1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Iphone as a modem?

Discussion in 'Technology' started by Roland, Jan 29, 2009.

  1. Jan 29, 2009 at 1:08 PM
    #1
    Roland

    Roland [OP] My other ride has sails

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Member:
    #4149
    Messages:
    2,401
    Gender:
    Male
    Rhode Island
    Vehicle:
    06 Impulse Red I4 2WD Access Cab
    UnderCover Tonneau, Bed mat, Bug Deflector, aFe Pro Dry S, Secondary Air Filter removed, Synthetic 5W-30 oil, Scanguage II with blendmount, WeatherTech floorliners, Toyota seat covers, Installed OEM intermittent wipers, TacomaWorld sticker, Defrost without AC mod, Hidden Hitch
    Can an Iphone be used to provide an internet connection for a laptop computer?

    I want an Ipod touch but they cost as much as an Iphone with a service contract. I don't really want to pay an extra 30 bucks a month for a data plan I don't really need. If the iphone can double as a modem for my laptop when I'm on the boat or traveling I can justify the data plan cost.
     
  2. Jan 29, 2009 at 1:11 PM
    #2
    taconinja

    taconinja Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Member:
    #8231
    Messages:
    327
    Gender:
    Male
    Pittsburgh
    Vehicle:
    08 Base 4X4
    I don't know if the iPhone is capable of that but my BlackBerry is.
    There are hardly any ports on an Iphone and I don't think any of them would be capable of transmitting an internet signal. My Pearl has a mini-USB that it uses to connect to my laptop as a modem.
     
  3. Jan 29, 2009 at 1:11 PM
    #3
    maricopa_taco

    maricopa_taco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Member:
    #10336
    Messages:
    48
    Maricopa, AZ
    Vehicle:
    07 Prerunner
    6 inch procomp lift, 315/70/17 BFGs AT, Eagle Alloys, Carr step, TRD exhaust
    With ATT, you can tether your phone to your laptop and use the 3G network to access th internet. I use it all the time with my BlackJack phone and it is fast.
     
  4. Jan 29, 2009 at 7:39 PM
    #4
    FlawedXJ

    FlawedXJ mall crawlin', web wheelin', concrete cowboy

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Member:
    #10334
    Messages:
    5,961
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Paul
    NorAla
    Vehicle:
    13 F150 FX4, 99 jeep xj, 04 msm miata
    I actually have a jeep now. Imagine that.
    not yet. for a while there was an app that let you do it but att shut that down fast
    now they are going to offer a "tethering" plan thats like 30 bucks more a month to allow you to use the iphone as a mode. BS isn't it....
     
  5. Jan 29, 2009 at 8:01 PM
    #5
    SocalMan22

    SocalMan22 Founder Socaltacomas.com

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Member:
    #1146
    Messages:
    8,136
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steve-0
    So*Cal
    Vehicle:
    06 PreRunner Dbl Cab
    What Mods!
    i have been trying to find an app but nothing ended downloading some cool apps though we shall see about the tethering hope its good.
     
  6. Jan 30, 2009 at 2:48 AM
    #6
    Roland

    Roland [OP] My other ride has sails

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Member:
    #4149
    Messages:
    2,401
    Gender:
    Male
    Rhode Island
    Vehicle:
    06 Impulse Red I4 2WD Access Cab
    UnderCover Tonneau, Bed mat, Bug Deflector, aFe Pro Dry S, Secondary Air Filter removed, Synthetic 5W-30 oil, Scanguage II with blendmount, WeatherTech floorliners, Toyota seat covers, Installed OEM intermittent wipers, TacomaWorld sticker, Defrost without AC mod, Hidden Hitch
    They let you do it with a blackjack or a blackberry but don't allow you to do it with an iphone? I know ATT has the exclusive rights to apples phone but that's outrageous. If they're going to hit iphone users 60 bucks a month to do something they let others do for 30 a month I see a lawsuit in their future.
     
  7. Feb 7, 2009 at 1:47 PM
    #7
    mxrdr21

    mxrdr21 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Member:
    #13234
    Messages:
    40
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    Red 06 SR5
    the app "net share" was in the app store for a while, but was shut down... i jailbroke my iphone to try a few of the iphone modem apps that you can download on a jailbroken iphone, but i couldn't get them to work... maybe it was just me :confused:
     
  8. Feb 7, 2009 at 2:11 PM
    #8
    HighPlains

    HighPlains Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Member:
    #10954
    Messages:
    127
    You can also pair your Blackberry via Bluetooth to the laptop and use it as a modem that way as well.
     
