1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Is it necessary to get a new battery if...?

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by DSully72, Oct 14, 2010.

  1. Oct 14, 2010 at 7:09 PM
    #1
    DSully72

    DSully72 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Member:
    #38638
    Messages:
    1,612
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Daniel
    Newport News, VA
    Vehicle:
    04 PreRunner TRD Off Road
    I FINALLY have everything i need for my subwoofers on the way... I got the box, the subs, the grills, the amp, and the power kit... now.. do i need to get a performance battery? some say i need to get a red top, but some say its not necessary... im running two 4 OHM Kicker CVT8's off a Kicker ZX1000.1 amp.
     
  2. Oct 14, 2010 at 7:11 PM
    #2
    Detective_Dan

    Detective_Dan "Place original and witty user title here"

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Member:
    #27235
    Messages:
    4,506
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jason
    Colorado Springs
    Vehicle:
    2014 DCSB Beast / 2016 Yamaha FZ-07
    Pelfreybilt Plate Bumper, Pelfreybilt Sliders, OME 886/Dakars, SCS F5's, 33" Ko2's, Cobra 75WXST/3' Firestik, oil catch can, aero turbine 2525, rear differential breather extension, bedmat, weathertech digital fit front/rear, BHLM, custom shiftknob (made by me),
    i would go with a yellow top instead cause they are deep cycle batteries meant to handle increased stress on the electrical system, just my opinion
     
  3. Oct 14, 2010 at 7:20 PM
    #3
    DSully72

    DSully72 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Member:
    #38638
    Messages:
    1,612
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Daniel
    Newport News, VA
    Vehicle:
    04 PreRunner TRD Off Road
    but is it really necessary? am i really running that much power?
     
  4. Oct 14, 2010 at 9:07 PM
    #4
    TurboGT

    TurboGT Stirring the pot since...

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Member:
    #43822
    Messages:
    1,080
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Gabe
    Portland
    Vehicle:
    '06 DC LB 4x4
    OME lift w/ Dakars & 885's Remote Start w/ window control
    I've ran a red top before... deep cycled it many times. In fact, I had a friend in high school who's dad built electric cars using the red tops... My opinion, unless you're gonna continuously drain your battery and then recharge it, the red top will work just fine.

    On the subject of whether or not you need a battery, Do you actually have issues with your current battery? If not, but you want a little extra "firepower" for your system, get yourself a 1 farad capacitor. If you do have issues with your current battery, then thats another story, and you should indeed get yourself an Optima battery (I would go red over yellow though), but I would still suggest getting a capacitor for the system. Easy to wire in, just put it within a couple feet of the sub amp, the closer the better, in line with the +12v power supply wire, and ground it to the same spot you ground your sub amp (don't wire the amp ground through the capacitor like you do with the +12v supply... keep your grounds as short as possible)
     
  5. Oct 15, 2010 at 4:58 AM
    #5
    ItalynStylion

    ItalynStylion Sounds Gooooood

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Member:
    #18467
    Messages:
    4,864
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steven
    DFW, Tx.
    Vehicle:
    09 Double Cab TRD Sport 4x4
    No...you're not. You might be running "1000watt amp" but your subs will never see close to that much power. Those 8's will catch fire before that happens.
     
  6. Oct 15, 2010 at 5:29 AM
    #6
    stucksucksnayota

    stucksucksnayota Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    Member:
    #2863
    Messages:
    623
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Barry
    Fort Smith, Arkansas
    Vehicle:
    14 Taco 4x4 TRD Sport DCSB
    OEM roof rack, Shorty antenna (eBay), soft tonneau cover, K&N drop in air filter, bed mat, interior LED lights, 5100's, MT tires to come soon!!!
    I ran 2 tens off a 1000w amp and used the stock battery and everything worked fine and they still hit hard!
     
