1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

iPhone 6 issues with entune?

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by RearViewMirror, Jun 2, 2015.

  1. Jun 2, 2015 at 9:22 AM
    #1
    RearViewMirror

    RearViewMirror [OP] Saw things so much clearer once you... were in my

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2013
    Member:
    #102010
    Messages:
    23,308
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Craig Christ
    State of Love and Trust
    Vehicle:
    2013 DCSB 4X4 TRD Off Road *Sold*
    I'm sure this has been brought up but my poor searching skills didn't bring up anything that I could find with my problem. I switched from Android to iPhone a few months back and I can not get the entune app to bring up the weather, Pandora, traffic, etc.. on the screen. I've got the JBL Nav unit in my 13 truck. I never had a issue with Android and I'm just wondering if anyone has been able to make this work or has this issue?

    Phone works just fine for making calls but every time I try to bring up a weather map or traffic it says that the entune app must be active (which it is) but I've had no luck. Any help would be appreciated or if someone could point me to a thread that I'm sure has been discussed.
     
  2. Jun 2, 2015 at 9:59 AM
    #2
    DanceswithWolves

    DanceswithWolves su madre lo sé

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2014
    Member:
    #131201
    Messages:
    725
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jerry
    Roosevelt UT
    Vehicle:
    13 DCSBFTMFW TRD OR
    Britax car seat
    I have the same HU, same year. My iPhone 6 works fine. I don't use the app suite but just went out and checked it and it seems to be working. Maybe delete phone and delete app, then shut down phone and reinstall app and then repair?
     
  3. Jun 2, 2015 at 1:11 PM
    #3
    RearViewMirror

    RearViewMirror [OP] Saw things so much clearer once you... were in my

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2013
    Member:
    #102010
    Messages:
    23,308
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Craig Christ
    State of Love and Trust
    Vehicle:
    2013 DCSB 4X4 TRD Off Road *Sold*
    Yeah I deleted the app and phone from my truck and reinstalled it but it still does the same thing. I didn't shut down the phone though.
     
  4. Jun 2, 2015 at 1:16 PM
    #4
    ODNAREM

    ODNAREM MEMBER Of The Church Of @ODNAREM

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2015
    Member:
    #149762
    Messages:
    41,301
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ron
    Huntington Beach,CA.
    Vehicle:
    2012 TRD Sport Prerunner
    TRD catback exhaust,FJ Cruiser trail team wheels,BFG All Terrain K02 tires,Grillcraft front grill,Pelfreybilt IFS/Mid skids,sliders,standard rear bumper,Total Chaos bed stiffeners.TRD Pro Bilstein front/rear suspension.
    I'm going to have to keep this in mind because i'm making the switch soon from Android to iPhone 6.Thanks OP!
     
  5. Jun 2, 2015 at 1:43 PM
    #5
    jtweezy

    jtweezy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Member:
    #122631
    Messages:
    1,252
    Gender:
    Male
    Austin
    Vehicle:
    2014 4X4 DCSB OR V6
    Is the iPhone plugged into the HU? The data connection won't work if it's plugged in via USB. Also, if I'm not mistaken, the weather and traffic run off of the HD radio signal. The app suite should be the only thing that depends on your phone's data connection. Phone/messaging work over BT even when the phone is plugged into the USB jack, it's just the data that doesn't.
     
  6. Jun 2, 2015 at 3:13 PM
    #6
    RearViewMirror

    RearViewMirror [OP] Saw things so much clearer once you... were in my

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2013
    Member:
    #102010
    Messages:
    23,308
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Craig Christ
    State of Love and Trust
    Vehicle:
    2013 DCSB 4X4 TRD Off Road *Sold*
    No it isn't plugged in. It's run though BT just like my Android was. Weather on "my" HU comes from the data connection not HD Radio. It just won't work for the iPhone so far that I can figure out.

    I can make and receive calls but none of my contacts show up and no email or text messages come over the HU either?
     
