1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

JL Clean Sweep

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by geoff7877, Oct 12, 2012.

  1. Oct 12, 2012 at 9:43 PM
    #1
    geoff7877

    geoff7877 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Member:
    #73482
    Messages:
    289
    Gender:
    Male
    Petaluma, CA
    Vehicle:
    2012 SR5 4X4 Double Cab
    Just found out about these the other day and they seem a little too easy. Has to be a catch somewhere. I guess there's some drawback with losing the steering wheel controls and volume controls? Not a fan of that.

    Anyway, seems like a good alternative to ripping everything out. Any other products out there that do the same or close to the same thing?
     
  2. Oct 13, 2012 at 12:56 AM
    #2
    brian

    brian Another Traitor

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Member:
    #16011
    Messages:
    7,555
    Gender:
    Male
    Roseville, CA
    Vehicle:
    I own a tank
    What exactly are you looking to accomplish? CleanSweeps are the way to go for those who want to retain factory head units.
     
  3. Oct 13, 2012 at 5:33 AM
    #3
    ProForce

    ProForce Thin Blue Line

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Member:
    #24205
    Messages:
    5,366
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Anthony
    SoCal-Ontario
    Vehicle:
    09 MGM TRD Sport DCSB 4.0 Auto 2wd
    Too many to list. See build page. Link in signature
    OP, what gave you the impression that the Cleansweep will cause you to loose steering wheel controls, Bluetooth, etc? All of that is still retained. Those wires should be untouched during the installation process. The cleansweep has no catch... its a dam good product and worth every penny of you want to add any amplifier and keep stock head unit. Whether you have JBL or not it should work. Has signal summing built in so its great for our trucks.

    Alternative options would be the LC6i from Audio Control which is not as advanced as the JL Cleansweep in my opinion, but Audio Control does make some great items though! Another alternative is one of Alpine's sound processors. Your looking at double to quadruple the price depending which one you choose but those are far more advanced and way too much processing for a simple system. Both would be a waste. Get the JL Cleansweep, I'd say it is the best option you have for the best available price, hands down (for a standard system anyways). I'd buy it, and if you know me, that means a lot coming from my mouth.

    Listen to Brian's ^^ advice too, we both know our stuff in this area.
     
  4. Oct 13, 2012 at 5:33 AM
    #4
    ProForce

    ProForce Thin Blue Line

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Member:
    #24205
    Messages:
    5,366
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Anthony
    SoCal-Ontario
    Vehicle:
    09 MGM TRD Sport DCSB 4.0 Auto 2wd
    Too many to list. See build page. Link in signature
    Double post
     
  5. Oct 13, 2012 at 5:34 AM
    #5
    ProForce

    ProForce Thin Blue Line

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Member:
    #24205
    Messages:
    5,366
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Anthony
    SoCal-Ontario
    Vehicle:
    09 MGM TRD Sport DCSB 4.0 Auto 2wd
    Too many to list. See build page. Link in signature
    Sorry phone was trippin out and posted 3 times. Triple post :smack: :(
     
  6. Oct 13, 2012 at 7:52 AM
    #6
    geoff7877

    geoff7877 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Member:
    #73482
    Messages:
    289
    Gender:
    Male
    Petaluma, CA
    Vehicle:
    2012 SR5 4X4 Double Cab
    I want to upgrade either way. I have the crap 2012 SR5 stock stereo. I guess you could consider it the single din? I read about the clean sweep and it sounds like an option, but I know nothing about them. If I can get close to the same results without ripping it all apart and buying an aftermarket dash kit that's not going to fit the same, blah blah...

    http://www.tacomaworld.com/forum/audio-video/218754-help-how-keep-factory-stereo.html post #4. Actually doesn't mention steering wheel controls.

    Here's another.
    http://www.tacomaworld.com/forum/audio-video/207467-stock-head-unit-sound-processor.html

    Would I in fact be polishing a turd by adding the clean sweep to the SR5 stereo? Thanks for any help and advice.
     
