1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

IT Help Request - Router Recommendations

Discussion in 'Technology' started by THE_KiRRAx, Feb 18, 2020.

  1. Feb 18, 2020 at 11:06 AM
    #1
    THE_KiRRAx

    THE_KiRRAx [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2019
    Member:
    #288707
    Messages:
    1,239
    Gender:
    Male
    Tampa, Florida
    Vehicle:
    2016 BBP Tacoma SR5 DCSB
    Current situation: My router that hasn't changed in quite a few years is now dropping connection from the modem. It's not only wifi, but wired connections as well, no issues until a few days ago. I've gone over all the settings to make sure nothing has changed, replaced all the ethernet cables, power cycled both modem and router, etc. My next step before replacement is to save all my settings and factory reset my darn router and re-set it back up again.


    Request: I'm looking for a new router, something a little more updated as I'm running off an old Linksys EA3500 I think, and it's nearing 6 years old at least. I found two online that looked good (I THINK), but obviously they both have a few bad reviews as well. So just looking to get input on either of these two model routers, OR, any suggested routers you might well...suggest.

    Application: Small home, < 1500 sq. ft. Two wired connections, MAYBE a max of 8 wireless connections, but no major streaming or anything.

    Asus RT-AC68U AC1900: https://www.amazon.com/ASUS-Dual-Band-AiMesh-Router-AC1900/dp/B00FB45SI4

    NetGear Nighthawk R7000 AC1900: https://www.amazon.com/R7000-100PAS-Nighthawk-Parental-Controls-Compatible/dp/B00F0DD0I6

    Anybody able to suggest anything?
     
  2. Feb 18, 2020 at 11:11 AM
    #2
    PzTank

    PzTank Stuck In The Well

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Member:
    #43250
    Messages:
    3,012
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jim
    New England
    Vehicle:
    ‘15 AC SR5 4X4 4.0 Auto
    ‘07 OR leather shift knob.
    Any firmware updates for your existing?

    (I have a love/hate thing with electronics- love to upgrade for performance upgrades but hate paying for them..)
     
    THE_KiRRAx [OP] and JaCado like this.
  3. Feb 18, 2020 at 11:14 AM
    #3
    THE_KiRRAx

    THE_KiRRAx [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2019
    Member:
    #288707
    Messages:
    1,239
    Gender:
    Male
    Tampa, Florida
    Vehicle:
    2016 BBP Tacoma SR5 DCSB
    As far as I can tell it is updated to the latest firmware.

     
    PzTank likes this.
  4. Feb 18, 2020 at 11:17 AM
    #4
    Clearwater Bill

    Clearwater Bill Sometimes when I close my eyes, I can't see.

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2014
    Member:
    #140097
    Messages:
    17,173
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Billy
    Largo Florida
    Vehicle:
    '13 5 lug base AC w/convenience package
    A few OE parts from fancy trucks
    I've had great success with my Google Mesh.

    Other products now that are a similar concept, but I'll never have a single unit solution again.

    Different sources have different packaging and pricing. Cheapest per unit for me was a 3 pack, then sold one unit for current retail, making avg for my 2 drop a good bit.
     
    su.brat, PzTank and THE_KiRRAx [OP] like this.
  5. Feb 18, 2020 at 11:18 AM
    #5
    PzTank

    PzTank Stuck In The Well

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Member:
    #43250
    Messages:
    3,012
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jim
    New England
    Vehicle:
    ‘15 AC SR5 4X4 4.0 Auto
    ‘07 OR leather shift knob.
    Gotcha.

    I went w a Linksys 9500EA or something like it last time I upgraded. It’s worked flawlessly and I have a good number of wireless stuff going through it.

    I think you’ll be fine with the two you linked.
     