  7. Jun 8, 2015 at 9:45 AM
    #7
    jtweezy

    jtweezy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Member:
    #122631
    Messages:
    1,252
    Gender:
    Male
    Austin
    Vehicle:
    2014 4X4 DCSB OR V6
    On your iPhone, go into Settings > Bluetooth and hit the "i" next to your truck's headunit under "My Devices". There you can choose what gets "shared" with your truck. Upon pairing the iPhone for the first time when I got a replacement phone recently, I had to go and flip the "Show Notifications" and "Sync Contacts" settings on.

    That should solve your text message issue. My emails don't come through either...don't think they ever have.

    I'm not sure how you got weather and traffic to go through the phone's data connection, but if you find out I'd love to know. HD radio isn't reliable on long drives, so it'd be nice to get weather through the phone's data.
     
    FJ to Taco likes this.
  8. Jun 8, 2015 at 9:48 AM
    #8
    RearViewMirror

    RearViewMirror [OP] Saw things so much clearer once you... were in my

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2013
    Member:
    #102010
    Messages:
    23,308
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Craig Christ
    State of Love and Trust
    Vehicle:
    2013 DCSB 4X4 TRD Off Road *Sold*
    Thanks for the reply! I'll try that. I never had any issues with Android but it iPhone doesn't want to play well with entunes
     
  9. Jun 8, 2015 at 2:04 PM
    #9
    jtweezy

    jtweezy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Member:
    #122631
    Messages:
    1,252
    Gender:
    Male
    Austin
    Vehicle:
    2014 4X4 DCSB OR V6
    Yea, it's kind of annoying. iOS9 was announced today, but I don't know if that'll change anything for us iUsers. Toyota also doesn't seem very interested in updating their Entune iOS app.
     
  10. Jun 8, 2015 at 2:10 PM
    #10
    RearViewMirror

    RearViewMirror [OP] Saw things so much clearer once you... were in my

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2013
    Member:
    #102010
    Messages:
    23,308
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Craig Christ
    State of Love and Trust
    Vehicle:
    2013 DCSB 4X4 TRD Off Road *Sold*
    Yeah... when I downloaded the app it had one star because of all the issues not connecting with certain models of cars. Hopefully they'll come out with a update.
     
  11. Jun 8, 2015 at 2:22 PM
    #11
    adio

    adio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Member:
    #9165
    Messages:
    2,644
    Gender:
    Male
    HI
    Vehicle:
    2015 INFERNO TRD PRO
    No issue with my 6 connecting with a 2014 Non-JBL NAV HU with Entune App Suite.

    Do you have the Entune App active while trying to use the Apps? Cause you have to have it active to utilize the Apps.
     
  12. Jun 8, 2015 at 2:56 PM
    #12
    slc_tacoma

    slc_tacoma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Member:
    #155695
    Messages:
    85
    SLC, Utah
    Vehicle:
    2015 Tacoma
    I'm not having any of the problems that you are experiencing, and I'm running an iphone 6. I have the non-jbl entune with app suite + navigation. I do not need to have the entune app open for the HU to display local weather. If I recall correctly it does need to be connected via BT to your phone to get some kind of weather though - I'll confirm this when I have access to my vehicle again. Do you have location services enabled on with your iphone?
     
    Last edited: Jun 8, 2015
  13. Jun 8, 2015 at 9:26 PM
    #13
    RearViewMirror

    RearViewMirror [OP] Saw things so much clearer once you... were in my

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2013
    Member:
    #102010
    Messages:
    23,308
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Craig Christ
    State of Love and Trust
    Vehicle:
    2013 DCSB 4X4 TRD Off Road *Sold*
    Yes. I have it active and when I hit the weather, traffic, etc. button on the screen it says the entune app needs to be active (even though it is).

    Yeah, mine's connected with BT and location services are on. It's weird that I can connect my wife's Galaxy note 4 (my old phone) and everything works fine :notsure: I'm sure it's something I'm missing but I can't figure it out?
     
