1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

is it possible to get your high beams and lows on at the same time?

Discussion in '1st Gen. Tacomas (1995-2004)' started by davestaco, Jan 11, 2012.

  1. Jan 11, 2012 at 6:12 PM
    #1
    davestaco

    davestaco [OP] TW's number one gear whore

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Member:
    #42134
    Messages:
    2,747
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    David
    Schofield Barracks
    Vehicle:
    00' tacoma xtra cab trd v6 4x4
    any one know of a way to have the high beams and low beams on at the same time?
     
  2. Jan 11, 2012 at 6:15 PM
    #2
    Pugga

    Pugga Pasti-Dip Free 1983 - 2015... It was a good run

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Member:
    #39131
    Messages:
    29,089
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    '13 Ford F-150 SCREW
    F-150 Mod
  3. Jan 11, 2012 at 6:18 PM
    #3
    davestaco

    davestaco [OP] TW's number one gear whore

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Member:
    #42134
    Messages:
    2,747
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    David
    Schofield Barracks
    Vehicle:
    00' tacoma xtra cab trd v6 4x4
    there has got to be a way to do this with some wire splices.....the bright box looks nice but it is a bit pricey...i would just do HIDS for that money
     
  4. Jan 11, 2012 at 6:24 PM
    #4
    davestaco

    davestaco [OP] TW's number one gear whore

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Member:
    #42134
    Messages:
    2,747
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    David
    Schofield Barracks
    Vehicle:
    00' tacoma xtra cab trd v6 4x4
    lol may work...maybe add a toggle switch some where in there and have it only when i want it....looks like im gonna be getting a wiring diagram soon bahaha
     
  5. Jan 11, 2012 at 6:27 PM
    #5
    Snowman

    Snowman I have a problem for your solutionÂ…

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Member:
    #42917
    Messages:
    2,762
    First Name:
    Craig
    Somewhere in Canada
    Vehicle:
    Check out my build
    Be warned, high+low beams together creates a lot of heat and may melt housings and wires.
     
  6. Jan 11, 2012 at 6:43 PM
    #6
    davestaco

    davestaco [OP] TW's number one gear whore

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Member:
    #42134
    Messages:
    2,747
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    David
    Schofield Barracks
    Vehicle:
    00' tacoma xtra cab trd v6 4x4
    i was more concerned about it blowing a 45 dollar bulb but thanks for the heads up
     
  7. Jan 11, 2012 at 8:47 PM
    #7
    davestaco

    davestaco [OP] TW's number one gear whore

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Member:
    #42134
    Messages:
    2,747
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    David
    Schofield Barracks
    Vehicle:
    00' tacoma xtra cab trd v6 4x4
    thanks man!
     
  8. Jan 11, 2012 at 8:58 PM
    #8
    joes06tacoma

    joes06tacoma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Member:
    #28588
    Messages:
    3,061
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Joe
    Central Coast, CA
    Vehicle:
    06 4x4 Off Road Access Cab v6 6spd
    LEER Shell with dome lights operated with 3 way switches, aux backup lights with relay and 3 position switch, modified wiring to compass/temp display and clock to include switch that disables dimming function (poor man's DRL solution), Scan Gauge 2
    I edited this post, see below.

    I don't know for sure, but the britebox is probably just a relay and wire with a set of instructions which wire to tap.

    Edit: This: http://www.summitracing.com/parts/KCC-6314/?rtype=10 has been out for years and claims to do the same thing. Marketed for Chevys with the quad lights up front, but no reason why it won't work on a Tacoma, other than heat issues with the light housing and wiring. Looks like a relay and some splices to me, for twenty bucks might be worth it to buy prefabbed. But those briteboxes can't be any more complicated, way overpriced! You are paying for the knowledge of how the lighting system works. Most people don't understand electrical.

    Second edit: Just read Wolfpack's post and was checking out the wiring diagrams. Your truck has ground switched headlights. That changes things. It's the same setup that the pre-Tacoma trucks had. I actually know how to make it work, with one hang up: the high beam indicator won't work anymore. It is a weird system. It took me a couple days to figure out how to make a relay harness for my 86 pickup when I rewired it for 100W high beams. I figured it out, but I wasn't trying to run the lows and highs at the same time either. I will ponder this. In the meantime, maybe someone else can add.
     
  9. Jan 11, 2012 at 11:13 PM
    #9
    joes06tacoma

    joes06tacoma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Member:
    #28588
    Messages:
    3,061
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Joe
    Central Coast, CA
    Vehicle:
    06 4x4 Off Road Access Cab v6 6spd
    LEER Shell with dome lights operated with 3 way switches, aux backup lights with relay and 3 position switch, modified wiring to compass/temp display and clock to include switch that disables dimming function (poor man's DRL solution), Scan Gauge 2
    Do you have DRL?
     