    THE_KiRRAx [OP] likes this.
  6. Feb 18, 2020 at 11:20 AM
    #6
    PNWtacoma11

    PNWtacoma11 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2019
    Member:
    #302108
    Messages:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    I actually just bought that exact NetGear router. I've only had it for a few days but its worked great and was pretty easy to set up
     
  7. Feb 18, 2020 at 11:20 AM
    #7
    Lastplace

    Lastplace Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2013
    Member:
    #107250
    Messages:
    537
    Gender:
    Male
    Southeast VA
    Far from a WIFI expert, I recieved the Nighthawk as a xmas gift. Works well and the app provides a lot of info. My roku, ipad computer and phone work on 5g throughout the house
     
    THE_KiRRAx [OP] likes this.
  8. Feb 18, 2020 at 11:21 AM
    #8
    CttAznRanger

    CttAznRanger Crazy NE Asian with the Cali Lean (temporary)

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2018
    Member:
    #274702
    Messages:
    3,142
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brandon
    Boston, MA
    Vehicle:
    2018 Tacoma TRD Sport
    Personally, out of your two options, I would go with teh ASUS AC1900, or a higher end ASUS. May take a little more to set up than your average router, depending on how in depth you want to go.
    I haven't tried Google Mesh, but I've heard it works really well. This may be a good option if you have areas in your house that have bad connection.
     
    THE_KiRRAx [OP] likes this.
  9. Feb 18, 2020 at 11:25 AM
    #9
    THE_KiRRAx

    THE_KiRRAx [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2019
    Member:
    #288707
    Messages:
    1,239
    Gender:
    Male
    Tampa, Florida
    Vehicle:
    2016 BBP Tacoma SR5 DCSB
    I kinda wanted to stick with Linksys to a point but I kept trying to do research on "best routers" and Linksys didn't really hit the list often so I reviewed other brands. I love my currect Linksys, minus the issues, so definitely not against getting another one.

    I'm just hoping I can do just as much with my nest router as I mac filter all my wireless connections for security. Thanks for input!

     
    PzTank likes this.
  10. Feb 18, 2020 at 11:32 AM
    #10
    THE_KiRRAx

    THE_KiRRAx [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2019
    Member:
    #288707
    Messages:
    1,239
    Gender:
    Male
    Tampa, Florida
    Vehicle:
    2016 BBP Tacoma SR5 DCSB
    I don't mind a little work to get it setup properly. I'm not networking guru by any means but I'm all about security so I try to lock down my network quite a bit from peering wifi junkies trying to leech connections. I've always regarded ASUS as a pretty damn good company, just never used one of their routers before.

     
    CttAznRanger likes this.
  11. Feb 18, 2020 at 11:37 AM
    #11
    CttAznRanger

    CttAznRanger Crazy NE Asian with the Cali Lean (temporary)

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2018
    Member:
    #274702
    Messages:
    3,142
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brandon
    Boston, MA
    Vehicle:
    2018 Tacoma TRD Sport
    I currently run the RT-AC56U AC1200 and have been for quite a few years now.
    I set it up exactly like you mentioned, by making the network hidden and turning on the MAC filter.
     
    THE_KiRRAx [OP] likes this.
  12. Feb 18, 2020 at 11:40 AM
    #12
    THE_KiRRAx

    THE_KiRRAx [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2019
    Member:
    #288707
    Messages:
    1,239
    Gender:
    Male
    Tampa, Florida
    Vehicle:
    2016 BBP Tacoma SR5 DCSB
    Alright, I may go ahead and pull the trigger on the ASUS one then. Comparing the two I had listed earlier it seemed the ASUS had a bit more security built into it as far as I could tell.

    Glad to hear the ASUS has been working well for you, gives me hope I wont run into issues like some of the Amazon reviews suggest. Lots of folks mentioning one of the channel (2.4 GHz in this case) failing quickly.

     
  13. Feb 18, 2020 at 11:42 AM
    #13
    CttAznRanger

    CttAznRanger Crazy NE Asian with the Cali Lean (temporary)

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2018
    Member:
    #274702
    Messages:
    3,142
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brandon
    Boston, MA
    Vehicle:
    2018 Tacoma TRD Sport
    I haven't had an issue with the 2.4 GHz on my router. I do however, have an issue when I'm on the other side of the house and the signal has to go through about five walls in total, one being brick. Otherwise it's pretty damn good.
     
    THE_KiRRAx [OP] likes this.
  14. Feb 18, 2020 at 11:43 AM
    #14
    Panchovilla6192002

    Panchovilla6192002 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2018
    Member:
    #274502
    Messages:
    826
    Gender:
    Male
    Arizona
    Vehicle:
    2019 Cavalry Blue TRD SPORT 4X4 DCSB MT 2003 Red ExtraCab MT 5 lug
    IT: unplug it and plug it back in. Report back with outcome.
     