  9. Feb 7, 2009 at 3:05 PM
    #9
    paintdiddy

    paintdiddy Machine gun shits

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Member:
    #9924
    Messages:
    10,307
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    shithead
    nj and not from "the jersey shore"
    Vehicle:
    silver bullet
    i have the dare with verizon.i think you have to pay exrta anyway to use phone as modem
     
  10. Feb 7, 2009 at 9:56 PM
    #10
    Lentsnh

    Lentsnh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Member:
    #10953
    Messages:
    9,547
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2007 Hummer H3 Tactical Edition
    None yet- Future: HIDs, Tinted tails, LED interior lights,
    My LG Dare is a modem and so was my LG Voyager
     
  11. Feb 7, 2009 at 9:57 PM
    #11
    Lentsnh

    Lentsnh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Member:
    #10953
    Messages:
    9,547
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2007 Hummer H3 Tactical Edition
    None yet- Future: HIDs, Tinted tails, LED interior lights,
    it comes with either included in your plan or its included with VCast
     
  12. Feb 8, 2009 at 6:08 AM
    #12
    paintdiddy

    paintdiddy Machine gun shits

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Member:
    #9924
    Messages:
    10,307
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    shithead
    nj and not from "the jersey shore"
    Vehicle:
    silver bullet
    i have the vcast and internet but i believe there is an extra flat fee to use as modem or you will be billed by mega bytes or something. i'll call verizon today to see
     
  13. Feb 8, 2009 at 7:17 AM
    #13
    tdm156

    tdm156 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Member:
    #6166
    Messages:
    590
    Gender:
    Male
    San Antonio, TX
    Vehicle:
    2009 DC 4x4 SR5**Sold
    Is there anything special that you have to do to pair them up. I have a Blackberry Curve plus I have an aircard for my laptop. I would really like to get rid of the aircard bill each month if I dont need it. The aircard works great even in remote areas but really silly if I can get the same thing with my BB.
     
  14. Feb 8, 2009 at 1:18 PM
    #14
    HighPlains

    HighPlains Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Member:
    #10954
    Messages:
    127
    I also have the Curve. Nothing really hard about it at all. Assuming you have a laptop with Bluetooth, you just pair them together just as you would pair the BB to a BT headset. Then, it is just a matter of utilizing the dialup modem function of the BB to make the connection. You can do the same with a USB cable also. I actually find this easier to do than mess with pairing and all that. There seems to be some issue pairing my BB and laptop via BT that I have not yet been able to resolve. However, it can be done. I have Alltel as a service provider. In order to avoid major service charges, you need to pay $10/month for tethered modem access. I have not used an aircard very much, but the BB seems to work very well. Not quite as well as my cable modem at home, but pretty nice.
    Maybe you can find some useful information on here: http://forums.crackberry.com/f52/blackberry-8300-tethered-modem-2038/
     
  15. Feb 8, 2009 at 3:15 PM
    #15
    tdm156

    tdm156 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Member:
    #6166
    Messages:
    590
    Gender:
    Male
    San Antonio, TX
    Vehicle:
    2009 DC 4x4 SR5**Sold
    Thanks for the info! I am in the process of pairing right now. I had not updated my bb in a while so I needed to connect it anyways. I usually connect via usb but the bluetooth connection was fairly easy. I will check out that $10 a month as I am paying about 70 a month for my unlimited aircard.
     
  16. Feb 8, 2009 at 5:13 PM
    #16
    Lentsnh

    Lentsnh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Member:
    #10953
    Messages:
    9,547
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2007 Hummer H3 Tactical Edition
    None yet- Future: HIDs, Tinted tails, LED interior lights,
    Ok yeah i would like to know. I asked about the modem thing for the PDA VX6900 and you have to pay........... $30 for the data plan+$60 for the modem part+ and your plan= BIG BILL
     
  17. Feb 8, 2009 at 5:15 PM
    #17
    tdm156

    tdm156 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Member:
    #6166
    Messages:
    590
    Gender:
    Male
    San Antonio, TX
    Vehicle:
    2009 DC 4x4 SR5**Sold
    on AT& T I noticed that with the tethering it limits your data and is no longer unlimited...or at least thats what it showed online.
     
To Top