  10. Jan 11, 2012 at 11:49 PM
    #10
    joes06tacoma

    joes06tacoma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Member:
    #28588
    Messages:
    3,061
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Joe
    Central Coast, CA
    Vehicle:
    06 4x4 Off Road Access Cab v6 6spd
    LEER Shell with dome lights operated with 3 way switches, aux backup lights with relay and 3 position switch, modified wiring to compass/temp display and clock to include switch that disables dimming function (poor man's DRL solution), Scan Gauge 2
    So I looked at the Britebox instructions and I think I know what they did.

    There are three wires at each headlight. One is constant hot twelve volts whenever the main headlight switch is on. The other two are switched grounds for the high and low beam. Identify which is which and try this:

    The hot wire stays connected to the headlight and then you need to tap into it and connect to one side of your new relay's coil and also to one side of the relay's switched contacts (terminal 87 or 30). The low beam ground wire gets disconnected and the low beam side of the headlight gets grounded to the chassis. Leave the high beam ground wire hooked up and tap into it and use it to provide the ground to your new relay's coil. Standard relays use terminal 85 and 86 for the coil. Now connect the disconnected low beam wire that was originally connected to the low beam side of the headlight to the other switched terminal on the relay (87 or 30).

    All this relay is doing is backfeeding power into the high beam indicator light on the dash. The factory headlight relay and dimmer switch are still doing the same thing they did before, but no longer have the capability of switching the low beam off when you go to high beam. You only need to put this relay in on one side of the truck. On the other side you just cut the ground to the low beam and ground the headlight side of the harness to the chassis, then cap the switch side of the harness.

    Like I said, this is how I think Britebox does it. I see no external fuses, so no connection to the battery. Certainly not how I would do it. I could come up with MY way and TRY to explain it. So far, in my head it involves about 5 relays. The reason I would do it differently is because the factory headlight fuses are only 10 amps per side. With a 55W low and 65W high, thats 120W or 10 amps. I really do not see how the Britebox does not blow fuses. But you can try it AT YOUR OWN RISK.:D

    If you have DRL all this goes out the window. It's totally different. I have not begun to try and understand that system.:eek:

    As far as making the dual filament operation selectable (toggle switch), that's more complex than I care to try and dream up right now.

    If you do it, post up results.
     
  11. Jan 12, 2012 at 8:12 AM
    #11
    davestaco

    davestaco [OP] TW's number one gear whore

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Member:
    #42134
    Messages:
    2,747
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    David
    Schofield Barracks
    Vehicle:
    00' tacoma xtra cab trd v6 4x4
    i dont mind loosing the high beam indicator....
    no thank god
    im still working out a way to toggle it....i was playing with the factory headlight / highbeam swith today ad noticed that if you push the stick forward halfway both high and lows come on....maybe something could be done there. maybe jump a wire from the low relay to the high relay and add a toggle in the middle.
     
  12. Jan 12, 2012 at 5:55 PM
    #12
    joes06tacoma

    joes06tacoma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Member:
    #28588
    Messages:
    3,061
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Joe
    Central Coast, CA
    Vehicle:
    06 4x4 Off Road Access Cab v6 6spd
    LEER Shell with dome lights operated with 3 way switches, aux backup lights with relay and 3 position switch, modified wiring to compass/temp display and clock to include switch that disables dimming function (poor man's DRL solution), Scan Gauge 2
    If you don't care about the indicator, just find the low beam ground wire under the dash before it goes into the dimmer switch. Take that wire and splice into it and attach the spliced wire to one side of the toggle switch. Connect the other side of the switch to ground. When you switch to high beam the dimmer switch disconnects the low beam ground. Flip the toggle switch and you provide another path to ground for the low beams. This will give you normal operation with the toggle in the off position, and make the low beams stay on with the highs with the toggle in the on position.

    The reason this is sketchy is because you have constant positive power at each headlight that feeds both high and low beams through a 10 amp fuse. You are pushing the limits of the wire and fuse on the positive side if you do this modification. Upsizing a fuse is never safe, potentially blowing a fuse can be dangerous too if you lose your lights.

    You could rewire with relays and avoid overloading the stock wiring. It actually shouldn't be too bad if you don't care about the high beam indicator.
     
