1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

JBL system upgrade...need help

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by 08trd4x4, Apr 16, 2012.

  1. Apr 16, 2012 at 9:29 PM
    #1
    08trd4x4

    08trd4x4 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011
    Member:
    #68192
    Messages:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ian
    albuquerque
    Vehicle:
    08 trd sport
    i have an 08 double cab with the JBL system in it. i just recently installed a new Pioneer double din head unit with the JLB harness. the head unit is a pioneer avh4400b with 50/4 watts and i got the wire harness from tacotunes.com. everything installed nicely but my system sounds terrible. it seems like the speakers are being "over-amplified" or something. my music cannot be turned up as high as before with the stock unit which is detrimental to sharing my music with others ha ha. has anyone else encountered this issue? how did you fix this? your thoughts/input is much appreciated. any other info you need just let me know

    items installed:
    wire harness 05JBLModule
    head unit pioneer p4400bh
    steering wheel interface ASWC
     
  2. Apr 17, 2012 at 8:26 AM
    #2
    dolbytone

    dolbytone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Member:
    #37165
    Messages:
    320
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    09 TRD Off Road
    HERE is your problem.

    If you're going to go aftermarket, you should probably go full retard aftermarket and replace the entire JBL system. You can't send an amplified signal into another amplfier unless you are using an amp that has the appropriate inputs.

    If you're keeping the aftermarket head unit then I recommend that you replace the speakers and wiring as well, bypassing the factory amplifier.
     
  3. Apr 17, 2012 at 8:15 PM
    #3
    08trd4x4

    08trd4x4 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011
    Member:
    #68192
    Messages:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ian
    albuquerque
    Vehicle:
    08 trd sport
    id like not to go back to the stock head unit so whats my best option? replacing speakers etc? disconnect/bypass the stock amp? (if so where is that located?)

    im unsure how to adjust the level of the JBL interface in all honesty. i could take it all apart and see if theres a dial but i dont recall one.

    thanks for the help!
     
  4. Apr 17, 2012 at 8:18 PM
    #4
    08trd4x4

    08trd4x4 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011
    Member:
    #68192
    Messages:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ian
    albuquerque
    Vehicle:
    08 trd sport

    thanks for thye link. i didnt open it until i had already added the repl. much appreciated
     
To Top