  7. Oct 15, 2010 at 5:59 AM
    #7
    hookedontronics

    hookedontronics Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Member:
    #28863
    Messages:
    2,783
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jake
    Glenville, NY
    Vehicle:
    2010 DC Off Road 4x4
    Icon extended travel 3.5" front coilovers, DSM UCAs, TSB leaf pack w/ wheelers AAL, All Pro U-bolt flip kit, Walker Evans 2.0 rear shocks, 18" XD Monster rims, Nitto trail grappler 285/65R18 Tires, Color matched grill, Grillcraft, Kragen HIDs, Carling switches, my bed light mod, diff drop, Alpine IVA-W505, JL Audio C5 componets and coaxials, JL 300/4 and 250/1 amps and JL stealthbox, wheathertechs, avs vent visors, toyota bed x-tender, alcantara center console cover and door pocket covers, console vault, color matched mirrors, heated mirrors, etc etc etc
    NO, you do not need a new battery. I have run ridiculous car audio in all of my vehicles and never have needed a new battery. When it's time to replace your battery, that's the time to get an optima. But you don't need one
     
  8. Oct 15, 2010 at 11:23 AM
    #8
    ItalynStylion

    ItalynStylion Sounds Gooooood

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Member:
    #18467
    Messages:
    4,864
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steven
    DFW, Tx.
    Vehicle:
    09 Double Cab TRD Sport 4x4
    Agreed. That's what I did in my Lexus IS300. The thing that matters most in any event is the alternator anyways. It's the thing that's MAKING the power. The battery is just the holding tank ;)
     
  9. Oct 15, 2010 at 2:02 PM
    #9
    Detective_Dan

    Detective_Dan "Place original and witty user title here"

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Member:
    #27235
    Messages:
    4,506
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jason
    Colorado Springs
    Vehicle:
    2014 DCSB Beast / 2016 Yamaha FZ-07
    Pelfreybilt Plate Bumper, Pelfreybilt Sliders, OME 886/Dakars, SCS F5's, 33" Ko2's, Cobra 75WXST/3' Firestik, oil catch can, aero turbine 2525, rear differential breather extension, bedmat, weathertech digital fit front/rear, BHLM, custom shiftknob (made by me),
    it is not "necessary" its just something i did to give a helping hand. it also has a lot to do with how much power the alternator can put out. our trucks have a much better alternator than a little honda civic, thats why i ran the yellow top in my old civic
     
  10. Oct 15, 2010 at 2:18 PM
    #10
    Unknown

    Unknown He who angers you conquers you

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Member:
    #35554
    Messages:
    8,158
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brian
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    Unknown
    Unknown
    Just get a capacitor
     
  11. Oct 15, 2010 at 4:26 PM
    #11
    Detective_Dan

    Detective_Dan "Place original and witty user title here"

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Member:
    #27235
    Messages:
    4,506
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jason
    Colorado Springs
    Vehicle:
    2014 DCSB Beast / 2016 Yamaha FZ-07
    Pelfreybilt Plate Bumper, Pelfreybilt Sliders, OME 886/Dakars, SCS F5's, 33" Ko2's, Cobra 75WXST/3' Firestik, oil catch can, aero turbine 2525, rear differential breather extension, bedmat, weathertech digital fit front/rear, BHLM, custom shiftknob (made by me),
    capacitors dont work as well as everybody thinks, they do help, but a SECONDARY battery is a better option in my experiences
     
  12. Oct 15, 2010 at 4:31 PM
    #12
    Shemicals

    Shemicals Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Member:
    #42121
    Messages:
    2,613
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    Concord - East Bay CA
    Vehicle:
    '07 5-Lug Black Sand Pearl Access Cab 2WD
    Build Page
    with two 8's at 1000 you will not need a new battery. larger subs at higher rates with 1 amp for the subs and 1 for the doors however will require a performance battery. i have 2 d312's along with eclipse speakers and an eclipse double din + leds. i needed a new battery almost immediately as my battery died beyond jump. now with the red head it rapes. you wont need a capacitor no matter what they say (unless of course your running 4 15's ea with its own amp :) ), the car is too new
     
  13. Oct 15, 2010 at 5:38 PM
    #13
    DSully72

    DSully72 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Member:
    #38638
    Messages:
    1,612
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Daniel
    Newport News, VA
    Vehicle:
    04 PreRunner TRD Off Road
    sweet thanks guys. yall just saved me a lot of money =) lol
     
To Top