to protect your wire run.
     
To Top