  15. Feb 18, 2020 at 11:48 AM
    #15
    THE_KiRRAx

    THE_KiRRAx [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2019
    Member:
    #288707
    Messages:
    1,239
    Gender:
    Male
    Tampa, Florida
    Vehicle:
    2016 BBP Tacoma SR5 DCSB
    I know what you mean, my current router is on the complete opposite side of my house from one of my cameras, and it gives me some issues from time to time....but it is going through SEVERAL block walls. Been meaning to move it to center of house but lazy, replacing the router will give me a reason to move it and add a new ethernet connection in the wall.

     
    CttAznRanger likes this.
  16. Feb 18, 2020 at 11:49 AM
    #16
    THE_KiRRAx

    THE_KiRRAx [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2019
    Member:
    #288707
    Messages:
    1,239
    Gender:
    Male
    Tampa, Florida
    Vehicle:
    2016 BBP Tacoma SR5 DCSB
    I even whispered sweet nothings to the router, gave it a good hug, and it still shat on me. lol

     
    Panchovilla6192002 likes this.
  17. Feb 18, 2020 at 11:58 AM
    #17
    mrtonyd

    mrtonyd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2019
    Member:
    #302965
    Messages:
    837
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tony
    Colorado
    Vehicle:
    2019 TRD OR DCSB cement
    My IT guy told me to get a DCHP 3.1 router when I asked a month or so ago. Idk why, I thought it was a speed thing to get up to 1gig speeds. If you're having trouble on the far side of your house, try getting a dual channel with 2.4 and 5 Ghz. 5 Ghz will be able to travel through objects easier than 2.4

    EDIT> its DOCSIS 3.1 not DCHP 3.1
     
    Last edited: Feb 20, 2020
    CttAznRanger and THE_KiRRAx [OP] like this.
  18. Feb 18, 2020 at 12:02 PM
    #18
    solmooth

    solmooth Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2019
    Member:
    #307206
    Messages:
    73
    Gender:
    Male
    San Jose, CA
    Vehicle:
    '19 DCLB OR Cement
    Google Wifi Mesh routers works well. I have 4 pucks covering my compound and speeds are consistent and stable.
     
    CttAznRanger and THE_KiRRAx [OP] like this.
  19. Feb 20, 2020 at 1:55 PM
    #19
    JasonArizona

    JasonArizona Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2019
    Member:
    #302677
    Messages:
    115
    Tucson
    Vehicle:
    2014 TuRD
    If latency doesn't matter, use 2.4ghz. Get the ASUS and a DOCSIS 3.1 modem if you're on an older 3.0. It's worth doing an overhaul on equipment every five to ten years, anyway.

    2.4ghz will reach farther (think about a wireless headset while mowing the lawn). If you want low latency (video games) and can't use an ethernet cable, set up 5ghz.

    If you're still having issues, consider a third-party DNS. People love google but I recommend Quad9 as a primary (9.9.9.9) and Cloudflare (1.1.1.1) as a secondary.

    PM me if you have questions about setup.

    EDIT: If you still have issues; consider setting up static IP addresses per device. It can remove the guessing game of DHCP if you have some things constantly connected.
     
    mrtonyd likes this.
  20. Feb 20, 2020 at 2:08 PM
    #20
    midnight20pro

    midnight20pro Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2020
    Member:
    #316848
    Messages:
    27
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    Black 2020 TRD Pro
    I've been in IT for 20+ years or so and what I run at home is usually all Netgear. I rarely have any issues with the netgear hardware, usually it's the ISP provided trash that fails. That said, I moved into a house with a lot of solid walls that were great at blocking wifi signal and making connections poor and usability pretty awful. I decided to go with a modern Mesh wifi network for this home and I'm using the Netgear Orbi family of access points and router. It gets amazing coverage and the mesh network is seamless when moving throughout your house inside and out... no switching access points and dead spots etc. Plus if your needs grow you can add another access point and extend your coverage, but so far I'm 4 years in with this Orbi system and it's the best I've ever used.

    In the past I would run a simple linksys wrt with OpenWRT on it as the firmware... but the Orbi handles everything quite well, so I don't need to run my own firmware etc. The out of the box solution is good enough for me. Each access point gives you 4 ports on the back. Let me know if you need any help, it's the one thing I'm actually proficient at; computers. :)
     
    CttAznRanger likes this.
To Top