  13. Jan 12, 2012 at 6:04 PM
    #13
    joes06tacoma

    joes06tacoma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Member:
    #28588
    Messages:
    3,061
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Joe
    Central Coast, CA
    Vehicle:
    06 4x4 Off Road Access Cab v6 6spd
    LEER Shell with dome lights operated with 3 way switches, aux backup lights with relay and 3 position switch, modified wiring to compass/temp display and clock to include switch that disables dimming function (poor man's DRL solution), Scan Gauge 2
    Looking at the wiring diagram it should be a red wire with green stripe. If you notice, that wire is also connected to the high beam indicator light. The way this works is that power is always present at one side of the low beam filament. Power travels through the low beam filament and to ground through the dimmer switch on the steering column. If you take the ground path away by flipping the dimmer switch to high beam, the power will go to ground through the path of least resistance, which is the high beam indicator bulb. It's high resistance, so the low beams won't light up, but that is what activates the indicator. If the low beams and high beams are both on, no power will flow to ground through the indicator light because there is a lower resistance path available to it (your new switch you want to install).

    Once again, I think this is a sketchy mod, although I can't see how the brite box is doing things any different, since it does not have any external power leads coming out of it in the picture on their site.
     
  14. Jan 13, 2012 at 6:20 AM
    #14
    twfsa

    twfsa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Member:
    #37997
    Messages:
    1,343
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tom
    Omaha Ne
    Vehicle:
    04 TRD 4X4
    881 Front coils, Bilstien 5100's all the way front set to "0" Icon Dynamic's mini leafs in rear, stock tires.
    yes it is.
     
  15. Jan 13, 2012 at 6:25 AM
    #15
    186000mps

    186000mps ..Slingin' up mud and we're scarying off bunnies..

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011
    Member:
    #62581
    Messages:
    779
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Charles
    Wimberley, TX
    Vehicle:
    01 Tacoma V6 4WD
    Bilstein 5100's, Toytec front adjustable coilover kit, Exporear leafs, Fox resi rears, Slotted & Drilled front rotors, 33x12.50 BFG ATs on Outlaw II 15 x 10s, Bushwacker cutout flares, K&N cold air intake with aluminum sheathing water baffles, ARB bumper with XD9000 winch with wireless remote, IPF 900XS lights, Flowmaster cat-back exhaust, Rhino bed liner, UWS gullwing toolbox with tools and recovery gear. 48" Hi-Lift Jack secured under toolbox.
  16. Jan 13, 2012 at 6:26 AM
    #16
    Rusty 06 4x4

    Rusty 06 4x4 NBHNC

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2011
    Member:
    #64142
    Messages:
    2,195
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rusty
    West Georgia
    Vehicle:
    2006 4x4 Tacoma TRD DCSB
    if you pull back like your flashing them at someone and hold it like that it works
     
  17. Jan 13, 2012 at 6:30 AM
    #17
    magog45

    magog45 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Member:
    #26811
    Messages:
    408
    Gender:
    Male
    Canada, just south of Santa
    Vehicle:
    98 tacoma 4x4 extended cab
    5100's all around, 2 inch lift, polyurethane body mounts, gibson exhaust, variation of the deckplate mod, intake resonators removed
    Just wondering what the purpose would be for this, people coming at you from the opposite direction will be cursing you and for wheeling in the dark I have one of those handheld spots, I find them a bit more versatile.
     
  18. Jan 13, 2012 at 8:23 AM
    #18
    davestaco

    davestaco [OP] TW's number one gear whore

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Member:
    #42134
    Messages:
    2,747
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    David
    Schofield Barracks
    Vehicle:
    00' tacoma xtra cab trd v6 4x4
    i usually turn my brights off when people pass me on the road :D but if you have ever gotten the brights and the lows on at the same time you will see how much of a difference it makes. the more i look at this though the more i see a wire melting or a fuse blowing while im going down the road.
     
  19. Jan 13, 2012 at 6:57 PM
    #19
    joes06tacoma

    joes06tacoma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Member:
    #28588
    Messages:
    3,061
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Joe
    Central Coast, CA
    Vehicle:
    06 4x4 Off Road Access Cab v6 6spd
    LEER Shell with dome lights operated with 3 way switches, aux backup lights with relay and 3 position switch, modified wiring to compass/temp display and clock to include switch that disables dimming function (poor man's DRL solution), Scan Gauge 2
    Why not just run some 55/100W bulbs? Others have posted on here that they have run them with stock wiring. I wouldn't want to, but I'm pretty conservative. You could just try them out with the stock wiring and if you like them get a relay harness to upgrade the wiring. I've seen them on ebay under the Putco name for maybe 40 bucks. My buddy has one on his Jeep, it has held up well for several years with 90/100W bulbs.

    If you don't like the 55/100s just take them out and go HID. You'd be out around 30 bucks.
     
To Top