  7. Oct 13, 2012 at 10:21 AM
    #7
    B737

    B737 Throbbing Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2012
    Member:
    #83903
    Messages:
    1,474
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kevin
    Jersey Shore
    Vehicle:
    2015 Tundra Double Cab Limited
    stock

    absolutely positively +1


    a LOT of BMW guys use the clean sweep as their HUs are intergral to the cars operation... they use it all the time. if my double din ever gets stolen out of my truck, im going to stock HU with toyota OE ipod control + clean sweep. its a proven awesome way to get real sound to real speakers and components out of a OE head unit...
     
  8. Oct 13, 2012 at 12:29 PM
    #8
    Maximuslion

    Maximuslion Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    Member:
    #87543
    Messages:
    49
    Gender:
    Male
    Proforce , thanks for all the information you previously provided. Priceless to me! Still buying other things for my tacoma so the system is on hold at the moment. I feel the least i could do is buy you a lunch. Just let me know how i can get a few $ to you and i'll do that. I bank with chase, if you do i can just email/transfer you some $

    Geoff, i would definately listen to Proforce. He knows his isht! I had this almost exact conversation with him on the cleansweep already. Verified & double verified it! The other dude "Brian" is being confirmed by proforce so he's gotta be legit too. All i know about him is he has a picture of a cool red tacoma in front of some huge bomber looking plane with the fog lights on. Its dark in the picture so its kinda intimidating to me
     
  9. Oct 13, 2012 at 12:55 PM
    #9
    brian

    brian Another Traitor

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Member:
    #16011
    Messages:
    7,555
    Gender:
    Male
    Roseville, CA
    Vehicle:
    I own a tank
  10. Oct 13, 2012 at 3:29 PM
    #10
    ProForce

    ProForce Thin Blue Line

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Member:
    #24205
    Messages:
    5,366
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Anthony
    SoCal-Ontario
    Vehicle:
    09 MGM TRD Sport DCSB 4.0 Auto 2wd
    Too many to list. See build page. Link in signature
    Thanks man! Im always down for lunch :spy: just hit me up sometime and we can kick it.




    :D
     
  11. Oct 13, 2012 at 9:12 PM
    #11
    geoff7877

    geoff7877 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Member:
    #73482
    Messages:
    289
    Gender:
    Male
    Petaluma, CA
    Vehicle:
    2012 SR5 4X4 Double Cab
    Thanks for the help guys. Seriously.

    I had time today and did a little more research today. I did find that once the clean sweep is calibrated that the plug in volume knob can be taken away and the factory volume can be used.

    So it seems like everything that I've read that everybody has this unit to send a clean signal to an amp, then to the speakers. Will I get more clean volume with JUST the clean sweep running to all factory speakers? New speakers would probably follow soon.
     
  12. Oct 13, 2012 at 10:09 PM
    #12
    ProForce

    ProForce Thin Blue Line

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Member:
    #24205
    Messages:
    5,366
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Anthony
    SoCal-Ontario
    Vehicle:
    09 MGM TRD Sport DCSB 4.0 Auto 2wd
    Too many to list. See build page. Link in signature
    I'm confused... you don't get a Cleansweep unless your adding an amp, and you don't add an amp to stock speakers, you'll destroy them. What exactly is your intention with this product?
     
  13. Oct 13, 2012 at 10:36 PM
    #13
    geoff7877

    geoff7877 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Member:
    #73482
    Messages:
    289
    Gender:
    Male
    Petaluma, CA
    Vehicle:
    2012 SR5 4X4 Double Cab
    I just heard about this thing 2 days ago and my initial understanding was that it took the signal from the HU and sent a cleaner, stronger signal to the speakers, much like that of a new HU without tearing anything out. If I can get better sound without changing everything, I would like that.

