1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

JBL Amp Power Wire

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by grhopper, Jun 12, 2018.

  1. Jun 12, 2018 at 6:48 PM
    #1
    grhopper

    grhopper [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Member:
    #69470
    Messages:
    88
    Gender:
    Male
    Louisiana
    Vehicle:
    2012 DCLB TRD Sport
    I am trying to connect an Android headunit from Seicane. They sent me a wire harness that has the JBL canbus. I am not getting any sound out of the speakers. I believe that the harness that they sent has the power wire for the amp in the wrong slot. It is the blue wire in the 3rd slot from the right. That slot does not line up to any wires in the factory plug. Can anyone tell me where is the correct location for this wire?

    IMG_20180612_183454.jpg
     
    erkme73 likes this.
  2. Oct 16, 2018 at 6:50 AM
    #2
    erkme73

    erkme73 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2018
    Member:
    #269549
    Messages:
    6
    Vehicle:
    Tundra
    Yes! I am having the exact same problem with my Sequoia. Been exchanging emails with Seicane for the last week and am frustrated beyond belief. Im hoping that you managed to resolve this issue and still get updates on this thread. Would you mind sharing if/how you resolved it?
     
  3. Oct 16, 2018 at 7:10 AM
    #3
    grhopper

    grhopper [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Member:
    #69470
    Messages:
    88
    Gender:
    Male
    Louisiana
    Vehicle:
    2012 DCLB TRD Sport
    Yes, I was able to get it working. I remember taking the power wire from the antenna connector, but I don't remember which wire I connected it to. Do you have any pictures of your harness?
     
  4. Oct 16, 2018 at 8:13 AM
    #4
    erkme73

    erkme73 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2018
    Member:
    #269549
    Messages:
    6
    Vehicle:
    Tundra
    As a matter of fact, I do! I'm so thrilled to see your reply.

    Got my fingers crossed that this will be enough to jog your memory.

    2018-10-16_10-07-55.jpg
    2018-10-16_10-08-27.jpg
    2018-10-16_10-09-15.jpg
    2018-10-16_10-10-55.jpg
    2018-10-16_10-09-58.jpg
     
  5. Oct 16, 2018 at 8:27 AM
    #5
    erkme73

    erkme73 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2018
    Member:
    #269549
    Messages:
    6
    Vehicle:
    Tundra
    I think putting these two side-by-side shows the matching colors:

    2018-10-16_10-10-55.jpg 2018-10-16_10-07-55.jpg

    So it looks like the blue amp power wire from the Seicane harness is going to the white on the factory harness. The white, according to 12-volt diagrams is the power antenna wires. But, interestingly, the tan wire just to the right of the factory white goes to nothing on the Seicane.
     
  6. Oct 16, 2018 at 8:42 AM
    #6
    grhopper

    grhopper [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Member:
    #69470
    Messages:
    88
    Gender:
    Male
    Louisiana
    Vehicle:
    2012 DCLB TRD Sport
    I'm having trouble finding the link that helped me. There should be a single wire that comes from the radio that is possibly labeled Amp. If so, remove the power wire from the antenna harness and connect it to the Amp wire.

    ETA: Wire 17 is the important wire.

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Oct 16, 2018
  7. Oct 16, 2018 at 10:40 AM
    #7
    destin_meeks

    destin_meeks I fix people's crappy stereos

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2017
    Member:
    #223997
    Messages:
    1,924
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Destin
    Tuscaloosa, AL
    Vehicle:
    2017 SSM DoubleCab TRD Off-Road 4x4
    From looking at the diagram, it appears that the amp turn-on is actually tied into the same accy circuit that the radio uses. This should mean that the amp turns on with the key no matter what the radio is doing.

    That being said, I don't have a 2012 tacoma with the JBL amp in front of me to test. But that's sure what the diagram shows.

    *Edit* there are also data wires that go from the factory radio into the factory amp, so without a device to use these data wires (PAC RP4.2-ty11 or similar) you may not get the amp working

    [​IMG]
     
  8. Oct 16, 2018 at 1:03 PM
    #8
    erkme73

    erkme73 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2018
    Member:
    #269549
    Messages:
    6
    Vehicle:
    Tundra
    Whoohoo! @grhopper, your suggestion got me on the right track. After careful examination of the blue wire going to the factory harness, it was clear that it was not going back to the head unit. It was going to two other unused connectors in the Seicane bundle, but it was not connected to a switched 12V source from the amp. That is where the separate Amp-out wire comes in to play. I snipped off the two unused connectors, and jumped the blue wire to the amp out. Presto. Amp fires right up. I feel like an idiot for not figuring this out on my own.