    FJ to Taco likes this.
  14. Jun 8, 2015 at 9:58 PM
    #14
    slc_tacoma

    slc_tacoma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Member:
    #155695
    Messages:
    85
    SLC, Utah
    Vehicle:
    2015 Tacoma
    Jtweezy is correct according to the entune link here:
    http://www.toyota.com/entune/support/entune-premium-audio/data-services/weather.html##!tacoma/2015

    I have had both BT enabled and usb plugged in and still received weather, but it's entirely possible I was just on range of HD, haven't really paid attention closely enough to be sure.

    any way of confirming that your HU is receiving an HD signal, and also are any other BT functions working as expected? Lastly, have you confirmed you're using the latest version software in your HU?
     
  15. Jun 8, 2015 at 11:18 PM
    #15
    adio

    adio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Member:
    #9165
    Messages:
    2,644
    Gender:
    Male
    HI
    Vehicle:
    2015 INFERNO TRD PRO
    Just making sure. Your screen is like this right when you launch the Entune App?

    E64A6D3A-0E3F-4E50-9C2D-A9C1ECC4FEDF_zps_be2c3e4f471d48096885aa28743b739e78f07c92.jpg
     
    FJ to Taco likes this.
  16. Jun 9, 2015 at 4:37 AM
    #16
    slc_tacoma

    slc_tacoma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Member:
    #155695
    Messages:
    85
    SLC, Utah
    Vehicle:
    2015 Tacoma
    I do not have to have the entune app open on my phone for weather services to display.
     
  17. Jun 10, 2015 at 1:06 PM
    #17
    jtweezy

    jtweezy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Member:
    #122631
    Messages:
    1,252
    Gender:
    Male
    Austin
    Vehicle:
    2014 4X4 DCSB OR V6
    So the Toyota reference link says that HD weather data is available on "select 2014" models...maybe it wasn't the same back in 2013 because the HU software did change a bit with the inclusion of the rearview camera on-screen rather than in-mirror.

    OP, what happens when you hit the "Pandora" app on the HU? What do you see?
     
  18. Jun 10, 2015 at 2:50 PM
    #18
    RearViewMirror

    RearViewMirror [OP] Saw things so much clearer once you... were in my

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2013
    Member:
    #102010
    Messages:
    23,308
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Craig Christ
    State of Love and Trust
    Vehicle:
    2013 DCSB 4X4 TRD Off Road *Sold*
    Nothing when I use my iPhone. Everything works just fine with the Galaxy Note :notsure:
     
    Last edited: Jun 10, 2015
  19. Jun 10, 2015 at 4:53 PM
    #19
    FJ to Taco

    FJ to Taco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2015
    Member:
    #150578
    Messages:
    492
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tony
    Lacey, Wa
    Vehicle:
    2015 DCSB 4x4 TRD Off Road,Snugtop Rebel
    Bilstein 5100's all around, OME 885's and OME Dakar CS047R Leaf Packs. Snugtop Rebel, pet screens,front slider drop down window. WeatherTech mats. Interior LEDS
    Hi Craig, Have you gone here and set up your my en tune account? https://www.myentune.com/login.jsp
    This is where you set up Pandora and other apps. Put in your username and password for the APPS and then close and re-open the entune.jpg APP.
     
  20. Jun 10, 2015 at 6:11 PM
    #20
    RearViewMirror

    RearViewMirror [OP] Saw things so much clearer once you... were in my

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2013
    Member:
    #102010
    Messages:
    23,308
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Craig Christ
    State of Love and Trust
    Vehicle:
    2013 DCSB 4X4 TRD Off Road *Sold*
    Yeah I set it up when I got my phone and downloaded the app (which I've deleted twice now just in case).

    I've linked all my accounts with entune but nothing but the phone calls work. It shows the phone hooked up with BT just nothing else works. Entune shows my truck correctly on the account page

    entune_zpsbgus7glj_3cf3dff32f9f508bd3d99ea2139ebedc1f6eb15a.jpg

    Like I said it works fine with Android

    https://youtu.be/vBaTtRnoYdA
     

Products Discussed in

To Top