    What would your suggestion be proforce? Obviously I'm out of the loop on stereo component upgrades. :D

    In other words, I'm a moron with this stuff and need much help.
     
  14. Oct 13, 2012 at 11:05 PM
    #14
    ProForce

    ProForce Thin Blue Line

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Member:
    #24205
    Messages:
    5,366
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Anthony
    SoCal-Ontario
    Vehicle:
    09 MGM TRD Sport DCSB 4.0 Auto 2wd
    Too many to list. See build page. Link in signature
    No no this is made to supply your aftermarket amplifiers with full digital audio signal that what you get from an aftermarket stereo, but from your stock head unit. It won't change your stock audio quality. Nothing will except a new radio and/or speakers.
     
  15. Oct 13, 2012 at 11:24 PM
    #15
    lawless

    lawless Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Member:
    #42551
    Messages:
    910
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Lawson
    Seattle
  16. Oct 13, 2012 at 11:45 PM
    #16
    ProForce

    ProForce Thin Blue Line

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Member:
    #24205
    Messages:
    5,366
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Anthony
    SoCal-Ontario
    Vehicle:
    09 MGM TRD Sport DCSB 4.0 Auto 2wd
    Too many to list. See build page. Link in signature
  17. Oct 14, 2012 at 11:18 AM
    #17
    lawless

    lawless Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Member:
    #42551
    Messages:
    910
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Lawson
    Seattle
    LC7i does line output cleaning (makes much better RCA outputs for amps) and has a bonus circuit to control for bass roll off of factory systems (keeps bass up as volume increases to combat OEM tendency to roll it off) and that's about it.

    i though cleensweep does something else but i haven't researched it. what are other differences between the two units?
     
  18. Oct 14, 2012 at 3:21 PM
    #18
    B737

    B737 Throbbing Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2012
    Member:
    #83903
    Messages:
    1,474
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kevin
    Jersey Shore
    Vehicle:
    2015 Tundra Double Cab Limited
    stock
    Zapco 360.4
    2 ch up front for components and run the sub off the other.
    No need for the CS if u decide.
     
  19. Oct 14, 2012 at 5:00 PM
    #19
    ProForce

    ProForce Thin Blue Line

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Member:
    #24205
    Messages:
    5,366
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Anthony
    SoCal-Ontario
    Vehicle:
    09 MGM TRD Sport DCSB 4.0 Auto 2wd
    Too many to list. See build page. Link in signature
    A sub should not be powered off a 4 channel that is not designed for it like in your example. Yes, it will work, but no, it will not sound good. Besides, what about the rear speakers? Now your left with a half amplified system, which is a waste.

    If you read the posts, you would have also seen that for starters, OP is not adding a system, he is trying to get betted sound from the stock setup with changing it. Which makes your suggestion completely irrelevant.

    To finish it off, even if the suggestion you gave was a good one, you would still have use for the CS in order to get the best signal to that amp from the stock head unit. The amplifier may accept high level inputs and advertises that it has a hi/lo converted (or line level converter) built in, but it does not have signal summing or the sound processing that is achieved with the CS or other products like the LC6i/7i.

    I think you have completely missed the point of this thread. Not to be a jerk, but it gets on my nerves when people say things that are completely unrelated to the OPs question which only confuses them more, and to top of off, its not even good advise either. Please read first before posting.
     
  20. Oct 14, 2012 at 5:04 PM
    #20
    shaneckc

    shaneckc Fyntünd Designs

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Member:
    #39362
    Messages:
    882
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Shane
    Thousand Oaks, CA
    Vehicle:
    2014 SR Package DCLB 4x4
    If you're absolutely dead-set on keeping your factory radio, then I would recommend an Audio Control piece rather than the JL CleanSweep. But as stated before, with either unit, you would need to add an amplifier and replace the speakers as well. My suggestion is that you just replace the factory head unit. That should give you an immediate improvement in sound quality and will make it easier to make further improvements to your stereo in the future, if you decide to.
     
To Top