    Something else I discovered when testing (before everything was hooked up) is that the wifi would turn off and no longer turn on, and YouTube videos would he greyed out while the audio plays. I thought, great... another couple of issues I have to try and square away with the Chinese... But, as soon as I connected the pink brake wire to ground, all those issues went away. I guess that's the nanny-state supervisor that wants to make sure you're not connected to the web or watching videos while driving.

    So a HUGE thank you for getting me set straight....
     
  9. Oct 16, 2018 at 1:07 PM
    #9
    erkme73

    erkme73 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2018
    Member:
    #269549
    Messages:
    6
    Vehicle:
    Tundra
    Thanks for the follow up. It looks like the amp doesn't power up (or at least listen to the radio) if there isn't power put on the white factory wire, it won't play any sounds. These Seicane android units come with a canbus decoder that also needs power (and is fed through the same blue wire that wasn't being energized). So it may be that the amp was on, but the decoder wasn't getting power to send the data to the amp to start listening. Either way, I'm stoked, and my kids are thrilled to have their Plex shows in the dash.
     
  10. Oct 16, 2018 at 1:52 PM
    #10
    grhopper

    grhopper [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Member:
    #69470
    Messages:
    88
    Gender:
    Male
    Louisiana
    Vehicle:
    2012 DCLB TRD Sport
    Wifi stays on all of the time. I use it with Google Maps, iHeart Radio, I've watched Dish Anywhere and Watch ESPN while driving. I don't remember having trouble with YouTube, but I don't really use it often.

    One tip that took me a while to learn is using 2 apps side by side. Open whatever app you want displayed on the left side. This is the "locked in" side. Hold down the recent apps button for a few seconds until that app switches from full screen to left side. It will then display other recently used apps on the right side of the screen for you to scroll through. I usually keep Google Maps on the left side, then whatever app I am using for audio on the right side.

    One app I'm having trouble with is the Google Voice app.
     
  11. Oct 16, 2018 at 3:03 PM
    #11
    erkme73

    erkme73 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2018
    Member:
    #269549
    Messages:
    6
    Vehicle:
    Tundra
    Do you have the brake signal grounded? I thought that would have resolved the wifi issue, but I just ran a quick errand, and the wifi is off, and wouldn't let me re-enable it. Hitting the small reset button brings it back. Also noticed that bluetooth is also not showing anything when the wifi doesn't work. Reset remedies that as well. Guess I do need to go a few more rounds with Seicane.

    What version of android are you running? This thing came with 8.0.
     
  12. Oct 17, 2018 at 6:49 AM
    #12
    grhopper

    grhopper [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Member:
    #69470
    Messages:
    88
    Gender:
    Male
    Louisiana
    Vehicle:
    2012 DCLB TRD Sport
    I didn't do anything special with the brake signal. I am running 8.0 also.
     
  13. Mar 13, 2019 at 9:36 AM
    #13
    rjmvthokie

    rjmvthokie New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2019
    Member:
    #286470
    Messages:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    Hi All,
    Just want to share my experience with buying a Seicane H213g for my 2008 Sequoia with JBL and Navigation. I bough the head unit(HU) back in the first week of February 2019 and was very excited to be able to use car play in my Sequoia with the giant navigation screen. After installation here are my pros and cons:

    Pros:
    • bluetooth, Carplay, and steering wheels controls all worked and the HU fit like a glove.
    • Touch response is good, although I never used it in really cold or hot weather, and I cannot comment on glare and auto dimming at night because I never used the HU.

    Cons:
    • I could either use the GPS antenna that was provided with the HU or try to find an adapter to use the existing antenna in my Sequoia. Finding the interface type and an adapter cable proved to be challenging.
    • The existing MIC will not work with the HU. I was planning on buying a new MIC and installing over the factory and running the wire myself.
    • The HU does not work with the existing back up camera out of the box, but I seem to remember finding kits that were advertised to work for somewhere north of $100. Has something to do with the HU providing 12volts, while the camera only needing 6volts.
    • VOLUME NEVER WORKED. I could not never get any volume out of the speakers. I contacted Seicane and they sent me a different wiring harness which took close to a month to arrive from China, and still no volume.

    I am not sure if I have a bead HU, or they just can figure out the wiring. I would have bought from cruthcfield, but I really wanted the larger screen that this HU offered. At this point I don't have any way of getting my money back and feel as though I am on my own to figure this thing out.

    If you are considering buying from Seicane, please do your homework and heed the MANY negative reviews that I ignored.

    If I ever get this thing working I will be sure to share my experience here. Good Luck!
     
  14. Mar 13, 2019 at 11:18 AM
    #14
    grhopper

    grhopper [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Member:
    #69470
    Messages:
    88
    Gender:
    Male
    Louisiana
    Vehicle:
    2012 DCLB TRD Sport
    The problem is probably that the AMP isn't getting any power. Post pics of the harness that they sent you. Read through this thread carefully. We can try to help you get it working.
     
  15. Mar 17, 2019 at 12:32 PM
    #15
    rjmvthokie

    rjmvthokie New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2019
    Member:
    #286470
    Messages:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    Thanks for the offer. Here is the radio and the first harness that they sent.[​IMG]

    Of all these wires, only plugs 19 and 23 connected natively to my Sequoia but that was enough to power up the unit and verify that steering wheel controls still operate.

    I documented the pinout of the I20 plug from my sequoia to the Seicane and discovered that Seicane had something called AMP_CONT on pin 3 for which there was no mate on Sequoia plug, so I moved that pin to 13 labeled Auto_ANT to see if putting power on that pin would power the amp but no dice.[​IMG] Screen Shot 2019-03-17 at 3.18.23 PM.jpg [​IMG][​IMG]

    At this point I contacted Seicane and they sent me another harness from China that took three weeks to arrive and did not work either. I have yet to trace out the pins to see if they are different.

    Screen Shot 2019-03-17 at 3.15.15 PM.jpg
    Screen Shot 2019-03-17 at 3.15.38 PM.jpg
    Screen Shot 2019-03-17 at 3.15.46 PM.jpg
     
  16. Mar 18, 2019 at 9:31 AM
    #16
    grhopper

    grhopper [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Member:
    #69470
    Messages:
    88
    Gender:
    Male
    Louisiana
    Vehicle:
    2012 DCLB TRD Sport
    I don't see anything labeled AMP-CON like #17 in my pic. Is there a single blue wire, or just what is in the plug?
     
  17. Mar 18, 2019 at 10:28 AM
    #17
    rjmvthokie

    rjmvthokie New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2019
    Member:
    #286470
    Messages:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    This Seicane interface connects to the I20 plug on my sequoia. Pin 3 is labeled AMP-CONT and PIN 13 is labeled AUTO_Ant[​IMG]

    On the I20 plug on my Sequoia, there is no wire back to the car from Pin 3. I moved PIN 3 on the Seicane plug to where PIN 13 was to power it and hope that it worked, but it did not.

    Screen Shot 2019-03-17 at 3.15.38 PM.jpg
     
  18. Mar 18, 2019 at 11:10 AM
    #18
    grhopper

    grhopper [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Member:
    #69470
    Messages:
    88
    Gender:
    Male
    Louisiana
    Vehicle:
    2012 DCLB TRD Sport
    I found the same situation with mine. I think what I did was I connected the AMP-CON wire to the power wire that was connected to the antenna plug. I did not have to move any wires on the I20 plug.
     
  19. Nov 13, 2019 at 10:10 PM
    #19
    MT-Tacos

    MT-Tacos New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2019
    Member:
    #310676
    Messages:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    07 red off-road
    3 in lift controlled chaos UCA’s bumpers lights
    Alright so I am trying to read through this and I feel utterly retarded. I have an 07 with JBL. I have taken the amp-con and auto-ant wires and connected them with still no sound. Any other suggestions or am I just not reading this whole thread correctly.
     
  20. Nov 13, 2019 at 10:28 PM
    #20
    12TRDTacoma

    12TRDTacoma 1 Bar Club

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2012
    Member:
    #85133
    Messages:
    11,641
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Roberto
    Concord, CA
    Vehicle:
    12 TRD Sport DCLB 4x4 Tacoma
    Supercharged
    Phew. I'm glad I don't own this setup because this sounds like a really stupid configuration. I got nothing @MT-Tacos

    Actually, taking a look at it better, the remote turn on for the amplifier at the rear comes from the gray wire, which is a spliced 7.5A ACC from the fuse box and at the radio as well.

    You may have to tie in the blue wire on the Seicane harness to the red from what it seems like.
     
    Last edited: Nov 13, 2019

Products Discussed in

To Top